6/19 Max PMPS214+1=207+2=159+4=58+4.75=55+5.5=53+6=75+7.7=92

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S CONDO:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=120475

YESTERDAY'S RECAP:

AMPS 184
3.5=117
4.5=75
5.75=60
6.5=58
7.75=68
8.5=96
PMPS 101
1=128
2=107
3.75=61 OR 47
4.25=56
4.75=62
5.5=66
6.25=62
7.5=73
10=155
MAX MIGHT HAVE GONE DOWN TO 47 but I'm not sure. I tested twice and the other test was 60. I thought maybe there wasn't enough blood on the strip which is why I tested twice. So now I was left this morning with having to decide what dose to give. Last time this happened I was told that I could shave, drop the .25 or go for three times under 50. He woke me for food at +10 and I tested him and he was 155. I gave him a little fd chicken and went back to sleep.I woke up early but of course I dosed off again for a few minutes and it was already 15 minutes late after I tested and gave him his baby food. As I was typing this I realized I forgot to give him his BP med. Just gave it. Anyhow of course he bounced from being so long in good numbers. I didn't get any response to last night's post so I decided right or wrong to shoot the same dose. Did I make the right decision?
 
Re: 6/19 Max AMPS 285

Elise

You are doing great with him! I wasn't on last night....didn't get home from work until 7:30 and was in bed by 9:30. I'm glad you followed your instincts. I would have held the dose. Good job!!!

Max looks to me like he might be turning a corner? I hope! He was in great numbers all day yesterday!!!

Julie and I (and maybe Wendy....don't remember) discussed the options Julie suggested. I think that for now, R is off the table. He's clearing his bounces way too fast to use R. Right now. When I first started using R for Gracie, I bought it and then it was as if just it's presence in the frig made her start clearing the bounces faster and I couldn't use it for a few weeks :lol: cats! So I'd hold off buying it and let's see if he continues to clear bounces fast. If you do decide to buy it later, Julie is correct....you want to buy Novolin R at Walmart. Much cheaper, same stuff.

On shooting early, it can help but you have to have flexibility. Look at Alexs SS. It was grueling, as I understand.

Of course, you wouldn't have to shoot as much around the clock. Kat also shot early on occasion because Gobbles was bouncy. I'm not sure shooting early is what caused him to become regulated and go into remission because she stopped doing it but I do think it helped while she was doing it. So, again, it is a good option to try if you have the flexibility in moving around your shot times.

Julie did a great job of thinking of those ideas and writing that post!
 
Re: 6/19 Max AMPS 285

Hi Marje. I kept looking for a condo for Gracie yesterday and for updates on her ss but didn't see any. I'm glad everything is okay. Good that she decided to bounce yesterday I guess since you must be exhausted. I was worried that something might be going on with your mom. I hope she is doing better. Mine is acting horrible and we are hoping it is another UTI and not further deterioration from the anesthesia. She gets really angry and irrational with a UTI.

I thought you would agree with me to not drop his dose. I think if I weren't so sure I would have set an alarm and posted early this morning. I felt it was time to take a different approach on this and I was able to get him up pretty quickly if he was really at 47. I felt other dosing advisors besides you, Julie, and Wendy who don't know Max as well might say decrease but you three would agree with me. I'm glad I'm right. I feel so lucky to have found you. Not many people I think would take the time and effort to think so much about Max as you three and I want you all to know how much Max and I appreciate you!!! Thank you.

So let's see how high he bounces and when he clears.
 
Re: 6/19 Max AMPS 285

Great run of numbers last night for Max. I think you made the right call holding the dose. It did look like he was pretty easy to get up. I'm not sure if anyone has mentioned the option of holding for 3 times under 50 or once under 40 before taking a .25U reduction. It seems to help some of the kitties who like to bounce a lot. Jen posted Lisa/Leo's spreadsheet a couple of days ago and switching to the multiple times under 50 seemed to finally help him.

Sorry to hear you mom is going through a bad spell. :YMHUG: It seems weird to hope it's "just" a UTI, but I hope that's it.
 
Re: 6/19 Max AMPS 285+1=320

Hi Wendy. Yes the 3 times under 50 was brought up in the past and I almost did it the last time but the LO reading, right or wrong, got in the way. That time I took a 1/8 reduction because I was pretty certain it was user or meter error. That was when I ordered my back up meter. That is exactly why I felt okay holding this morning. We got the food bump at +1 so let's see how this plays out. I think he is still likely getting less insulin now than when I was using the monojeçts which is a good thing!!


My mom gets mean and angry with a UTI. She is usually a very sweet person. Once the infection goes away she is back to her new old self. She is always very frustrated that she can't have independence but if we gave it to her she would likely break a hip or worse. If there isn't an infection it means she is mentally getting worse, probably from the anesthesia. So yes, it's weird to wish for a UTI but it is way better than the alternative, sigh.

Thank you for the 3 times under 50 reminder. I feel better about my decision knowing that you and Marje agree with it. :smile: Have a great day!!
 
