6/18 Simon | AMPS 200 +2 185 PMPS 136 +2 339

Daniel and Simon

Member Since 2026
Previous

I gave Simon a reduced dose again. We have a routine glucose and fructosamine vet tech appointment at +4. But with his recent low numbers, skipped shots, and reduced doses I have no idea what to expect. I'm traveling a few hours away this weekend and taking Simon with me, he's usually pretty good with travel but this will be our first experience with the diabetes routine out of the house
 
Simon's vet appointment was a disaster. They had trouble finding the vein in his leg, and he freaked out and went full lion mode. I've never seen Simon get so angry before. One of the techs got scared and had to swap out with another tech. I think he's sick of the ear tests and the syringes and the vet visits
Poor Simon! Honestly if I were him I’d be upset too if they kept poking me :(

I’m really sorry you guys had a bad day at the vet. It’s hard on Simon but I know it’s really hard on you as the caregiver to watch him so upset. Hopefully next time they can get you someone more experienced who might be able to get the vein right on one go.

We’ve also had to start giving gaba to some of our kitties before vet visits to avoid any especially spicy incidents. I wish we could tell them what the vet visit is for and why it’s important. It’s hard when they don’t understand and you have to put them in situations they don’t like for their health long term :(.

I hope you guys have a relaxing rest of the day today! Hopefully you can do treats and snuggles and try to put this one bad visit behind you 🩷

Sending you guys lots of love 🍃🍃🍃
 
Poor Simon! Honestly if I were him I’d be upset too if they kept poking me :(

I’m really sorry you guys had a bad day at the vet. It’s hard on Simon but I know it’s really hard on you as the caregiver to watch him so upset. Hopefully next time they can get you someone more experienced who might be able to get the vein right on one go.

We’ve also had to start giving gaba to some of our kitties before vet visits to avoid any especially spicy incidents. I wish we could tell them what the vet visit is for and why it’s important. It’s hard when they don’t understand and you have to put them in situations they don’t like for their health long term :(.

I hope you guys have a relaxing rest of the day today! Hopefully you can do treats and snuggles and try to put this one bad visit behind you 🩷

Sending you guys lots of love 🍃🍃🍃

Definitely some gabapentin for the next visit!
 
One of our members who regularly travelled with her kitty put together a document you might find useful Traveling with Diabetic Kitties

Neko wasn't fond of her general practice vet when it came time to do blood work. I got shoed out of the room when they were going to do it. I saw towels and muzzles go in. With her acupuncture vet, clients were encouraged to come into the back area with their pets. Neko was an angel at that vet for blood work.

Side note, since you home test, no need to go to the vet for a glucose test or fructosamine. Save the money for test strips and do it yourself.
 
One of our members who regularly travelled with her kitty put together a document you might find useful Traveling with Diabetic Kitties

Neko wasn't fond of her general practice vet when it came time to do blood work. I got shoed out of the room when they were going to do it. I saw towels and muzzles go in. With her acupuncture vet, clients were encouraged to come into the back area with their pets. Neko was an angel at that vet for blood work.

Side note, since you home test, no need to go to the vet for a glucose test or fructosamine. Save the money for test strips and do it yourself.
Thank you for this travel kit link! Lots of great ideas in there, it's helped me pack up some things I didn't think of for the trip!

Yeah I've already declined weekly glucose testing at the vet, but I think you're right that the monthly fructosamine test money might be better spent for test strips. If the vet visits are going to stress Simon out I don't think it's worth it taking him in as often.

That story with Neko sounds like our other cat, Bub. He also always had to have the towel and muzzle treatment. Now that was a cat who was not fun to give insulin to. Maybe Simon was just possessed by the spirit of Bub today

IACR2269.JPG
 
Back
Top