6/17 Jack: 364@AMPS

Jack & Mopem'sMom

Member Since 2020
SO, Jack was his usual high 200s yesterday at his PMPS, gave him the 6.5units, got up at +7hrs and almost fainted when I saw that 426 on the meter. 4-2-6...SMH...:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead: I have no clue why he bounced up that high, or what he's planning for today. All I do know is I won't be around to test much today, Abby has her scheduled vet appointment for her ear, and the ugly surprise this morning was Pumpkin not being able to pee, acting lethargic, not wanting food...this is not good. If I don't hear back from my vet in the next 10 mins or so, I think I'm hauling both cats to the emergency clinic. Jack will probably end up with 7 units this evening unless he throws an ugly surprise my way as well.

Yesterday's thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-16-jack-184-amps-holding-custom-dose.278621/
 
SO, Jack was his usual high 200s yesterday at his PMPS, gave him the 6.5units, got up at +7hrs and almost fainted when I saw that 426 on the meter. 4-2-6...SMH...:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead: I have no clue why he bounced up that high, or what he's planning for today. All I do know is I won't be around to test much today, Abby has her scheduled vet appointment for her ear, and the ugly surprise this morning was Pumpkin not being able to pee, acting lethargic, not wanting food...this is not good. If I don't hear back from my vet in the next 10 mins or so, I think I'm hauling both cats to the emergency clinic. Jack will probably end up with 7 units this evening unless he throws an ugly surprise my way as well.

Yesterday's thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-16-jack-184-amps-holding-custom-dose.278621/
:bighug::bighug::bighug: good luck at the Vet.
 
EVENING UPDATE:

I think Jack stayed in the 200's all day, can't be 100% sure, but seems most likely scenario. I am exhausted, mentally and physically, so I know I'm not getting up in the middle of the night tonight to test, so I stuck with the 6.5 units. Jack is too unpredictable to go back to 7u without overnight tests, and I just don't have any energy left for today.

Ended up taking Pumpkin and Abby to the emergency clinic (1.5 hrs one way...I am seriously starting to hate being in the car). Pumpkin was blocked, he has been admitted to the hospital for at least the next 3 days, possibly 5. The blockage was 'normal' and has been cleared, but apparently his urethra isn't (figures I get the abnormal cat.....again) so unsure about potential for future issues. At the very least, he will be on pre$cription food the rest of his life. Anyone who knows of any resources similar to this board for chronic urinary blocked kitties, please let me know.

Abby has a bacterial infection in her ear. I couldn't manage her regular appointment and get Pumpkin to the ER so I just took Abby with me and they treated her as well. Animax 1x a day for 7 days. Good luck with that- she is hiding from me under the couch (where she doesn't really fit) and will probable be there the next few days. According to the vet they don't make any ear antibiotics that can go in just once and last for a week or so (I know they have this for dogs, but vet did not advise trying it)

Have a good night all. Thanks for your prayers and well wishes....they are always appreciated. :bighug:
 
Back
Top