6/15 Kasha AMPS 91, PMPS 167 ** Blue update **

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Member Since 2010
Well, I've been sitting around for about an hour now, waiting to feed and shoot. She was 312 last night when I went to bed... And this morning, 104. Yes - huh? I realized I hadn't closed up the vial of test strips, so I tested with 2 other vials. Yep - all tests around 100. So - want to make sure she's rising... I've been waiting and testing and she's gone down into the greens (91) and all the way back up to around 104. She's 91 now. Hmmm... In about 15 min (one hour late), I'm going to shoot unless it's crazy low. I have to get back on schedule cuz I have plans tomorrow night and I was actually hoping to shoot a little earlier tomorrow night so I could get where I have to go on time...

So, I have a question: In a case where she has a low preshot and I want to make sure she's rising - I assume I should wait to feed so I'm not reading a food spike, right?

She's getting hungry...

I gave SQ fluids last night aroudn +5.5 (bedtime). It had been a while since she'd gotten them and I swear that sometimes it helps break her bounces (I know - probably all in my head but then again... look at this morning's numbers...).

Ok - we're an hour late... She's 91. Gotta feed and shoot. She wasn't much interested in her breakfast, so I got out some FF elegant medleys cuz she loves that. Supposedly the one she got this AM was 9% carbs, but I suspect it's a little higher. Anyway - she eating and that's what's important.

And yes - Blue already ate 2 meals by now. He was out dozing on the papasan cushion with me last night till it was time for his warm compress - then he went back into the cage for bed. I wonder how long till he starts crying to come out all the time... He's been so good thus far...

Yesterday
 
Re: 6/15 Kasha AMPS 91 - LATE!

Exciting #'s this morning. Good luck with the shooting, I'm sure Kasha will be fine.
 
Re: 6/15 Kasha AMPS 91 - LATE!

Hi Krys,
Wow, Kasha's looking good, but I hear ya with the low pre-shot, Hopefully someone will advise here. So glad to see how well Blue is progressing. I've seen cats for adoption with one leg, and they do wonderful at the adoption center. They're not there long, as someone adopts him/her.
 
Re: 6/15 Kasha AMPS 91 - LATE!

Ann and Maggie11 said:
Hi Krys,
Wow, Kasha's looking good, but I hear ya with the low pre-shot, Hopefully someone will advise here. So glad to see how well Blue is progressing. I've seen cats for adoption with one leg, and they do wonderful at the adoption center. They're not there long, as someone adopts him/her.

I hope you mean you've seen cats with one leg missing - LOL...
 
Re: 6/15 Kasha AMPS 91 - LATE!

Kasha is surfing. A rising number or a surf is fine. This looks like the lowest you've shot. Can you get a +1 and +2?

Sub-q fluids do cause a drop in BG. You are causing dilution so numbers will drop -- at least temporarily. It's often important to time squids so you are not on top of the nadir.
 
Re: 6/15 Kasha AMPS 91 - LATE!

Sienne and Gabby said:
Kasha is surfing. A rising number or a surf is fine. This looks like the lowest you've shot. Can you get a +1 and +2?

Sub-q fluids do cause a drop in BG. You are causing dilution so numbers will drop -- at least temporarily. It's often important to time squids so you are not on top of the nadir.


Yeah - but less than 100 ml SQ fluids shouldn't cause her to drop this many hours later. I'm thinking combination of her bounce breaking and maybe some NDW...

Her +1 is 127... that's after eating a full breakfast of 9%(ish) food... I'll stick around and watch her for a bit.
 
Re: 6/15 Kasha AMPS 91, +1 127

I didn't mean to imply you'd still see a drop now -- a drop from fluids is usually within a hour or so of when you administer them. If you look at Carolyn/Latte's SS, she notes when she gives squids and you can often see the drop in numbers.
 
Re: 6/15 Kasha AMPS 91, +1 127

I agree with Sienne that the SQUIDs may have had a role to play in the sugar dance last night.
Anyways... nice to see Kasha is going well! You might want to make a note re: the 9% carb food in the SS (maybe you did already and I've already forgotten). Getting a +2 is a good idea.

