6/17 Simon | AMPS 108 +2 115 +4 222 PMPS 482 +2 427

The +2 or +3 being quite a bit lower than the preshot value is a good indicator (on Lantus) of an active cycle to come. Hence why we suggest people get a test before bed, to see if they need to get up again or at least leave out lots of food.

How is Simon acting/behaving in general? Eating his regular amount of food? using the litter box as normal? grooming/playing? A cat is a lot more than their numbers, and other signs and behaviours can tell us a lot.
 
The +2 or +3 being quite a bit lower than the preshot value is a good indicator (on Lantus) of an active cycle to come. Hence why we suggest people get a test before bed, to see if they need to get up again or at least leave out lots of food.

How is Simon acting/behaving in general? Eating his regular amount of food? using the litter box as normal? grooming/playing? A cat is a lot more than their numbers, and other signs and behaviours can tell us a lot.
This morning Simon spit up a tiny amount of spit, which isn't uncommon for him. He has not eaten a lot of food today though. I got him to eat some of his breakfast after adding a little gravy on top. But he's mostly ignored small offerings of food throughout the afternoon. Not eating also isn't totally uncommon for him. Before the diabetes it was a coin flip if he'd finish his food in general. Hopefully he'll eat his dinner because I'm pretty sure he'll need the insulin tonight.

He hasn't groomed himself for months. My vet said it's common with older diabetic cats before they're properly regulated. But otherwise he's been acting more "normal" like he was before the diabetes. The other day he was playing with his mice toys, which is something I haven't seen him do in quite a while.

Does an active cycle mean that his pancreas is starting to kick in and produce some insulin again? Or is there too much insulin in the deposit?
 
I hope Simon doesn't bounce too high. It takes time to learn their patterns.
Hope you both have a good day 🐈‍⬛ :bighug:
I'm guessing his evening numbers will be high. I wish I had the schedule to accommodate delays when his pre shot levels are low! 😵‍💫
 
Love to hear it when they start playing again. That's a very good sign.

An active cycle is one where you'll see some good downward action in the blood sugar numbers. It doesn't mean anything about his pancreas or too much insulin. It's the insulin doing it's job. But it also means you might need to monitor more closely.
 
Well Simon didn’t finish his dinner after two hours (ate about half over that time, mostly with my coaxing him to the bowl). Definitely under his average calorie intake today.

He’s at 427 at +2 PMPS. Acting fine though, was playing with his new mouse toy again tonight. I’m going to leave some extra chicken treats out for him. Such a slow eater, really makes me nervous with the insulin shots.

Routine vet appointment tomorrow. Goodnight all!
 
Khloe is a really slow eater too. I found if the food bowl is too small, she won't eat much from it, has to be a big bowl that doesn't touch her whiskers. Maybe that's worth a try? If I'm really desperate to get her to eat, I'll spoon feed her but that's a last resort for me.

Goodnight and good luck tomorrow!
 
Khloe is a really slow eater too. I found if the food bowl is too small, she won't eat much from it, has to be a big bowl that doesn't touch her whiskers. Maybe that's worth a try? If I'm really desperate to get her to eat, I'll spoon feed her but that's a last resort for me.

Goodnight and good luck tomorrow!
Oh Simon definitely has the "whisker fatigue" too. He's always refused bowls that are too small, we have to use the really wide and flat ones. Fortunately, he ate all of the food I put out for him overnight, just another typical slow Simon meal
 
Oh Simon definitely has the "whisker fatigue" too. He's always refused bowls that are too small, we have to use the really wide and flat ones. Fortunately, he ate all of the food I put out for him overnight, just another typical slow Simon meal
That’s awesome he ate all his food last night! Always nice to see them getting with the program 🙂
 
Back
Top