? 6/17 Rudy AMPS 394, +4 354 Confused about his numbers right now :(

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-15-rudy-amps-394-3-345-6-320.291137/#post-3186830

Been a couple of days since we posted, we had a Rover sitter. We've done 6 cycles at 5U. 6/15 up until we left town he had good numbers, it's hard to know if maybe he bounced and is still coming out of that.

Is this normal for a cat to seemingly do well at a dose (we thought he was doing so good at 4U) and now struggle to lower at a higher dose? We're worried that he's developing insulin resistance, but also don't know if that's silly or not.
 
He's probably still bouncing from those low blues a couple days ago.

As for insulin resistance, it is possible. If kitties spend too much time in high numbers they can develop glucose toxicity, which is one type of insulin resistance. There are a number of other conditions that cause insulin resistance too. In addition to glucose toxicity, Neko had two of them in the beginning, acromegaly and IAA (insulin auto antibodies). Later she added more of them, CKD and heart condition. Hyperthyroidism and pancreatitis are another couple of conditions causing insulin resistance.

How is Rudy acting/feeling these days?

Is this normal for a cat to seemingly do well at a dose (we thought he was doing so good at 4U) and now struggle to lower at a higher dose?
I called it "the dose going stale". Even at 4 units his nadirs could have gone lower and he saw numbers over 300. Insulin dosing is one of those things where you just have to keep increasing until you get a dose than moves them. Insulin is a hormone, not a drug, it's not like you add a little bit more and the BG gets a little bit better.

With TR, once we get to 5 units, we increase by 0.5 units unless just tweaking a dose with fairly good nadirs.
 
He's probably still bouncing from those low blues a couple days ago.

As for insulin resistance, it is possible. If kitties spend too much time in high numbers they can develop glucose toxicity, which is one type of insulin resistance. There are a number of other conditions that cause insulin resistance too. In addition to glucose toxicity, Neko had two of them in the beginning, acromegaly and IAA (insulin auto antibodies). Later she added more of them, CKD and heart condition. Hyperthyroidism and pancreatitis are another couple of conditions causing insulin resistance.

How is Rudy acting/feeling these days?


I called it "the dose going stale". Even at 4 units his nadirs could have gone lower and he saw numbers over 300. Insulin dosing is one of those things where you just have to keep increasing until you get a dose than moves them. Insulin is a hormone, not a drug, it's not like you add a little bit more and the BG gets a little bit better.

With TR, once we get to 5 units, we increase by 0.5 units unless just tweaking a dose with fairly good nadirs.

Rudy's acting fine. Some days he's a touch shakey, but overall he seems ok. Appetite and litter box use is normal, he's still peeing more than normal though. Should we move to 5.5 tomorrow morning if he doesn't drop?
 
This dose did get him to fairly low blues and we don't know how he did the night you were away. I might hold the dose another couple cycles. I'm also thinking he might break the bounce sometime in those two cycles and increasing on a bounce breaking cycle is one to avoid if you can.
 
Back
Top