6/14 Tiger PMPS 286,+2 252,+4 201

Kathy and tiger

Member Since 2021
Yesterday

Down to GREEN last night! YAY!
Riding a bit of a rollercoaster again but at least I have a possible reason--his ears.
I am cleaning with Vetoquinol AM and treating with Pyrethrins PM. I hope that is enough! Paws crossed!
Shifting earlier is working well so far:coffee::) Got AM chest love 2 mornings in a row now.

Hope and hugs to you all:cat:
 
Yay for loving and nice green overnight:D.

I somehow missed that Tiger is dealing with ear mites. Poor him and poor you:bighug:. I hope the ear drops and cleaning is working to get the situation under control and that he feels better soon. Sending lots of healing thoughts his way:bighug:.
 
Yay for loving and nice green overnight:D.

I somehow missed that Tiger is dealing with ear mites. Poor him and poor you:bighug:. I hope the ear drops and cleaning is working to get the situation under control and that he feels better soon. Sending lots of healing thoughts his way:bighug:.
Thank you Lyla!
He wouldn't let me clean his ears today! I hope he will let me put the pyrethrins in!
I feel bad for him and for Butters:blackeye: I hate having my ears messed with!
Hugs back to you all...:bighug:
 
Is anything else bothering him Kathy? I cannot understand this turn in his numbers! I would like to think it's the ear mites.
 
Is anything else bothering him Kathy? I cannot understand this turn in his numbers! I would like to think it's the ear mites.
His ears are really bothering him. I think it is that but I don't know what more I can do...
He hid from the cleaning today so I let that go. I am hoping I can get the Pyrethrins in tonight!
I guess I should hold the dose another day at least and see what happens?
So happy to have your advice:bighug:
 
You don't want to take him to a vet and get them looked at?

You've held this dose 6 cycles. I think you can take him up tomorrow morning.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I think a vet can give him a shot of ivermectin for the ear mites. Mine was reluctant to, though. She's not a fan of medicating senior cats if that can be avoided. When the Advantage/Advocate didn't work (the mange came back within 15 days or so), she asked me to wait and try Revolution and if that failed she would give the Ivermectin shot.

Because we had to wait 3 weeks between the Advantage and Revolution and the mange spread really badly all over Budge's body and she was scratching/licking herself bald! The Revolution worked like a charm, though. We kept her on it for 4 or 5 months.

Is Pyrethins safe for cats? Does it work for ear mites or only fleas? I don't know...am thinking aloud. Wondering if that is causing the higher BGs. Let me check with Dr. Google!
The reason they recommend a gap between spot-ons is because they are strong and there is only so much of those pesticides you want to subject a cat to at a time.
 
I think a vet can give him a shot of ivermectin for the ear mites. Mine was reluctant to, though. She's not a fan of medicating senior cats if that can be avoided. When the Advantage/Advocate didn't work (the mange came back within 15 days or so), she asked me to wait and try Revolution and if that failed she would give the Ivermectin shot.

Because we had to wait 3 weeks between the Advantage and Revolution and the mange spread really badly all over Budge's body and she was scratching/licking herself bald! The Revolution worked like a charm, though. We kept her on it for 4 or 5 months.

Is Pyrethins safe for cats? Does it work for ear mites or only fleas? I don't know...am thinking aloud. Wondering if that is causing the higher BGs. Let me check with Dr. Google!
The reason they recommend a gap between spot-ons is because they are strong and there is only so much of those pesticides you want to subject a cat to at a time.
Our vet uses Revolution for mites. It is one more week before it has been 3 weeks since I applied the Ad Multi. His numbers were already going up before I started the treatment.
 
Ok we were able to get the drops in his ears. Day 3 of the treatment while we wait for Revolution time! Wish I had just put the Revolution on him instead of the Advantage...arrrggghh:banghead:
 
Thank you Lyla!
He wouldn't let me clean his ears today! I hope he will let me put the pyrethrins in!
I feel bad for him and for Butters:blackeye: I hate having my ears messed with!
Hugs back to you all...:bighug:
:arghh: I empathize. I am taking Butters outside on her harness to clean her ears on the back porch. The ear cleaner smells very perfumey...so gross. She tolerated the cleaning two days ago, but today she acted like the world was ending so it turned into a battle. I hope Tiger's ears feel better soon and that he lets you do what you need to do:bighug:.
And happy 16th birthday to tiger and many, many more!:cat:
 
:arghh: I empathize. I am taking Butters outside on her harness to clean her ears on the back porch. The ear cleaner smells very perfumey...so gross. She tolerated the cleaning two days ago, but today she acted like the world was ending so it turned into a battle. I hope Tiger's ears feel better soon and that he lets you do what you need to do:bighug:.
And happy 16th birthday to tiger and many, many more!:cat:
POOR BUTTERS! LOVE AND KISSES LITTLE FURRY ONE! Please let your mommy clean 'em!
Tiger's brother Leo(GA) would go out on a harness whenever he got the chance. Tiger is a scardey cat and doesn't even want a collar!
He did let us put the med in last night and it seems to help right away. And he seems to feel better this morning-ears are less sensitive. Yay!
:bighug:Lyla
 
Back
Top