Re: 6/2 Lanky AMPS 394
Susan -
Regarding travel, I have a vet tech who pet sits (DPS - dear pet sitter) for me. I had a vet nurse from the practice I take Gabby to, but she moved and the new person is a friend of hers. They are both great! Gabby, however, is more the problem. In general, Gabby won't let the DPS test. In fact, I'm lucky if the DPS can shoot. When the vet nurse was sitting, Gabby would routinely have her in tears. She would try to get near enough to her and Gabby would take off. The first time she sat, Gabby was so upset with having her stop by, Gabby pooped in a corner. She even brought one of the vets with her (the vet was my favorite in the practice and lived about 2 blocks away). The new DPS is having better luck. Of course, it was a matter of her finding Gabby in one of her hiding spots and bringing food to her and shooting where she was hiding (which involved a pregnant DPS climbing up on a trash can to reach Gabby who was hiding behind my sweaters on an upper closet shelf).
I tend to think that Gabby would be completely stressed by being boarded. She does not travel well (i.e., she will puke in her carrier every time I get her into the car). She's pretty traumatized by going to the vet so boarding seems the least best option.
If you need info re. dosing and "no shot" numbers for a DPS or the boarding facility, post the day before you leave and we'll help come up with numbers.