Re: 6/19 Max AMPS 285+1=320+2.25=253+3.25=223

Hope your Mother is back to her old self soon and that Max will continue those beautiful numbers from yesterday. We are so blessed to have all the wonderful people here :)
 
Re: 6/19 Max AMPS 285+1=320+2.25=253+3.25=223+6=177

Hi Elise!
Max is sliding down nicely and gently. :-D
Good boy, Max! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 6/19 Max AMPS 285+1=320+2.25=253+3.25=223+6=177

glad that max is sliding down nicely. I hope your mom is ok
 
Re: 6/19 Max AMPS 285+1=320+2.25=253+3.25=223+6=177

So my mom has another UTI and we are waiting for the culture to know which antibiotic to use. They just keep coming back. It explains her personality changes. Fingers and paws are crossed that there are other than IV antibiotics to use and that we don't need another hospital stay.

Thanks for the visits Deb, Mariko, and Julie.

I just posted on the main forum a copy of Peterson's Blog he wrote after attending a conference. The first study was about how the U100 syringes are not accurate making dosing the correct dose difficult. Those of us here already know that. If you get a chance, check it out. His blog is free to those that care to subscribe.

I'm wondering what Max will choose to do tonight. I left him alone this afternoon. He had so many pricks last night. He is such a good boy and I feel so bad that I had to stick him so much. Some of the times I hit sensitive spots. I hope he doesn't dive tonight. Surf calmly Max.

I'm hoping Sasha is recovering nicely and will be home soon and adjust easily.
 
Re: 6/19 Max AMPS 285 PMPS 214

AMPS 285
+1=320
+2.25=353
+3.25=233
+6=177

The recap is so that I have room for tonight's cycle in case it is an active one. It's lower than this morning so maybe this was just a mini bounce.
 
Re: 6/19 Max AMPS 285 PMPS 214

i suspect that funny test yesterday was probably the 61, not the 47. You never know at the time, but in context of the numbers before and after that test, i think 61 is most likely. I wouldn't have reduced the dose either.

so you're batting 100%! I think you've got good instincts, you just don't have as much confidence in yourself yet. You'll get there.

I suspect Max saw the threat and BAM he got in line! I'm observing that yesterday he was under 200 for the entire day. Maybe the bouncing issue is resolving. Today's bounce isn't a surprise after so long in good numbers yesterday. I agree about the R - it's not an option when he's doing so well. Isn't that a nice "problem?!"

my mom had the same thing happen. She'd had a stroke and the day we moved her to a nursing home to recover, she was fine in the car, but by the evening she started doing weird things, like putting her clothes on her head. As the week went on it got worse and she also stopped talking. I finally asked the nurse what was going on and they said they thought she had dementia. I said NO, she didn't have any dementia. They tested her and she had a UTI. They said in older people (she was 80) bladder linings are tougher, so an infection doesn't hurt the way it hurts when you are younger. Instead, it shows up as mental symptoms.

I'm glad you figured it out for your mom. Kinda scary. :YMHUG:

thanks for all the kind words, elise. you're a champ!
 
Re: 6/19 Max AMPS 285 PMPS 214

Hi Elise, what great numbers for Max - you've been busy! Sorry to hear about your mom but I hope the antibiotic helps right away. UTI's can definitely cause near psychotic symptoms for many people. My MIL has advanced dementia but when she gets a UTI she gets violent, so I hope your mom feels better soon.
 
Re: 6/19 Max AMPS 285 PMPS 214+1=207

Thanks everyone for the support. I definitely don't feel confident to make dosing decisions but this time I had enough information from previous times to try. I also figured I could always bring him down tonight if it was the wrong call. Max slept the day away again except for the times I interrupted him to test. He's quite vocal right now. I hope I don't have to test him quite as many times. It's ear looks a little sore even with the neorsporin. I'm hoping for a slow slide and not too low.

The culture isn't back yet and with the weekend starting I hope they give my mom an antibiotic. The worst that happens is we need to switch if it's the wrong one. I wondered why she didn't feel pain. Now I know. Thanks, Julie.
 
Re: 6/19 Max AMPS 285 PMPS 214+1=207+2=159+4=58+4.75=55

So I fed Max trader joe's mc at 64 and half an hour later he was still at the same. i gave him a little gravy at this point because we have a long time to go and it's around this point he has dropped under 50 before. I'll test in a half hour.
 
Re: 6/19 Max AMPS 285 PMPS 214+1=207+2=159+4=58+4.75=55

I hate 50's surfs in the middle of the night. :roll: Come on Max, how about the 70's? Much cooler spot to hang out.
 
Re: 6/19 Max AMPS 285 PMPS 214+1=207+2=159+4=58+4.75=55

Me too. The little brat didn't eat the food I put put. I topped it off with FD and he's eating it now. That's why I hate the 50's because there's so little room for a drop.
 
Re: 6/19 Max AMPS 285 PMPS 214+1=207+2=159+4=58+4.75=55

After feeding Peyton gravy 4 x's he's finally up to a safe level. Think I'm going to try to get in a short nap and retest. Good job going down Maz. Now time to let momma get some zzz's :)
 
Re: 6/19 Max PMPS 214+1=207+2=159+4=58+4.75 =55+5.5=53+6=75

Max is finally at a good point as well. No food this time and I'll test in an hour to make sure he surfs.
 
Re: 6/19 Max PMPS 214+1=207+2=159+4=58+4.75 =55+5.5=53+6=75

Max is looking good. I know I like a bit higher too. When they teter on the edge earlier in the cycle, it is tough.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top