6/15 Wonton PMPS=84 +2=39 +3=52 +4=60 +4.5=72 +5=70

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wonton

Member Since 2012
I fed Wonton, then gave her .25u, then 10 mins later she vomited all her breakfast, most likely hairballs cuz she was trying to cough one up. I put some HC in her dish and hopefully she ate after I left for work. I also left 2 small LC snacks.
Beautiful Friday here, sunny with breezes. Hope everyone has a great day! :-D
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton AMPS=91 PMPS=62

Should I give Wonton her .25u? She's at 62 which is pretty low for a PMPS reading, and since most of her readings have been greens, should I skip this one?
Could I try an OTJ trial??
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton AMPS=91 PMPS=62: Should I shoot?

Hold on (and don't feed), let me look at your ss.
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton AMPS=91 PMPS=62: Should I shoot?

well...I had already fed her then was going to shoot, but stopped to think about it....
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton AMPS=91 PMPS=62: Should I shoot?

Have you tested since +12? If not, please do a test and see where she's at.
Have you fed?
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton AMPS=91 PMPS=62: Should I shoot?

She's now at 71, and I did feed her about an hour ago. Her regular shot schedule was 6:30pm
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton AMPS=91 PMPS=62: Should I shoot?

Usually, they want you to stay on insulin as long as you can. So, normally the next dose would be 0.10.
What is your schedule like? Can you stall some more, and still be okay to shoot 12 hours later from whatever time you shoot tonight, tomorrow morning?
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton AMPS=91 PMPS=62: Should I shoot?

So you're saying I should not shoot this evening and wait until her next scheduled shot at 6:30am? And give her .10u?
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton AMPS=91 PMPS=62: Should I shoot?

You'll need to edit the Subject Line in your first post to say "6/15 Wonton AMPS=91 +12=62, +13=71: Should I shoot?"
PMPS means you shot the insulin.
I'm trying to get some more eyes on your condo.
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton AMPS=91 PMPS=62: Should I shoot?

Wonton said:
So you're saying I should not shoot this evening and wait until her next scheduled shot at 6:30am? And give her .10u?
No, she did not earn a dose reduction, yet.
If you skip tonight, you would go back to her regular dose of 0.25 tomorrow.
Are you able to stall some more, and shoot later, and thus change your shot schedule...or do you want to skip?
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton AMPS=91 +12=62 +13=71: Should I shoot?

Carolyn

I'm wondering why you want to skip? This is a shootable number and I can help you tonight if Wonton comes down more.

ETA: you've shot a 71 before with more insulin.
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton AMPS=91 +12=62 +13=71: Should I shoot?

OK, I will skip tonight since I cannot change her shot schedule. And I'll give her .25u tomorrow morning at 6:30am.
Thank you Dyana, Wonton and I appreciate your help very much!!
Have a wonderful evening!! :-D
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton AMPS=91 +12=62 +13=71: Should I shoot?

Carolyn

We cross posted....please read my post....I think you can shoot this. She's making progress and you've shot a 71 before.
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton AMPS=91 +12=62 +13=71: Should I shoot?

Hi Marje, she was at 62 when I was concerned about shootingd, I had fed her and then thought do I want to shoot this low number. Too late b'cuz I already fed her. She's almost 1.5 hrs late with her shot, so is it too late now?
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton AMPS=91 +12=62 +13=71: Should I shoot?

No its absolutely not too late. You can make up the shot times in 15 min increments at each cycle or 30 mins once a day.

What do you think? If it has been 30 mins since you got the 71, I'd test her again and if she's surfing, I'd shoot the full dose (stalling is already going to serve as a reduced dose). Then get a +1 and a +2.
If she's in the high 60s, that's ok but I'd also get a +.5 test.
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton AMPS=91 +12=62 +13=71: Should I shoot?