Sounds like Blue is recovering nicely. I'm sure he appreciates the good care you are giving him.
 
Re: 6/15 Kasha AMPS 91, +1 ~ 127, +2 ~ 78

Oh boy... 78 at +2... got out the HC for a snack. I'm assuming there's no point letting her drop too much - it's only her third cycle on her new dose, so if she drops low it may just be new dose wonkiness... not time for a dosecrease. I personally think she should save the excitement for dosecreases...

She ate an entire can of FF elegant medleys (9% supposedly) and I just gave a 29% HC treat.

My dad just told me he'd fire me if I were his employee. Awesome.

Just gave Blue his morning warm compress... he's very squirmy - tough to keep him still for 10 minutes with a warm cloth on him.

So - I know that squids can lower the BGs temporarily - but does it make sense that it might help break a bounce? I swear, when she's bouncing and I give the squids, it seems to set her on the right path. Maybe I'll experiment more - could just be that her bounce is about to break anyway and I'm somehow choosing just those time to give squids.

I just want to sleep...
 
Re: 6/15 Kasha AMPS 91, +1 ~ 127, +2 ~ 78

hope you mean you've seen cats with one leg missing - LOL...

Oh, yes, that is what I meant... :o Sometimes I forget to preview and re-read what I mean, lol; need to go btd sometimes and get more zzzz
 
Re: 6/15 Kasha AMPS 91, +1 ~ 127, +2 ~ 78

kryskat said:
Oh boy... 78 at +2... got out the HC for a snack. I'm assuming there's no point letting her drop too much - it's only her third cycle on her new dose, so if she drops low it may just be new dose wonkiness... not time for a dosecrease. I personally think she should save the excitement for dosecreases...

I somewhat disagree, and I mean that with all due respect. 3rd cycle on the new dose is not NDW, IMO. You do what you feel is best for Kasha as you know her better than anyone else, however,I don't think you needed to worry about her dropping too low and getting the ultra-HC out quite yet. It's OK for Kasha to surf the green and in a lot of cases, an LC snack is all they need to get on their surfboard and stay green without diving.

Although we don't really like dosecreases too close to one another, sometimes, the cats go running down the dosing scale and that's it just that. Yes, it's only her 3rd cycle on this dose, but if she's ready to graduate from that dose.... well, it's OK.

In any event, don't worry.... she got to green, she's get there again. Green is good... we like green ! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/15 Kasha AMPS 91, +2 ~ 78 ** Blue update **

Ok - got a call from the surgeon - they got Blue's pathology report. He has something called chondrosarcoma - the tumor was malignant. So - not super news, but he said they got clean margins and the fluid from his lymph nodes was also sent to pathology and came back clear of any cancer or anything. From what I'm reading, it seems that this type of cancer is relatively rare in cats. The vet said in cats, there tends to be low potential for it to spread - and I asked if we should be cautiously optimistic. He said that was a very good way to describe the situation: "Cautiously optimistic".

So, please keep Blue in your thoughts and prayers. He seems to be doing well (the vet said from the reports he's heard, it sounds like Blue is doing VERY well). I wish I'd acted sooner on this with him, but I know that's easier said in hindsight. I was dealing with 3 sick cats at the time and I had some health issues of my own (probably stress-induced) at the time as well. Everyone tells me that I've done the best I can, but even so, I'm not convinced I couldn't do better (I'm a Virgo - perfectionist. Can't help it...).
 
Re: 6/15 Kasha AMPS 91, +2 ~ 78 ** Blue update **

(((((((Blue))))))) Sending healing and well forever vines to you sweet boy!!!!
 
Re: 6/15 Kasha AMPS 91, +2 ~ 78 ** Blue update **

I'm sorry for Blue's pathology, but I'll be cautiously optimistic with you. Sounds like he's doing fine and the vet's report did sound positive. Sending healing energies and prayers for full recovery for Blue.

