6/15 Buzz PMPS: 303, +2: 305

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah and Buzz

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17222

WCR: Buzz was really playful this morning before I got up. She and civie Eve were playing on the bed, running around and swatting at each other. We played Monster Under the Covers (I put my hand under the covers and move it around and she chases and bats at it) and after breakfast, we had a rousing game of Fish on a Stick (her toy which is a fish dangling from a pole). She groomed herself and is now watching some Kitty TV.

Because Buzz doesn't hold reductions well, I have been requiring her to go below 50 twice (rather than once) to earn a reduction. I know that anything below 40 is an automatic reduction, and she got a 35 earlier this week. However, I didn't reduce because I'd like for her to get below 40 twice as well. Here are my questions:
1. Is that a bad idea?
2. What kind of a time frame, if any, is it necessary for her to go below 40? Does the second time need to be within a week, two weeks, doesn't matter?
3. Because I am using food to deliberately try to slow her drop, should that be taken into consideration when making reduction/increase decisions?

If anyone could take a look at her SS and let me know what you think about this, it would be much appreciated.
 
Re: 6/15 Buzz AMPS: 274/Dosing question

Buzz, you sure like to bounce! Do you have a trampoline? I don't think my mom would like that. FYI - We don't mess with toads, cuz they taste yucky. Love Blackie

Sarah, have you picked up Cassie yet? What's the word. I've been sending prayers and good thoughts.
 
Re: 6/15 Buzz AMPS: 274/Dosing question

Cassie is having surgery this morning. Her BW came back with normal amylase and lipase values. These were what was elevated last week and caused the vet to dx p'titis. However, her white blood cell count is now 4 times higher than it was last week (5 days ago). The vet believes that she either has a foreign body or that a tumor has ruptured. Both of these scenarios (according to her) would cause massively elevated WBC now but not last week (all extra WBC would have gone to the site of the infection so not present in the bloodstream to show up on last week's BW).

The vet said she was whining, barking, and pacing in her cage this morning and that there was a lot of vomit in there. She must just be throwing up acid at this point because it's been days since she's had any food. Poor girl. She gets so stressed out at the vet, let alone staying there overnight.

I am still finding it really hard to believe that a 12 year old dog ate something she shouldn't have, but I did put in my guess as a cat toy ball (it fits the size and shape of what was on the x-ray) if it's a foreign body. The vet will call when she knows something. If it's a tumor and it's inoperable, she said she could put Cassie to sleep right then, which really shocked me. I'm definitely not ready for that but hopefully it won't come down to that.

Thanks for all the thoughts and prayers. Keep 'em coming, please. :smile:
 
Re: 6/15 Buzz AMPS: 274/Dosing question

(((((Sarah)))))) You must be going crazy this morning. Sending many prayers & healing energies for Cassie. I hope they can get that cat toy out of there and that she's on her way to feeling better very soon.
 
Re: 6/15 Buzz AMPS: 274/Dosing question

hey Sarah!

I sent a note out, and I believe Libby :-D will be stopping by when she has a moment! so hang in there k?

All the best to Cassie this morning!
 
Re: 6/15 Buzz AMPS: 274/Dosing question

Hi Ronnie! Long time no see. :-D Thanks for stopping by. How is Looney Tunes doing?

No rush on Libby; I'll be here all day. Thanks for letting her know. And for the good thoughts for Cassie. :smile:
 
Re: 6/15 Buzz AMPS: 274/Dosing question

he doing good! Big partee day July 4th for his 6months! :-D hope you can make it!
 
Re: 6/15 Buzz AMPS: 274/Dosing question

Hi Sarah
Sending good healing vines for Cassie today.
I hope everything goes well for for her.
 
Re: 6/15 Buzz AMPS: 274/Dosing question

don't have any dosing advice for you .. but will be sending lots of positive thoughts that cassies surgery goes well and that it's something like a cat toy that can be removed ..
 
Re: 6/15 Buzz AMPS: 274/Dosing question

The vet just called and it's an inoperable tumor on her small intestine. She is waking her up now and I will be going in at 3:00 to say goodbye. Thank you all for the kind thoughts.
 
Re: 6/15 Buzz AMPS: 274/Dosing question

OMG Sarah! I am so sorry to hear this. Hang in there my friend! I will be thinking of you.
 
Re: 6/15 Buzz AMPS: 274/Dosing question

((((((Sarah))))))
Tears are running down my face. I know how much you love Cassie and she is your baby. I am so very sorry. My heart goes out to you. Please let me know if there is anything I can do.

Fly Free, Cassie. You will have many friends at the rainbow bridge.
 
