6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, PMPS 365

Status
Not open for further replies.

sehjak (Susan & Lanky)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Morning - Lanky is enjoying a little seconds on breakfast. This AMPS is a special birthday gift to his Momma Bean. Let's hope the party last all day & into the night. Now he is banging on the door to go outside & join his brother, Bruski, in search of anything that is moving. Those boys better stay out of trouble. Chef Stu gave us a recipe for no-knead bread that needs tending to now. In a couple more hours, mmmmm, fresh hot bread awaits!

Happy Father's Day everyone, enjoy this lovely summer Sunday!
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132

Is it your birthday??????
HAPPY BIRTHDAY SUSAN!
And yes, that is a lovely present Lanky gave you.
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132

What a great birthday present from Lanky!
Happy Birthday!!
Cupcake.jpg
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132

Hey Lanky, Wow, you're baking the no-knead bread for your mamabean's birthday! That's great! And you gave her a nice, low AMPS--that's fabulous! Enjoy celebrating her big day and then come to the desert tonight to Ney's OTJ party. Maybe I'll add tortillas to the menu (low-carb ones) and you can be in charge of baking them over hot stones. See you later. The kitchen crew has to assemble early so that we can find our way (Ney is a travelin' man and we need to get his GPS coordinates).

Chef Stu

Hi Susan! Happy Birthday! Hope you do something really fun.

Ella
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132

WOW...look at those AMPS!!! That's a nice gift for your Mama, Lanky!!! :mrgreen:
Wishing you a very Happy Birthday Susan! :YMHUG:
images


Hope you have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, +2 78

Lanky is eating 18% FF grilled beef in gravy; will test @ +2.25 again.

(note: for ACRO kitties - BG <80 feed HC right away!)
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, +2.5 71

Hey Susan,
It is looking like Lanky is being a bit too nice for your birthday!

I crack open a can as soon as I see a 2 digit BG for either Shadoe or Oliver.
Shadoe is pretty sensitive and two BIG heaping tsp HC with gravies are usually good to slow her from dropping and even bring her up at bit.
Oliver is a different story and I just toss the whole can in a bowl for him. One time he went thru 3 cans of HC friskies before he moved. Crazy guy.

I don't know when is Lanky's nadir but he's low pretty early so for sure keep an eye on him for the rest of this cycle.
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, +2.5 71

OK, good, good.
I keep hearing Carolyn's words, "it can be like a freight train" in my head.
I'll be checking for up dates frequently.

Wonderful I see Gayle is here.
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, +2.5 71

The good news is Lanky gets a dose reduction -- back to 8.5u he goes.
We'll have to see what PS looks like tonight, his shed may need emptying -- in which case a lower dose possibly for tonight.
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, +2.5 71

Happy Birthday! Looks like you got a little carried away for your mama bean's bday, Lanky - don't drop anymore!!!
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, +2.5 71

BG up another 17 pts @ +2.75 to 88. We are going in the right direction.

PS Bread just came out of oven too!
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, +3 98

+3 98 almost out of the green. Suggestions for further testing & food/snacks??

PS Bread is delicious but I am thinking of having a bourbon chaser even at this hour of the morning -- seems like it should be 5PM already. What a morning!
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, +3 98

Nice. 30 minutes should be good for next test. If he's not blue I'd give some more HC. When he rides in the lower numbers his nadir seems to be lateish.

He probably thinks it is HIS birthday with the HC.

ETA: It's your birthday, bourbon chaser sounds good as long as you can hold the lancet and find his ear.
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, +3 98

Once he goes blue I'd switch to hourly testing -- he'll probably bounce from this so once that starts you can have a birthday break.
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, +3 98

OK you know what? I am likely talking out of my hat but maybe you need a no-shoot number.

When you get up into the higher doses, sometimes you need to wait a bit and make sure you are shooting a rising number. This morn is the lowest you have shot I think and he was blue all evening, so maybe 132 was too low for him?

You need to ask what Carolyn and Lorna would think about a number that's too low to shoot.

I have to watch Oliver as his nadir is something like +11, so I test often before shot time so that I can see if his ps number is lower or if he is on his way up. Often, lately I had delayed shots and even had skipped shots.

Anyways, with a high dose, and acro, it may be an idea to know when to delay or not shoot.
Let's see what the others can say to help.
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, +3 98

I think that is a good idea about a no shoot number. Before Lanky's DX his lowest shot numbers were in the DDs and he did fine -- the last DD shot was at 8u. After DX we know better now. I had thought 140-150 was a good to shoot number. I'm all for delaying shot in an acro kitty, not so much in a regular FD kitty.
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, +3 98

Those late-ish nadirs can be an issue if Lanky's low and you don't know if he's still dropping or on his way up.
You could try getting a test around +10 or something and then your ps number will let you know which direction Lanky's headed. Of if you have just the ps and want to know where he's going, test again in 15min and see if any change.

You for sure need a no shoot number when you are in a high dose, but ECID, so someone could maybe look at his ss and see what looks good to use as Lanky's no-shoot.
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, +3 98, +3.5 90

BG back down a little. Shall I give Lanky, say 1/2 3 oz can HC??

I really did LOL. I think all my kitties think & believe every day is their birthday!
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, +3 98, +3.5 90

Susan,
Acros have functioning pancreas so what happens to foods? They used to bring DOWN numbers.
I won't forget when Ollie went low and I said I gave 2tsp of HC LOL .... I was told forget the spoon, give the whole can!

That's why you don't want to go too low ... you can't bring an acro up easily with foods.

