6/19 Latte AMPS-334, PMPS-422

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Member Since 2009
Last Night:
PMPS- 318
+2- 322
+4- 213
+5- 206
+6- 188
yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17546

Latte was VERY eager for me to get up this morning, so she could practically run (and yes, she tried) TO THE BATHROOM! :? I wish she could talk to me and tell me WHY! What is it about the bathroom that is so appealing to spend 18hrs a day in there???? confused_cat

Whatever makes her happy, I guess. :roll:

I am pleased to say we had a pretty uneventful evening, and a.m. - so far. I opened a new bag of treats (Pet Naturals Hip+Joint), to sprinkle on her food. That got her very excited flip_cat . I cant imagine they do anything for her arthritis, but they certainly get her a little more excited to eat!

I liked her ps this a.m. It does make me a little nervous that we are setting up for a drop 'too low', which will cause a week long bounce. Who knows, maybe she is on her way UP and bouncing from something last night. Time will tell. I find it interesting that since we have started the levemir, her PM cycles have showed regular drops. On the lantus, PM cycles were always a wash between a bounce and the pred. Here i was getting so used to not having to worry about the evenings, or getting her to eat right away nailbite_smile .

Think I may go spend the a.m. on the front porch waiting for the UPS guy, with Latte's package. Despite all the notes everywhere, directing them to go to the back, I worry. The package will require a signature or go back...
 
Re: 6/19 Latte AMPS-334

:-D Morning. Good luck getting your package right away this morning. I don't want you to wait and wait for hours and hours, and then it comes at 4:00pm or something.
Maybe the bathroom fascination is like the way Ginger LOVES to be caged. She loves to sit in cages and carrers and boxes.
Have a great day, you and Latte :-D Latte give your mom nice easy slow drops today, k?
 
Re: 6/19 Latte AMPS-334

HI Carolyn, We're happy to hear that Latte and you had a good night. I hope the UPS package comes soon so you don't have to spend all day on the porch! We'll check in on you later. Have a really good Caturday!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 6/19 Latte AMPS-334

I hope you can catch the guy with the package.... :YMSIGH: is it UPS or USPS? what time does you mail usually come? Maybe it is coming with your mailman... I hope it comes soon. I like latte's numbers...really pretty. That is great that you found something to sprinkle on her food ~ anything to entice her is wonderful! Keep us posted re: the meds...hope you have a great day! :YMHUG:
(when Shadow's numbers were really high, he used to lay behind the toilet bowl...hasn't done that in months...the tile was cool and he was out of the way back there but it was weird. Maybe she likes the privacy...like, it's her OWN room! :lol: )
 
Re: 6/19 Latte AMPS-334

I hope your package arrives safely today. I was happy to read that the people who messed up acted quickly to fix the error. I keep thinking of Latte lately, because Bear isn't feeling well and his numbers are high. He either hides behind my rickety corner table (reminds me of Latte under the piano) or lies on the bathroom floor next to his water dish. I guess he likes the coolness of the bathroom floor, plus it's just too much trouble to walk to his bed.
 
Re: 6/19 Latte AMPS-334

I suspect that bathroom = BIG cave (and it has amenities -- cool floor, carpet, places to hide, you come to visit, etc.). FWIW, I heard Gizmo playing in the bathtub this morning. (Silly kitten!)

Not a bad start for the day.

I think big signs for the delivery guy just in case you have to step away for a moment - 'cause you know that's when the package will show up.
 
Re: 6/19 Latte AMPS-334

Hi Carolyn. Thanks for the nice report on Latte this morning. It sounds like she's feeling pretty good. I hope your package gets there early so you can quit worrying about it. And I hope Latte has a wonderful day of surfing.

Thanks for stoppin in our condo last night. You & I were on the same wave length with Blackie's high numbers. I had a U/A done on Monday and it was negative. In hindsight, I think we just went down in dose too quickly.

Have a great day!
 
Re: 6/19 Latte AMPS-334, +2-354, +4-192

Good morning Carolyn. Wishing you and sweet Latte a wonderful day together. :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 6/19 Latte AMPS-334, +2-354, +4-192

Certainly she could have dropped a little slower. :YMSIGH:
Guess she could have dropped a little faster, too.
Had her +2 not have gone up, I would be 'okay' with the drop...considering how she is. But that extra 20 pts kinda puts it over the edge and likely into big bounce territory pretty soon.