Sounds good, I'll get another reading and if she's surfing will shoot her now at .25 and change her shot schedule by the increments you suggest per day. I will get many readings tonight and be sure she's safe before I go to sleep.
Thank you Marje!! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton AMPS=91 +12=62 +13=71: Should I shoot?

You're welcome. I'll be looking for your PMPS and we can decide on the first test time.
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton AMPS=91 +12=62 +13=71: Should I shoot?

Remember to adjust your SS -- the PMPS is the numbers you actually shot.

Wonton's SS is looking really good. If you are thinking in terms of OTJ, you need to get comfortable with shooting low numbers. The more flat green cycles Wonton has, the more likely it is that you are going to get a low pre-shot. That's a good thing. In addition, you want to work the dose down to the point you are shooting the tiniest possible amount. We try to keep giving insulin in order to give your cat's pancreas as much support as possible for as long as possible in order that a trial will have the best chance of succeeding. You may want to review Libby's post on dealing with low pre-shot numbers.
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton AMPS=91 +12=62 +13=71 PMPS=84

Carolyn....

Great job. I think with that rise, you can get a +1 to start as long as it has been a while since you fed. If you fed at the 62, then a +1 is fine. If you fed after that, this might be food influenced and you should check at +.5.

Good info from Sienne :-D
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton AMPS=91 +12=62 +13=71 PMPS=84

Yes, great info and I will re-read the low pre-shot info. Thank you Sienne and Marje!! :-D You guys rock!!
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton AMPS=91 +12=62 +13=71 PMPS=84

I was just looking at your SS again, too. I know it can be confusing as to the best way to list these numbers. Here's what I suggest:

In the +11 column, put "62 @ 12; 71 @ 13" and then in the PMPS column, put "84 @ 13.5" That way we know you shot 1.5 hours late. You can see this on Gracie's SS if you scroll down to 6/7 and look at +11 in the PM cycle and then AMPS on 6/8.
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton AMPS=91 +12=62 +13=71 PMPS=84

Very Exciting, Carolyn! And you are right Sienne and Marje ROCK! I'm glad they are helping you with Wonton. You are doing an amazing job! I wish all are owners were so willing.
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton +12=62 +13=71 PMPS=84 +1=64

Miss Wonton!!! Wrong way!!!!

Carolyn....can you feed her two good-sized tsp of LC food and retest in 30? Let's try to get her flattened out a little bit before onset. I'll check back in but I might be just a scootch late as I T/F/S Gracie within that timeframe.

If she is down more, lather, rinse repeat (in other words feed her LC again and retest in another 30). I won't be long with Grace, though.
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton +12=62 +13=71 PMPS=84 +1=64

OK, was messing with the SS and just saw your post Marje...will feed her some LC and test in 30 mins....thanks for being there!
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton +12=62 +13=71 PMPS=84 +1=64

Thanks Jenn...I wouldn't have been able to do this without your in-house training and all your support to get me started and going in the right direction!! You Rock too!! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: dancing_cat
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton +12=62 +13=71 PMPS=84 +1=64

Another exciting night for Miss Wonton!! I tell ya, this cat his it going on!! Way to go, Carolyn!!
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton +12=62 +13=71 PMPS=84 +1=64

Hi Amy, I guess I'm lucky that the Lantus is working so well for Wonton. And I'm so grateful for all the support and encouragement you've given me all along. I couldn't have come this far without it. Lots of Rockin' ladies in LL!!! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
Hope your evening is going well, haven't had the chance to check your condo yet...
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton +12=62 +13=71 PMPS=84 +1=64

Yes...Jenn, Amy, Sienne, Georgia.....love them all!!!

