6/18/22 / KAZ - Vacation Schedule Coverage

Status
Not open for further replies.

Claire and Kaz

Member Since 2022
@ytz
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Suzanne & Darcy
@tiffmaxee

Just starting a new post to track Kaz over the next couple weeks during my trip to the UK. Yutong please post to say that you have managed to find your way over to the new chain. Thanks.

So far things are going really well and from the photos I have been receiving it would appear that Kaz has taken to Yutong as I see him cuddled up to her on the lap. Could not be happier.
 
Hi Claire. I'm glad things are going so well. Kaz is such a sweetheart! I'm glad you are now updating your spreadsheet -- just in case Yutong needs help, we will be able to advise.
 
I tried taking some but they are too far to take clear photos. Going to try again tomorrow we have a green house right next to where my Mum feeds them so going to try and sit quietly and wait for them to come.
Wish I’d had my camera earlier as when I was going out to place the food the first badger was on his way up and we basically bumped into each other. He scarpered pretty fast for such short legs.
The foxes come all day but we have to be careful as our German Shepherd tries to catch them.
If I get any clear photos I’ll send them.
 
Really good to hear from you Claire and to hear Kaz is settling in with Yutong. Such good news. And really appreciate seeing the BG numbers being updated in the SS.
Have fun!
 
@Claire and Kaz
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Suzanne & Darcy
@tiffmaxee
So Kaz's number is 51 this morning (Scanned at 6:31 am). He is still responsive and was hungry when I arrived. I gave him high carb food (21%) and will not be giving his insulin for the morning
That was really good you saw that and you did the right thing giving some higher carb food. well done!
Did you leave some food out for him to eat during the cycle?

You will need to reduce the dose moving forward to 1.75 units
Did Claire show you how to do the reduced dose of 1.75 units?
 
That was really good you saw that and you did the right thing giving some higher carb food. well done!
Did you leave some food out for him to eat during the cycle?

You will need to reduce the dose moving forward to 1.75 units
Did Claire show you how to do the reduced dose of 1.75 units?

I also left high carb food in his feeders. Claire's printout says his numbers should be back to normal for the full dose, but of course I will double check with her in the evening
 
I also left high carb food in his feeders. Claire's printout says his numbers should be back to normal for the full dose, but of course I will double check with her in the evening
Because his number dropped that low he will need to have the dose reduced.
Please don’t give 2 units to him again. It is now too much insulin and the dose needs to be reduced.
Talk to Claire but she will tell you the same thing.
 
The 1.75 unit dose is half way between the 2 unit mark and the 1.5 unit mark.

NEW DOSE IS 1.75 units

Don’t go back to the 2 units at all please, even if the BGs are high.



upload_2022-6-19_21-0-38.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-6-19_21-0-38.jpeg
    upload_2022-6-19_21-0-38.jpeg
    32.1 KB · Views: 569
Thank you for the information. So should I be giving him 1.75 unit from now on instead of just this evening?
Yes. Moving forward he needs the reduced dose. He probably dropped lower than the 51 during the night and we don’t want him to be that low. That is how we work out the dosing for cats. We look at how low the dose takes them. If they drop low then we reduce the dose to keep them safe.

Did Claire show you how to draw up 1.75 units?

you are doing a fantastic job looking after him!!
 
Yes. Moving forward he needs the reduced dose. He probably dropped lower than the 51 during the night and we don’t want him to be that low. That is how we work out the dosing for cats. We look at how low the dose takes them. If they drop low then we reduce the dose to keep them safe.

Did Claire show you how to draw up 1.75 units?

you are doing a fantastic job looking after him!!
Yes I know how to draw 1.75 units, and I will be giving him that from now on. His number was 120 when I left, so hopefully everything will be fine in the evening.
 
Yes I know how to draw 1.75 units, and I will be giving him that from now on. His number was 120 when I left, so hopefully everything will be fine in the evening.
Thanks so much for getting back to me.
Don’t be surprised if his numbers go up really high after the 51. That is normal for that to happen after such a low number which he isn’t used to. He could possibly stay in high numbers for up to 3 days, or he might not.
So if his preshot number is where Claire said 100 and 150 and to give 1/2 a dose….it will now be 1/2 of 1.75 units.
 
Just everyone knows I called and spoke to Yutong after the numbers dropped and I did confirm the reduction to 1.75.

I left 2 syringes prefilled with food dye one is set at 1.75.

Yes Yutong is doing a fantastic job and Kaz is settling in as I see him snuggling up on her lap from pictures.

Laurie has also been visiting daily so they have not been on there own for more than the night time.
 
Great update Claire. I’m so glad everything is going well so far.
Did Laurie go to the vet with you to see how the sensor was put on?
Sadly no. She had a meeting with a client at the same time and was unable to reschedule it. Hoping the button lasts another week.
To be quite honest its not putting the button on that's the issue its actually getting it out of the top insert once inserted. It took the vet good 5 minutes of carefully prizing it out with a thumb depressor.

If she's willing to give it a try I can do it with her on face time but I do need to get some kind of adhesive as I am a bit against superglue now I have seen the process.
Need to check in with Laurie I can order wig glue from Amazon if she's willing to give it a go.