She did just finish off her can of food! Thats impressive!!! I opened a new one and she has had a little bit of it. Probly full, so I wont push it in case I need her to eat later ( :lol: ya, right! :lol:)

If anyone has time to look at her ss today...is it my imagination or is she starting to clear bounces quicker....like she used to?
(trying to look for positives!)

Thanks!
 
Re: 6/19 Latte AMPS-334, +2-354, +4-192

Well that's a nice morning report from you girls! I think Latte's excited to get the package, too!

Now Latte....you do a lovely slow drop for your Momma and show her your surfing skills! You've been working on them more lately, and it's time to show your stuff, sister girl!

Have a lovely day! Hope you don't spend too much time on the porch waiting!
 
Re: 6/19 Latte AMPS-334, +2-354, +4-192

Well.... bouncing to pink is certainly much nicer than bouncing to black. And nice that she is eating.
Maybe Latte is remembering that flat is kinda cool :cool:
 
Re: 6/19 Latte AMPS-334, +2-354, +4-192, +6~197

I think you are right. The bounces are clearing quicker. Earlier this month and last month it seemed that the bounces could last between 5 and 11 cycles.... yikes. Although it is dicey to predict, it looks like she's clearing the bounce in two cycles or even less. That's a huge difference.
Glad she is eating some, that's always encouraging.

And it's interesting about the bathroom. Maybe it's the cool tiles as others have said.
Maybe she likes the fragrance of the cleaners you use. I know that sounded stupid, but my kitties go crazy for the 'hint' of a bleach smell. Not too much, just the hint. When I've been working with pool chemicals or bleaching clothes... and it is on my hands, my cats are all over me sniffing and rubbing my hands. Silly cats. But I've heard other kitties have this same attraction for the bleach smell.

I wonder if there is a clinic for Clorox addictions? ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 6/19 Latte AMPS-334, +2-354, +4-192, +6~197

she's looking and sounding a lot better, carolyn.
super cool about easier bounce clearing!
 
Re: 6/19 Latte AMPS-334, +2-354, +4-192, +6~197

What a great report for Latte today! Nice colors on the SS too - you must be happy... So, does this mean that injectible pred arrived?
 
recap:
AMPS- 334
+2- 353
+4- 192
+5- 184
+5- 197
+8- 248
+10- 364
PMPS-422 :-Q

It was a very quiet day until the angry numbers appeared. :evil:

Latte spent the a.m. in/out of the bathroom...she came out to eat and had a total of 1 1/4 cans wellness. She did go outside once, in the early a.m,. for a few chomps of grass and whiffs of fresh air. She spent the rest of the day in the bathroom, only to come out once to pee, poop, and wake me from my nap. She then bee-lined it straight back to lean against the tub. :roll:

The injectible prednisolone DID come today! Funny how despite 4 notes on various doors stating to go to BACK door and ring bell (even put a little note by bell), the gave it to a neighbor! ohmygod_smile

So we have some changes!

1. Injectible Pred...no more treat form or pills. :RAHCAT Whew! It is unknown how this may absorb differently than any of the oral forms. I suspect it could be greater. In this case it may affect her bg's a lot. But, it could also mean she needs LESS. We will just have to wait and see. Being in the midst of a bounce, like tonight, may not be the best time to make an assessment. It will have to be done over time.

2. I reduced her pred from 10mg to 7.5. Few reasons...it was only suppose to be a temporary increase, as last time. Her vet even prescribed this injectible stuff for 5mg. I think he thought I already reduced it :? . *Anti Jinx* She has NOT been vomiting this week (that I remember), and she is eating pretty good. The hopes is to get it back down to 5mg. I chose the evening cycle for the reduction. I may start giving the entire dose in the a.m. and nothing at night. nailbite_smile It also seems each time I have increased to 10mg she gets a UTI. She did really well avoiding them on the 5mg. So maybe a lower dose would assist in keeping at least one of the infections at bay. her vomiting could also have been related to UTI rather than GI disease, so maybe she didnt need to stay at such a high dose. Im sure her vet will be thrilled with the reduction.

Im antsy for a bike ride...so I think Im going to get some baby food in her and head out for a short ride.
 
Hey Carolyn -

When I was giving Big Cat pred to encourage him to eat, etc... at first we started out with injections at the vet. My vet said they would last 48 - 72 hours, so I was bringing him in every other day or so for injections. I don't know if what your injecting is the same thing, but I wonder if it might be longer lasting in this form...
 
HI Carolyn & Latte, A good day for Latte--that's great. And the package came--that's wonderful. And you're going to go for a ride on your bike--that's terrific! Now, a really good night would be stupendous!

Hugs,
Ella & Stu
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top