6/20 Chi Chi AMPS PMPS 294+2.5 239+5.5 91+6 103+7 126

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura&Chichi (GA)

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=120512
Good morning! Going to work, mom testing, same same same!!! I have been shaving the 2.75 dose for over a week and will just give regular 2.75 and see if theres any improvement starting this am. Heck, cant be sure that Im even giving shaved, or reg. since its difficult to measure/eyeball that anyway. Have a great day everyone!
 
Re: 6/20 Chi Chi AMPS 265

i think i'd increase by 0.25u, laura. Chi Chi hasn't seen green for 8 cycles. often it takes a full 0.25u increase to move numbers, rather than just fattening a dose. i'd save fattening/skinnying for when you are just fine-tuning, ie, most of the cycle is where you want it. Otherwise, i'd go with the full increase.

hopefully that'll move her back down and bring greens back into her spreadsheet!

something to be said for the "Same Old Same Old" kind of day! :-D Enjoy yours!
 
Re: 6/20 Chi Chi AMPS 265

Hi Laura!!! Hope you had a great birthday yesterday!!!

I agree with Julie. Adding a little fat is fine if you are super close to the good dose that gets a lot of nice green. But Chi Chi is not really there and so it is better to increase by 0.25u. Sometimes they don't need that little kickstart for long :-D
 
Re: 6/20 Chi Chi AMPS 265+3.5 316+5 291+6 251+7.5 352 PMPS 2

I am so confused as to why she is needing more and more insulin. Am I to continue up up up til she is on 4u, 5u or even more? Is she getting resistant to it? I shaved the dose the last time she went below 50 as it was a choice between shave, and then shave again each time she went below 50, or take the full .25 reduction as she hasnt handled reductions well in the past. She hasnt gone below 50 since then however, and Ive just continued the 2.75s and have seen many blues but not many greens. Could she have gone low overnight at times without me catching it? I am just wondering...what am I to do? Now I suppose she will go up to 3u and my mom will have to deal with the dive, which I believe she will dive on 3u. I am not afraid to handle low #s myself and would shoot low to stay low as well, except Im never here! My mom does a great job, but has handled dives by carbing her up, to keep her safe. She doesnt understand the protocol like I do, and would have to talk her thru it by phone, which is hit or miss most days. Sorry for the rambling, but I am very depressed right now knowing that its been 5 months of ups and downs and getting discouraged. I will however do what I need to do to keep her safe first and foremost. I will wait til Monday to go up to 3u so at least I will be home that night and off the next day in case she comes down too fast. And, I will get pmps+6 more often in case she is going lower overnight. She hasnt been low at any pmps+3 for a long time, but I will get the +6 to make sure Im not missing any drops if I have any doubts. And Thanks so much Julie and Marje!!
 
Re: 6/20 Chi Chi AMPS 265+3.5 316+5 291+6 251+7.5 352 PMPS 2

(((Laura))) this definitely has its discouraging phases!

it's so normal to have to go up and down in dose. that is just part of it. people told me not to get too attached to a dose, and that the important numbers are the blood sugar numbers, not the size of the dose. I've thought of those things many, many times!

Chi Chi is definitely not on a high dose - not even a little bit. We don't suggest people start thinking about high dose conditions until they're over 6 units per shot. Who knows why she needs a little more at the moment? The 2 things mentioned as making a cat a little more difficult to get regulated in the PDF on the TR Protocol page are pancreatitis and hyperthyroid. Not to say that Chi Chi has those, i'm just saying that there are things going on in the body that can make things a little tougher. We also know that even when you hold all the other factors the same, the absorption rate can vary by as much as 50% from one shot to another.

Sometimes trying to figure out the 'why'is just an exercise in making us crazy! I'd just focus on adjusting the dose to keep his BGs in a good range.

You're absolutely right - safety is first. So if you need to wait til your day off, go ahead! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/20 Chi Chi AMPS 265+6 251+7.5 352 PMPS 294+2.5 239

It can be very frustrating, but I definitely see progress in your spreadsheet. You are not on a high dose. Lovey was at 2.75 for awhile and my vet thought it was quite "average". Lovey has been on insulin for a year and it took me several months for Lovey to reduce the bouncing. She now bounces much less and not as high.
 
Re: 6/20 Chi Chi AMPS 265+6 251+7.5 352 PMPS 294+2.5 239

Thank you for the words of wisdom Julie! I am just exhausted from working so hard and long hours and lack of sleep, and her #s have been disappointing which just stresses me out more. :YMSIGH: My mom is very discouraged as well..shes been doing most of the testing,in hopes of getting her regulated/otj, if she gives up, then we are sunk. She called me at work today and I thought chi chi was really low, but she was high, and my mom was worried and wanted to know what she should do. She doesnt understand much about fd, but hoped by now chi chi would be coming off insulin. I try to explain everything I know, but she still cant comprehend it all..its too confusing for her. Thanks again..
and thanks also Catherine..
 
Re: 6/20 Chi Chi AMPS 265+6 251+7.5 352 PMPS 294+2.5 239

I understand completely, laura. your feelings are so normal - and i get it about your mom too. There's no way to know if Chi Chi will go OTJ or not, but we have had cats go OTJ even at almost 2 years and even if she doesn't go OTJ you're doing your best to protect her body from the consequences of high blood sugar.

You just keep plugging and hope/work for the best!

Sending you a big hug.
 
Re: 6/20 Chi Chi AMPS 265+6 251+7.5 352 PMPS 294+2.5 239

(((Laura))))

I know how emotionally frustrating this can be. We all want our babies to be regulated. But Chi Chi is doing well because she is getting insulin. And as hard as it is to focus on that when numbers are up, it's really important to focus on how she is feeling.

I also got the same good advice to not get attached to a dose. If she needs more insulin, she does. I've had Gracie down to 0.5u and then had to climb all the way back up to almost 1.5u. Amy had the same thing with Trixie....she looked perfect and then...fell out of regulation. She had to go way back up and then Trix kicked in and came down.

You and your mom are doing great.....you are a super team. Chi Chi will get there. We've had kitties on insulin for almost 24 months and then they just snapped and went off.

Good luck with the increase. Paws. Tossed this will be the right dose :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top