6/2 Taco AMPS 394 +3 307 +6 303 +10 376

Brandi & Taco

Member Since 2020
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-1-taco-amps-390.230366/

I upped Taco's dose this morning to 3u (from 2.75u). You can definitely tell by looking at the SS that his numbers are sloooowly going down but still no yellow. :(
How many days should I hold the 3u right now before upping again if he continues to stay in the 300's?

As always, thank you so much for the advice. I feel so helpless.
I just want to get him where he needs to be and feel terrible for him. I just want to see some yellow at this point!!
 
You have to hold the dose at least 3 days. Because Lantus is a depot insulin, you have to hold the same dose long enough to build the depot. You should have held the 2.75 units dose longer. Nut since you didn't, you now need to wait at least six cycles on this dose. If you don't seen any yellow by the end of three days, you can increase by 0.5 units. But since you did see some yellow on 2.5 units, I hope you'll see even more on 3 units.

Lantus definitely teaches you patience. I remember how hard it was in the beginning. Those three days seem like forever.
 
You have to hold the dose at least 3 days. Because Lantus is a depot insulin, you have to hold the same dose long enough to build the depot. You should have held the 2.75 units dose longer. Nut since you didn't, you now need to wait at least six cycles on this dose. If you don't seen any yellow by the end of three days, you can increase by 0.5 units. But since you did see some yellow on 2.5 units, I hope you'll see even more on 3 units.

Lantus definitely teaches you patience. I remember how hard it was in the beginning. Those three days seem like forever.

Thank you. I will definitely hold the 3u for three days. I guess I went up to 3u because someone had said a couple of days ago to "increase his dose tomorrow (Monday) by 0.25u or you can also wait three more cycles and increase a.m. cycle 6/2 by 0.5u if you only see the one yellow". Since there were no more yellows I went ahead and upped it again. I should have held the .25 increase I guess. Here's hoping to yellow numbers soon. I'll try to have more patience.
 
Back
Top