Millie and Cooper
Member Since 2015
Cooper's last post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...t-time-for-dose-increase.139301/#post-1436674
So yesterday afternoon, Cooper dropped fast and hit a green!!
A 72 on my AT2 meter @ +9. We didn't want him to have to earn a reduction yet at 68 (didn't think he would be ready), so we fed him some low-med carb food to slow the drop down. By PMPS time, he'd only come up to 150. We decided to go ahead and shoot his full 5 units because we figured he would bounce and he ate a good dinner.
He came up at +1, but was dropping again at +2. So we started the process of feeding MC food and retesting. He was starting to drop kind of low even with medium carb food hours before his nadir. So we started to feed higher carb food to give him a little more room. We also gave a drop of honey a couple of times, but it only brought him up a little. He's not normally a really great eater and won't eat on command, but he ate like a champ for me last night. I think he was excited to be able to eat some of his higher carb favorites. But before +7, he puked up some of the food. So after that, he wasn't willing to eat much gravy anymore. I was able to get him to eat some Temptations and we also gave him some honey which got him up to 185 at @10. I then tried to sleep for an hour finally. I am completely exhausted today and so is he.
I know his numbers were really great last night and he was safe, but we also were feeding him all night long. Not sure what they would have been if he wasn't eating medium and high carb food all night. I guess he finally broke his toxicity and came barreling down.
This morning, he refused food (probably due to overload from the previous hours and the vomiting) and he was only at 198. We decided to stall because he hadn't bounced yet and he was refusing food. I got worried that if we shot his full dose and he started dropping fast again, we wouldn't be able to get him to eat. I may have to break out his Orijen dry today to see if he will eat a little of that if he keeps refusing wet food. Orijen is 18% and is supposed to be low glycemic. We can't have him stop eating all together.
Just checked him and he's come up a little to 211. So we're probably headed for a bounce. Advice on when I should shoot and how much? I may have made a mistake on stalling but I want to keep him safe. I decided to take a day off of work to be able to monitor him and maybe catch a little sleep, so I'm here with him all day.
So yesterday afternoon, Cooper dropped fast and hit a green!!
He came up at +1, but was dropping again at +2. So we started the process of feeding MC food and retesting. He was starting to drop kind of low even with medium carb food hours before his nadir. So we started to feed higher carb food to give him a little more room. We also gave a drop of honey a couple of times, but it only brought him up a little. He's not normally a really great eater and won't eat on command, but he ate like a champ for me last night. I think he was excited to be able to eat some of his higher carb favorites. But before +7, he puked up some of the food. So after that, he wasn't willing to eat much gravy anymore. I was able to get him to eat some Temptations and we also gave him some honey which got him up to 185 at @10. I then tried to sleep for an hour finally. I am completely exhausted today and so is he.
I know his numbers were really great last night and he was safe, but we also were feeding him all night long. Not sure what they would have been if he wasn't eating medium and high carb food all night. I guess he finally broke his toxicity and came barreling down.
This morning, he refused food (probably due to overload from the previous hours and the vomiting) and he was only at 198. We decided to stall because he hadn't bounced yet and he was refusing food. I got worried that if we shot his full dose and he started dropping fast again, we wouldn't be able to get him to eat. I may have to break out his Orijen dry today to see if he will eat a little of that if he keeps refusing wet food. Orijen is 18% and is supposed to be low glycemic. We can't have him stop eating all together.
Just checked him and he's come up a little to 211. So we're probably headed for a bounce. Advice on when I should shoot and how much? I may have made a mistake on stalling but I want to keep him safe. I decided to take a day off of work to be able to monitor him and maybe catch a little sleep, so I'm here with him all day.