Sounds like you had a busy morning with Kasha too. You are doing the best you can! Taking care of 2 cats with health issues can be overwhelming. I think you're doing great. :RAHCAT
 
Re: 6/15 Kasha AMPS 91, +2 ~ 78 ** Blue update **

kryskat said:
So, please keep Blue in your thoughts and prayers. He seems to be doing well (the vet said from the reports he's heard, it sounds like Blue is doing VERY well). I wish I'd acted sooner on this with him, but I know that's easier said in hindsight. I was dealing with 3 sick cats at the time and I had some health issues of my own (probably stress-induced) at the time as well. Everyone tells me that I've done the best I can, but even so, I'm not convinced I couldn't do better (I'm a Virgo - perfectionist. Can't help it...).

(((Krys))) I'm sorry the report came back with a cancer diagnosis, but it sounds like it was caught in time. I will definitely be sending healing snowflakes to Blue. We all do the best we can under often difficult circumstances. It was not an easy decision to make, but you now know for certain that it was the right decision, and that Blue is recovering well, and is well on his way to being healthy and happy again.
 
Re: 6/15 Kasha AMPS 91, +2 ~ 78 ** Blue update **

I ditto that sentiment. Here come some more healing vines for Blue, fresh from Stu's garden. And good luck with Kasha's dosecrease. Stu's going down tonight too, so she'll have company.

Hang in there. All will be OK. Stay "cautiously optimistic"!

Ella
 
Re: 6/15 Kasha AMPS 91, +2 ~ 78 ** Blue update **

Hugs! It sounds hopeful and the Vet is happy with his progress, and clean margins. It is a shock to hear the word malignant. So hopefully it was caught in time, and Blue is doing so well. I am sending positive thoughts and prayers.
 
Re: 6/15 Kasha AMPS 91, +2 ~ 78 ** Blue update **

I know now that you think I wish I had acted sooner, but hindsight is always 20/20.
In my mind, your wait was very wise. You had a very major decision to make, a life altering one for Blue and you, so wise is to gather all info and make an educated decision. And that's what it sounds like you did to me. You did well by Blue and you can see now that Blue is coming along fine.

Cautiously optimistic is good; I'll take it over what it could have been, right?

I was glad to hear of his 'outing' last nite, sitting with you till bed time. I bet once Blue starts complaining more to get out, it would be another good sign that he's coming along fine and needs to be out and about!

As for Kasha, I think you are aiming for greens so HC to get her up higher won't get her down to the numbers that she needs for a decrease, and you would like to work towards Kasha being OTJ right? I am sure it is worrisome in the beginning, but if she is healing and reaches a point where she just does not need the insulin, you will have to go with where she goes on her numbers. She's the boss in that regard.
By a couple shots, you should have a good idea of how Kasha is doing on a dose; I don't think NDW occurs much later. Hold onto those HC treats until she really needs them, like going under 50 or 40.

Considering all that you have been handling over the last little while, I would say that your kitties are very lucky to have you are their bean!
 
Re: 6/15 Kasha AMPS 91, +2 ~ 78 ** Blue update **

Clean margins and clean lymph on the biopsies are great news! Are they planning any sort of follow up treatment?

Also, I agree with Helene. This isn't NDW -- if for no other reason, when you increase a dose and BG levels go up, that's NDW. It doesn't happen when numbers drop or when you decrease your dose!
 
Re: 6/15 Kasha AMPS 91, +1 ~ 127, +2 ~ 78

Helene & Tizon said:
I somewhat disagree, and I mean that with all due respect. 3rd cycle on the new dose is not NDW, IMO. You do what you feel is best for Kasha as you know her better than anyone else, however,I don't think you needed to worry about her dropping too low and getting the ultra-HC out quite yet. It's OK for Kasha to surf the green and in a lot of cases, an LC snack is all they need to get on their surfboard and stay green without diving.

Although we don't really like dosecreases too close to one another, sometimes, the cats go running down the dosing scale and that's it just that. Yes, it's only her 3rd cycle on this dose, but if she's ready to graduate from that dose.... well, it's OK.