They are also really hard to get off.

Have to go my Mother needs me to drive her to the store.
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Suzanne & Darcy
@tiffmaxee
@Claire and Kaz
So Kaz's button stopped working and I do not know what his number is. He was doing fine this morning, the button was working & numbers are normal & got his 1.75 shot, but he did not finish his +9 meal today. He did eat all his dinner. Should I still be doing his shot?
That is a shame the sensor has stopped working.
Let Claire know and she may be able to organise another one to be put on.
Yes please continue to give the doses of insulin as you have been each time unless he seems to be staggering or wobbly or not with it, in which case you would give honey and not give the dose but post here.
You are doing a great job!
 
That is a shame the sensor has stopped working.
Let Claire know and she may be able to organise another one to be put on.
Yes please continue to give the doses of insulin as you have been each time unless he seems to be staggering or wobbly or not with it, in which case you would give honey and not give the dose but post here.
You are doing a great job!

Thanks for the quick reply! I just gave Kaz his shot since he was acting normal. Laurie is coming over tomorrow and try to get a new one set up. Hopefully that one will last longer
 
That is a shame the sensor has stopped working.
Let Claire know and she may be able to organise another one to be put on.
Yes please continue to give the doses of insulin as you have been each time unless he seems to be staggering or wobbly or not with it, in which case you would give honey and not give the dose but post here.
You are doing a great job!
Also should I give him his shot tomorrow morning? I am more worried in the morning since thats usually when Kaz has lower numbers
 
I texted you but maybe you did not get the text. If you are worried give him higher carb food for the next three meals and he will be fine in the morning.
Laurie is going to FaceTime me at noon tomorrow and I am going to walk her through putting on a new button. I can not guarantee that this will last the rest of my trip though.
 
I texted you but maybe you did not get the text. If you are worried give him higher carb food for the next three meals and he will be fine in the morning.
Laurie is going to FaceTime me at noon tomorrow and I am going to walk her through putting on a new button. I can not guarantee that this will last the rest of my trip though.
I think he will be fine. I think it's possible that the new sensor will work for another two weeks -- you have less than two weeks to go before you are home. About 10 days? He's been in high numbers on this dose, so I really think it's going to be okay. good luck to Laurie putting on the Libre.
 
Just so everyone knows Laurie did put a new button on yesterday but it did not take. She is going to try again tomorrow evening.
I have been getting updates daily so I know that Kaz is doing fine and I have said to feed higher carb food if at all worried.
Hopefully the next button will take. This will actually be the third one. First one got broken but I had a refill so Laurie kindly went to the pharmacist and picked up two new buttons.
If the next one fails that's it I have no more refills.
Let everyone know.
 
We have had a problem tonight. Kaz has not eaten one of the meals left for him and then threw up all his food this evening. I have instructed Yutong not to give any insulin tonight and feed him as usual. I think that the heat is an issue. One of my ACs broke right before I left so I bet half my house is hot. The AC is on in the bedroom which is where he sleeps. Hopefully he eats everything over night and she can give the insulin as usual tomorrow morning.
If he eats the first two meals (these are the higher carb ones) but not the last one which is what appears to have happened this evening. Then he eats his breakfast without throwing up I will have her inject as normal. His BG should be high due to the missed dose. My fear is he then throws up breakfast after she leaves as she can’t hang around in the morning.
I still think he should be fine but maybe I should have her adjust the +3 to high carb and the +6 to 10% and +9 to 6-7% just for tomorrow.
Hoping button is then on by evening if not it’s going to get tricky.
I’m out tomorrow morning but will try to update when I get home. I’ll have my phone with me so should be able to help her if there is an issue but please keep a look out tomorrow just in case.
Need to go to bed it’s late here and have to be up early with dog.
Thanks Claire
 
We have had a problem tonight. Kaz has not eaten one of the meals left for him and then threw up all his food this evening. I have instructed Yutong not to give any insulin tonight and feed him as usual. I think that the heat is an issue. One of my ACs broke right before I left so I bet half my house is hot. The AC is on in the bedroom which is where he sleeps. Hopefully he eats everything over night and she can give the insulin as usual tomorrow morning.
If he eats the first two meals (these are the higher carb ones) but not the last one which is what appears to have happened this evening. Then he eats his breakfast without throwing up I will have her inject as normal. His BG should be high due to the missed dose. My fear is he then throws up breakfast after she leaves as she can’t hang around in the morning.
I still think he should be fine but maybe I should have her adjust the +3 to high carb and the +6 to 10% and +9 to 6-7% just for tomorrow.
Hoping button is then on by evening if not it’s going to get tricky.
I’m out tomorrow morning but will try to update when I get home. I’ll have my phone with me so should be able to help her if there is an issue but please keep a look out tomorrow just in case.
Need to go to bed it’s late here and have to be up early with dog.
Thanks Claire
I'm sorry about this, Claire! The heat could be influencing his appetite for sure. I do hope Laurie can get that Libre installed and working tomorrow! You could adjust the carbs as you have suggested. He will be high, but it can't be helped. I think you made the right decision for tonight, under the circumstances. I guess ketone testing is out of the question. Someone would have to be right there when he used the litter box. Probably not happening!
 
