6/2 Samwise AMPS 248 .7U +6 33 PMPS 49

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Member Since 2010
AMPS 248 .7U

+6 33

PMPS 49 Needless to say no shot tonight! Sam is just diving off the deep end now and I don't know why. He eats quite a bit and I feed him extra high carb treats with the food he gets for the lows. Then, he throws up. I'm at my wits end. I'll keep an eye on him tonight for sure. Poor little guy. confused_cat
 
It's probably the thyroid issue.....when they're hyperthyroid, they throw up a lot and have incredible thirst which will probably throw off your insulin dosing as you have no idea how much food he'll keep down....once they're on the meds (pill or lotion) the vomiting stops and at least in my cat's case...a whole new relaxed and easy going kitty comes out of their shell...she was a jumpy, neurotic mess all her life and now she's a calm loving sweetie...what a change! One note, if you go for the pill medication....it can upset their tummy sometimes...that's why I switched to the transdermal lotion. The cheapest place I've found for the prescription (it has to be compounded at a pharmacy) is from Wedgewood pharmacy in NJ. The more you order at once, the cheaper it is, and the twisty pens the lotion is in keep for about 6 months at room temp. I order them in batches of 6 at a time to save on shipping. I go through 2 pens a month, total cost 23.00/mo once you factor in shipping. Probably more info than you wanted, but just throwing it out there as I know you're trying to figure out what to do for Sam.
:smile:
 
Thanks, that is good on the price for the meds. Sam has always thrown up, doesn't matter how much he eats but he tosses it. Just more than usual lately.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top