6/18 Tigger amps221 , +4.5/91

Pattylynne and Tigger

Member Since 2021
Seems to be going ok today. Just checked BG at 4.5 and is 91, he's fine and just ate a LC snack and now trying to help post by pushing buttons and laying on my arms. He's always been a free feeder on dry but really likes the wet, am having to feed off and on through the day, is that okay. Trying to limit intake for 2 hrs prior to readings for pre shot.
Thanks again for all the advise on FD and gentle hints on proper use of the threads etc
Started on Lantus 6/16 pm, held am dose 6/17116-102) and gave 0.5 U 6/17 pm and 6/18 am
 
Posting here since I don't see a more recent post. Tigger is reacting really well to the Lantus. You might want to get some tests in before bed, many cats go lower at night. And that 72 yesterday earned him a 0.25 unit dose reduction since you are following SLGS. Good luck with the new dose.
 
I think I understand the protocol to reduce with a 72, that was 2 days ago, yesterday was in the blue for all mid cycle doses, again 4+ today was 129. How do I get the am/pmps numbers down. Really don't want to reduce the dose with the high ps numbers. My inclination with 40 years of nursing would be to increase a bump closer to 0.75 U. ( This, my nursing might be the problem) You guys know a lot more about FD.
Am I correct FDMB doesn't really believe a protocol of somewhere btw SLGS and TR. Will the ps #'s start leveling off if I stick with the SLGS? Guess I was hoping with Lantus to get a range somewhat closer to "normal" 50-100 range, not so much swing in BG. Thanks for any feedback.
I am feeding only LC wet but almost a free feed, he always had dry available 24/7 before. I leave a teaspoon or so of wet out around 11pm and shoot at 7am/7pm
 
You are right, we don’t mix and match protocols. Tight Regulation has been published and peer reviewed. SLGS was developed from experience here. Each has their particular safety mechanisms built it, so we don’t change that.

Lantus teaches patience. :) Preshots will come down over time. We dose based on nadirs. You are more likely to see the 50-100 range with TR, which you can do if feeding all low carb wet or raw food. No problem if free feed, some people have grazers.
 
Back
Top