Re: 6/15 Buzz AMPS: 274/Dosing question

((((((Sarah)))))) I am so sorry to hear this. My thoughts and prayers are with you today. (((((((Cassie)))))))
 
Re: 6/15 Buzz AMPS: 274/Dosing question

(((Sarah)))

I'm so sorry. Give Cassie a hug for us so she knows we're here for her and you. And give Buzz a very special hug. You'll need that furry face close by.
 
Re: 6/15 Buzz AMPS: 274/Dosing question

((((((((((((((((((((Sarah)))))))))))))))))) I'm so sorry!

*tears* :( be strong Sarah, cherish the moment. (((((hugs)))))
 
Re: 6/15 Buzz AMPS: 274/Dosing question

((Sarah))
Oh I am so sorry to hear about Cassie.
As Sienne said, say goodbye from all of us. We are all family.
Extra, extra hugs for you today.

Fly free sweet Cassie.
 
Re: 6/15 Buzz AMPS: 274/Dosing question

Sarah, I am so very sorry about Cassie, this is heartbreaking. I'm sending you many warm thoughts and hugs on this most sad day.
 
Re: 6/15 Buzz AMPS: 274/Dosing question

(((((Sarah))))) I am so very sorry. Run free Cassie. rb_icon
 
Re: 6/15 Buzz AMPS: 274/Dosing question

Sarah, my heartfelt sympathy on the loss of your Cassie. It leaves such a big void in our lives when they are gone.....they are such a presence in our life and my heart goes out to you.

A golden heart stopped beating
Two shining eyes at rest
God broke our hearts to prove to us
He only takes the best

three1.jpg

http://www.indigo.org/rainbowbridge_ver2.html
 
Re: 6/15 Buzz AMPS: 274/Dosing question

Sarah,
I am so sorry for you and your sweet Cassie. I have been there myself and know how hard it is. You gave her a wonderful life and she will always love you.
Sending cyber hugs, you will be in my thoughts.

(((((Sarah)))))
 
Re: 6/15 Buzz AMPS: 274/Dosing question

Sara Crying my eyes out right now!! --I AM SO SORRY----Your poor baby!! Remembering my dearest dog Pumpkin and what we went through.
But no fur baby should ever be in pain!!--Love never dies--You will be together
again someday--HUGS~!! & deepest sympathy!!! :cry: :cry: :cry:
 
Re: 6/15 Buzz AMPS: 274/Dosing question

Thank you all so much for your kind words and comforting thoughts. It means more than you know.

I have been fortunate enough to have never lost a pet before, so this is my first time experiencing all this. The vet and her staff were marvelous; so compassionate and kind. I had as much time as I needed to say goodbye to Cassie, and the actual procedure itself was quick. I know she isn't in pain anymore, and that helps.

It's all the little things that are difficult: expecting her to be at the door when I come home, seeing her toy basket, her food in the fridge. Time heals all wounds, but it's just hard right now.

Again, thank you all so much. I told Cassie that there were people she doesn't even know who loved her and wanted her to be happy. It helps to read all your posts and know that you guys truly get it. Thank you a million times.
 
Re: 6/15 Buzz AMPS: 274/Dosing question

{{{{{{{Sarah}}}}}}} I am so so sorry. How heartbreaking. I know from your stories & pictures what a wonderful dog & friend she has been over the years.

Fly free sweet Cassie rb_icon
 
Re: 6/15 Buzz AMPS: 274/Dosing question

((((((Sarah))))))
I am so very sorry.
May your memories of great times together comfort you.
Fly free Cassie kitty, fly free!
 
Re: 6/15 Buzz AMPS: 274/Dosing question

rb_icon ((((((((((((Sarah)))))))))))) We're all so sorry to hear about Cassie. You did the best for her and she knows it. She's waiting to play again at the bridge.
 
Re: 6/15 Buzz PMPS: 303

Oh Sarah I was so sorry to read your PM with this terrible news. It crossed my mind, because as animals get older it always crosses your mind, but I was hoping for something operable. You have my sympathy.
 
Sarah, just seeing this. I am so very, very sorry for the loss of your dear Cassie. I'm glad you got to be with her in those final moments and that she passed in the arms of her person who loved her so. She took your love with her to the Bridge.
I have never lost an animal before either Sarah and I dread the day.

I wish you peace for your soul and comfort for your aching heart.

Run free now Cassie. You have earned your wings dear one.
 
Sarah,
Just want you to know we're over here in Atlanta, saying a prayer for you to be strong, and for Cassie to be rewarded for her life lived well. wings_cat
 
Oh man. I'm very, very sorry. Sarah, please stay strong. It's so hard, but time has been beneficial to me. All I can say is that your Friday 5 has kept me alive during a very difficult time for me. I only wish I had something like that to offer you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top