I'm back BTW ;-) How we doing?
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton +13=71 PMPS=84 +1=64 +2=39

Just wanted to 911 this as she is now at 39...should I do HC now?? or more LC??
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton +13=71 PMPS=84 +1=64 +2=39

I'd go with the HC. A little high octane is a good idea with a drop below 40 this early in the cycle.
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton +13=71 PMPS=84 +1=64 +2=39

Carolyn

Ok....breathe first. It's ok. Give her HC gravy...a couple tsp. Recheck in 30.
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton +13=71 PMPS=84 +1=64 +2=39

I called Carolyn just to make sure she was ok. No dosing advice was given but I did tell her not to feed to much HC/LC at one time in case she needs to keep feeding she didn't want Wonton to get full. I am up pretty late so I just wanted to let her know I was here if she needed me. Even though I know Marje and Sienne have their eyes here. I also went over the hypo symptoms, which she knew were in a "stickie".

This reminds me of my nights with Mikey. Very excited for Carolyn and Wonton but I also remember how nervous I was.
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton +13=71 PMPS=84 +1=64 +2=39

Unfortunately she's not eating the HC, so I also put out a small amt of LC. Will be checking her number in about 10 mins.
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton +13=71 PMPS=84 +1=64 +2=39

If she won't eat the HC gravy, you can give her a drop of karo/honey/syrup in her LC.
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton +13=71 PMPS=84 +1=64 +2=39

Question is a HYPO incident based on "symptoms" or "numbers" or both? meaning can a cat be having a hypo incident with no symptoms, how would you know?
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton +13=71 PMPS=84 +1=64 +2=39

Thanks Jenn and Marje...OK, she's gone up to 54...yeay! I'll check her again in 30 mins. Haven't been able to get her to eat anything, but maybe she will alittle later.
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton +13=71 PMPS=84 +1=64 +2=39

Great....what did you give her to get her up? If you can get food in her, it would be great. Will wait for your next test in 30.
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton +13=71 PMPS=84 +1=64 +2=39 +2.5=54

No, she's not showing any symptoms...she seems very comfortable...
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton +13=71 PMPS=84 +1=64 +2=39 +2.5=54

Can you pls take off the 911? we've got you covered.

Glad she's fine.
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton +13=71 PMPS=84 +1=64 +2=39

There's a distinction between symptomatic hypoglycemia and low numbers. Most of us (humans) have experienced low blood sugar (aka "hypoglycemia). We eat and we feel better. It's the same with our cats. Unless your cat is experiencing symptoms associated with hypoglycemia, it's low numbers and can be managed with food.
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton +13=71 PMPS=84 +1=64 +2=39 +2.5=54

I just remember when Mikey's numbers got into the 30's the worry of hypo. but he never had any symptoms. Looking at this thread just made me wonder if there is a magic number that means hypo.
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton +13=71 PMPS=84 +1=64 +2=39 +2.5=54

Jenn...sorry to not have answered your specific question but I was concerned if you were talking to Carolyn and Wonton might be having hypo symptoms. It's important to watch the kitty and not associate hypos with a certain number. Some cats may exhibit symptoms at higher numbers than others. So it's the symptoms you want to be aware of.
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton +13=71 PMPS=84 +1=64 +2=39 +2.5=54 +3=52

I understand Marje ;-) Carolyn and I went over the sticky note on hypo and that's how the question came to mind.
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton +13=71 PMPS=84 +1=64 +2=39 +2.5=54 +3=52

She's now at 52...hopefully she'll be surfing around this number and not go lower tonight...she's still not hungry but will keep trying the LC....
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton +13=71 PMPS=84 +1=64 +2=39 +2.5=54 +3=52

Carolyn

Yes....I'd like you to continue to try and feed her a couple tsp of LC, then test. Let's do this every 30 mins until she's up more. Will she let you test her that much? I'd just like to see her surfing a little higher.
 
Re: 6/15 Wonton +13=71 PMPS=84 +1=64 +2=39 +2.5=54 +3=52

So far she's been pretty good about the testing but she may lose patience with it. I'll do the best I can and will try and get her to eat. She's preening right now so she's probably getting ready to take a nap. Oh yeah, I'll try adding some parmesean cheese to her food...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top