6/15 Cooper AMPS 351 (this was after stalling on his dose)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Millie and Cooper

Member Since 2015
Cooper's last post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...t-time-for-dose-increase.139301/#post-1436674

So yesterday afternoon, Cooper dropped fast and hit a green!! :DA 72 on my AT2 meter @ +9. We didn't want him to have to earn a reduction yet at 68 (didn't think he would be ready), so we fed him some low-med carb food to slow the drop down. By PMPS time, he'd only come up to 150. We decided to go ahead and shoot his full 5 units because we figured he would bounce and he ate a good dinner.

He came up at +1, but was dropping again at +2. So we started the process of feeding MC food and retesting. He was starting to drop kind of low even with medium carb food hours before his nadir. So we started to feed higher carb food to give him a little more room. We also gave a drop of honey a couple of times, but it only brought him up a little. He's not normally a really great eater and won't eat on command, but he ate like a champ for me last night. I think he was excited to be able to eat some of his higher carb favorites. But before +7, he puked up some of the food. So after that, he wasn't willing to eat much gravy anymore. I was able to get him to eat some Temptations and we also gave him some honey which got him up to 185 at @10. I then tried to sleep for an hour finally. I am completely exhausted today and so is he.

I know his numbers were really great last night and he was safe, but we also were feeding him all night long. Not sure what they would have been if he wasn't eating medium and high carb food all night. I guess he finally broke his toxicity and came barreling down.

This morning, he refused food (probably due to overload from the previous hours and the vomiting) and he was only at 198. We decided to stall because he hadn't bounced yet and he was refusing food. I got worried that if we shot his full dose and he started dropping fast again, we wouldn't be able to get him to eat. I may have to break out his Orijen dry today to see if he will eat a little of that if he keeps refusing wet food. Orijen is 18% and is supposed to be low glycemic. We can't have him stop eating all together.

Just checked him and he's come up a little to 211. So we're probably headed for a bounce. Advice on when I should shoot and how much? I may have made a mistake on stalling but I want to keep him safe. I decided to take a day off of work to be able to monitor him and maybe catch a little sleep, so I'm here with him all day.
 
Is he still refusing food? In general, does he seem like he feels OK? If you think he's going to eat for you, I would probably shoot his regular dose since he does seem to be heading up and since you'll be there to monitor.

Don't forget that your PM dose will be 12 hours from when you shoot this morning!
 
Morning! I would agree with Wendy. And I would also shoot only if you are comfortable in doing so. If he will eat the dry then maybe that is what you'll have to do until you can get him back on the wet. It can be such an ordeal sometimes. Good luck!
 
Yep, he's headed up it seems. I will probably go ahead and shoot fairly soon then. I don't want to do it just yet because I won't realistically be able to give him his shot this late in the morning everyday and it would take us a while to move it back to a much earlier time. Both my husband and I work out of the home. Any recommendations?
 
Wow does it ever look like you and Cooper had quite the pj party, Millie. How exciting to see him doing so great :)

While I think it would have been perfectly safe to shoot 5u on time, we also have to take care of ourselves and if you are exhausted and he's not eating well, it's only one cycle.

I have a couple thoughts. First, after 3 hours, it's hard to make up that time as you noted. So you could just shoot at whatever time you want that you can then shoot 12 hours from consistently. If your normal shot time (looks like it is about 7:45 from his SS) is working, than just shoot at 7:45 tonight but if you want to move his shot time to an earlier time (e.g. 6:30) than tonight would be perfect to do that. Shoot at 6:30 and every 12 hours, as much as possible, from that time going forward.

The other thing you can do is shoot at +18 today (so at about 1:45 pm) and then again 18 hours later which would be 7:45 tomorrow morning. That would give you a chance to catch up on sleep and Cooper could feel better but hopefully he won't climb too much. If you wanted to move your shot time earlier (again, using 6:30 as an example), shoot at 12:30 pm today and 6:30 a.m. tomorrow and you are on your new schedule.

I would also continue to shoot 5u until he earns a reduction. I know it looks like you were struggling to keep him up last night but if, for example, he had some really great absorption, it might have just been that cycle. I'd like to see a couple good cycles and see if he earns a reduction or it's a repeat of last night. Of course, since you both work, if it does worry you about leaving him, you can take him to 4.75u bid to keep him safe but I'd hate for him to lose progress until we know if he's really serious about this dose. However, we can only provide our thoughts.....you and DH need to decide what is the best option for you all.
 
Thank you guys! @Marje and Gracie, I think the +18 will make the most sense right now for his numbers coming up (don't want to wait until tonight) and for our schedule. He's climbing back up, so I don't want him to get too high. I think we will move our shot time back too because we kind of wanted to do that anyway, so this is a good time. So we'll plan to shoot at 12:30 today and then not again until 6:30 tomorrow morning. Paws crossed he doesn't go too high or too low during this funky transition.
 
Sounds good. Good luck and I hope he doesn't go too high. If he starts to bounce + depot drain....you could see some high numbers. Hang in there!

Edited to add: I just looked at his SS and he's booming up to 296. Since it is already noon where you are, I'd shoot now. Get some insulin in him. You can still shoot at 6:30 tomorrow morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top