In any event, don't worry.... she got to green, she's get there again. Green is good... we like green ! :mrgreen:

Oh - I totally missed reading this one... Hey - disagree with me all you want - I'm still learning, I probably deserve to be disagreed with!!! LOL. I defer to those who know more than I do...

I wasn't sure if she'd have to let the dose "settle" for 6 - 10 cycles before we could adequately see if she was due for a dosecrease... And I got out the HC to bump her up, cuz 78 at +2 made me nervous since I thought I'd be going to work... We're no longer used to these low numbers and it's freaking me out! Poor Kasha - has to deal with a panicky liver and a panicky mama bean!!!
 
Re: 6/15 Kasha AMPS 91, +2 ~ 78 ** Blue update **

Sienne and Gabby said:
Clean margins and clean lymph on the biopsies are great news! Are they planning any sort of follow up treatment?

Also, I agree with Helene. This isn't NDW -- if for no other reason, when you increase a dose and BG levels go up, that's NDW. It doesn't happen when numbers drop or when you decrease your dose!

Thanks Sienne. I wasn't sure where NDW leaves off and Kasha's general weirdness and unpredictability kicks in. She's being oddly vocal today and it's making me nervous.

As far as I know - we don't have any follow-up treatment planned for Blue. I've read some conflicting info, but it seems that surgery is usually the preferred treatment, and we've got that one done. Some places suggested other treatments but I've also read that chondrosarcoma is highly resistant to radiation and chemo. Also, most of the info I find suggests that this type of cancer, though rare in cats, is more often found in the nasal, laryngeal or tracheal areas - so I haven't found as many sites that discuss it in other places, like limbs. It's a cancer of the cartilage, apparently. Some places say it's fast-growing and some sites indicated it was slow-growing. Ah... the internet...
 
Re: 6/15 Kasha AMPS 91, +1 ~ 127, +2 ~ 78

[quote="kryskat
I wasn't sure if she'd have to let the dose "settle" for 6 - 10 cycles before we could adequately see if she was due for a dosecrease... And I got out the HC to bump her up, cuz 78 at +2 made me nervous since I thought I'd be going to work... We're no longer used to these low numbers and it's freaking me out! Poor Kasha - has to deal with a panicky liver and a panicky mama bean!!![/quote]

no problem... for clarity, new dose settling for 6 to 10 cycles is for going up the scale. Different story for going down the scale. You have a lot to deal with and the learning curve is a little steep!

(((Blue)))) Clean lymph nodes on the biopsies are great news! Thinking of you and sending tons of healing vines!
 
Ok - Kasha at all her dinner with chicken dust encouragement. Over 2 Tbsp. I think she's only reluctant to eat when I want her to eat (around shot time). In between she has no trouble, lately at least, asking for food or eating up the food that's out. 33rd Baytril - wrapped in skinny pill pocket and chicken dust. I shot about 25 min early to get back on schedule for tomorrow. Her numbers were rising and I'll be home to monitor, so... Ya do what ya gotta do.

Blue: pooed again while I was out, so all by himself. This is probably TMI (but who else other than you all am I going to share this with?), but he did get a little stuck to his rear end - however, not smeared it, just came right off with a paper towel and then I cleaned him up even though he really didn't need it. He can't clean himself with the e collar on, so I have to help. But he did good :smile:

The surgeon recommended he wear the e collar a full 3 weeks to make sure that incision heals. Ugh - so 2 more weeks (13 days-ish). And he said he can come out supervised, but he doesn't want him doing too much too soon. So, Blue walked into the kitchen with me today. He's awkward, of course, but gets around fairly well. Has to stop and rest every few steps - but I would think that will improve with time. Unfortunately, between the e collar and the missing leg, he always heads a little to the left and then ends up with the e collar stuck against the wall so his little head is just facing a wall and he can't see anything. He can start off in the middle of the hallway and in a few steps, he'll be up against the wall, stuck. So, learning curve. Poor guy.

Going out for a walk or to plant things. Not sure yet which one.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top