I'm sorry about this, Claire! The heat could be influencing his appetite for sure. I do hope Laurie can get that Libre installed and working tomorrow! You could adjust the carbs as you have suggested. He will be high, but it can't be helped. I think you made the right decision for tonight, under the circumstances. I guess ketone testing is out of the question. Someone would have to be right there when he used the litter box. Probably not happening!
Sadly no ketone tests either. I do these through blood tests as Kaz is a real pain with the urine test. He will not use the litter box if your in the same room and it would take hours with cling film as he always moved it and I had to watch like a hawk due to the other cat. My gut says he’s still fine. Really can’t make a decision till morning but he needs to get something even if it’s only .50 units in the morning as he should not go two cycles with no insulin.
Laurie can’t get there till early evening tomorrow so he’s on his own all day tomorrow. Trying not to worry.
 
Sadly no ketone tests either. I do these through blood tests as Kaz is a real pain with the urine test. He will not use the litter box if your in the same room and it would take hours with cling film as he always moved it and I had to watch like a hawk due to the other cat. My gut says he’s still fine. Really can’t make a decision till morning but he needs to get something even if it’s only .50 units in the morning as he should not go two cycles with no insulin.
Laurie can’t get there till early evening tomorrow so he’s on his own all day tomorrow. Trying not to worry.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Things have been going very well and I just have a feeling Kaz is going to be okay. But, having said that, I SURE DO hope Laurie can get a button on him tomorrow that functions. What a great friend/sitter she is.
 
Claire I am concerned he did not eat, vomited and did not get his insulin. I don’t think she could have given a dose last night but if he is still like this tomorrow, I think he may need to be seen by a vet to make sure he is ok and there is nothing brewing. Can Laurie take him to the vet if necessary? The concern is that ketones may appear if he is not eating and not getting insulin.
 
Claire I am concerned he did not eat, vomited and did not get his insulin. I don’t think she could have given a dose last night but if he is still like this tomorrow, I think he may need to be seen by a vet to make sure he is ok and there is nothing brewing. Can Laurie take him to the vet if necessary? The concern is that ketones may appear if he is not eating and not getting insulin.

So everything is fine. Kaz is eating fine again. Laurie actually went back later in the evening to check him and to make sure the button was working.

This morning he was happy and eating all his food his BG is a bit high but thats probably from higher carb food and should hopefully start to go back down again.

Fingers crossed the button will last till July 5th.

Yutong has done a fantastic job.
 
So everything is fine. Kaz is eating fine again. Laurie actually went back later in the evening to check him and to make sure the button was working.

This morning he was happy and eating all his food his BG is a bit high but thats probably from higher carb food and should hopefully start to go back down again.

Fingers crossed the button will last till July 5th.

Yutong has done a fantastic job.
This is very good to hear -- especially the eating and the success with the button.
 
I’m really glad you have a working sensor again and Kaz is eating well again.
Yutong is certainly doing a great job with Kaz. That is so good! I hope you are enjoying your holiday.
 
Hi All

Yesterday was a bit of a nightmare it took nearly 14 hours to get back it should have been about half that time.
Sorry I have not posted last few days I have had issues with my brother and then my Mum got sick.

Anyway I'm back and funnily enough I got to take one reading and then the button stopped working so back to ear pricks. Don't think it was secured with strong adhesive. Now hanging off but I can't seem to get that last bit off.
Kaz is doing well. His numbers are high but that's to be expected I'm hoping after a few days it will start to come down as I adjust his food.

One scary thing happened between Yutong's last visit and me getting home. I had them put a piece of stretch gauze over the button. I have done this with all the buttons as it helps with Kaz scratching and makes the button last longer. Well the gauze has tiny holes in it and I have no idea how he managed to do this but he hooked one of his teeth over the gauze and could not get it off. When I got home it was soaking wet with spit and food and when I got it off his gums were bleeding and inflamed.
This morning they were back to normal. I think it was a fluke that this happened but as soon as I removed it Kaz scratched the button off.

Not much else to report right now.

Thanks for everyone's help with Yutong I know she appreciated it and so did I.
 
Welcome Home, Claire. I hope your trip went well, and you mom is better and issues with your brother are resolved now.
I have been following your spreadsheet, and wishing you (and Kaz) well.
Did you happen to do a ketone test, yet?
I'm sure Kaz is SO HAPPY you are back
mail
I know I am.
 
So glad to hear you made it safely back home and that all is well. Hope you mother and brother are ok as well.
Yutong did a great job!
I’m sure the cats were very happy to see you back again.
Once you have Kaz back onto his normal food, we can look at the dose.
Can you post the ketones result when you get it please?
 
great news about Kaz! Look at you just casually saying you'll need to do ear pricks -- Claire I remember when you were 100% sure you could never do an ear prick test! I applaud your dedication to Kaz, he is lucky to have you. Glad your trip went well and you're home safe and sound.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top