So yeah, happy birthday to YOU Lanky! More good foods!
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, +3 98, +3.5 90, +4 76

Here we go, BG back down again. Gave whole can 5.5oz of 18% between +3.5 and +4.25. Test again in 2 minutes, 15' interval.
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, +3 98, +3.5 90, +4.5 87

Gayle what is your no shoot number?
ETA: I'm looking at Oliver's SS, I see the varied doses, I am following why but am wondering about changing dose so frequently -- I am so used to the stick to the dose rule with regular FD kitties but now see that there is leniency in that with acros. Can you tell us more about that.
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, +3 98, +3.5 90, +4.5 87

D you're funny! I think our no-shoot is around 150, but that's just in general area because he seems to have no pattern at all these days.
Even our increases are whacked with trying to keep up with him after the missed shots and big decrease.

Depending on the data you have and how you feel your nadir is, and what sort of pattern you have, your number would be different.
When looking at numbers where nadir is late, you want to see a rise before shooting, but how it's calculated out by studying the ss, I sure don't know.

No matter what, it's a good idea to decide on a no-shoot number and know under what circumstances you would shoot say half shot or even skip a shot.

Now's a good time to get some people to look at the numbers and see what they suggest.

What do you guys think?
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, +3 98, +3.5 90, +4.5 87

It does get tricky with the IAA in there too -- you have to think about the tumor activity and fluctuating resistance.
This is the first time Lany has pulled a run of greens in awhile, worth considering in thinking this out. I wouldn't want to make hasty guidelines. I think looking at his overall response to the 9u could be interpreted as seeing this coming so we should pay attention to all those low end blues.
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, +3 98, +3.5 90, +4.5 87

The IAA may or may not be a consideration. IAA you want to squish so aim for green, but acro has to keep high in blue because of the working pancreas, so acro wins.

How it was put to me is that the IAA is temporary and could very well have been triggered/created due to the high dose for the acro. Oliver's was quite high as well, at 60% but we put it aside and focused on the acro.

Now, Oliver also recently had some good numbers, like Lanky, so what if it's the IAA with Lanky that is getting beaten back and leaving him with just the acro? I suppose there is no way of knowing, but it's all the more reason to keep above that 100 mark.
If you think of yourself pushing against a resistance as hard as you can and then some of that resistance disappears, you fall flat on your face!

Wouldn't that be nice if Lanky's winning the battle? I see the whole thing as a tug of war; lots of back and forth. I start watching numbers closely at the mid blue mark, but it also depends where in the cycle too.
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, +5 123

Back in the blue. :mrgreen:
I have to leave soon but am going to be checking on you guys via phone.

Yes, the acro is priority, no question about that, while considering resistance in our thinking.
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, +6 151

Lanky & Bruski are napping together on my bed. I am going to run an errand & be back in a couple of hours. Let me know quick if anybody thinks that will not work. Lanky's BG's are trending up & I'll leave some food out...
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, +6 151

when in doubt, leave foods!

numbers going up so should be OK.
errands have to get done.
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, +6 151

Happy Birthday, Susan! A dosecrease, fresh bread, and bourbon, sounds great to me. :smile:

I'm not sure about a no-shoot number (I don't have much experience with those!). Seems like his low preshots work out ok if he's surfing, but today didn't. Hmmm. Could be that he was going to go for a reduction anyway, no matter what you did today. Last night looks almost exactly like 6/18, when you shot about the same number and he surfed and eventually rose.
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, +6 151

I was looking at the 6/18 pmps as well, but when I looked at the last pm number 148 and lower at amps, I started to wonder.

On 6/18, the am shot was an increase from 8.5u to 9u and it brought a good run of blue with the pmps 142. I would think the shed would still be filling so I would go ahead with the shot, but watch to be sure that Lanky did not go any lower, being acro makes me watch low blues more closely. The +1 was up, so it looked ok.
On 6/19, was that a bounce from all the blues the previous day? I am no good a recognizing bounces, but what did catch my eye is that the pm +10 was 148 and the +12 today was down to 132.
Since it sometimes looks like nadir is late with Lanky, it reminds me of Oliver, and what I have done often is to hold and test again and wait till I see him rising. As you can see, it sure is not easy to feed an acro up in numbers. You just look at the foods Lanky inhaled and still his numbers stayed or even dropped.
ECiD and it’s good to have some idea of what number is low enough for you to consider a 15min delay.
It’s just a thought so I figured it would be something worth mentioning.
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, +6 151, +9.75 326

I'm back & we're in the pink bounce. Lanky just slept while I was gone. Now he is in the kitchen checking things out...
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, +6 151

Lanky is a smart kitty and know where the foods are kept.
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, PM dose?

Pending next BG #'s (+11 & PMPS), please clarify current thinking on dose. If I got it correctly, we are thinking a 0.5u decrease? If so, this will be our FIRST EVER dose decrease: :o :-D :mrgreen:

That = 8.5 units.

Also if anyone would like to see any particular BG's, just give me your times & I'll collect.

Thanks all - you are wonders who always seem to be there when we need you!
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, PM dose?

I'm about 50 mins from getting home 8.5 u is good. How do people type on phones? I'm not good at it. +2 test would be good.
 
Re: 6/20 Lanky AMPS 132, PM dose?

Susan:

Could I ask a favor? Could you note the acro diagnosis in your signature? It will help everyone to remember what some of the dose and HC issues are and it also lets newbies know that your dosing doesn't necessarily conform to the protocol.
 
OK - we are loaded and ready for the DECREASE, please Lord, let this work!

Lanky is less interested in his 3% food, sniffing around for that delicious 18% stuff, but is nibbling away!
 
Amen! Lanky just came over to type -- he says he is going thru some adjustments, but that I should hang in there. Love you Lanky, you are the best BD present EVER!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top