Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMBG=99+.5+119/+1.25=150 SHOT sk.5U+1.25=196
Is this all happening because she has been receiving more CONSISTENT doses that are more in her weight line - meaning, she had all those 1U doses and then the vet gave her a 1U when that was NOT what I had her on ...... now that she has been at either .5u or .25U is that making her get more used to the insulin and not making her as dramatic? I have noticed how much better she seems on the smaller doses and yesterday she was AMAZING!
It's a combination of factors. The consistency of the dosing. Being patient and holding a dose for a minimum of 6 cycles. Getting those tests to know what her numbers are. Basing changes on the nadir. Doing small increment dose changes in 0.25 units. Learning how she reacts to food, LC, MC, HC. It's all helped to give her pancreas time to heal. Stop the bouncing and the drama and you're halfway there I think.
People that home test are in the minority. Most people are happy to leave the decisions in their vets hands. We here on FDMB and the other diabetes cat forums certainly know the value of home testing. But it's a big hurdle to overcome. Even now, Tashie is two person job for the testing process. Such a little spitfire she is!
We have 4 basic premises 1. low carb canned food, wet if possible for so many reasons. 2. long lasting feline appropriate insulin like Lantus Levimr, Pzi, Prozinc 3. appropriate low starting dose of that insulin 4. home testing. These are the 4 legs upon which all our advice is based. If one component is missing, it makes it hard to get the cat regulated and into possible remission.
I had a new member on Health the other day. Her vet told her "I've been using Humulin for 20 years. It's always worked for my clients". Yes, but have you kept up with any of the new research in the last 10 years was my thought. And do you know that the new goal is remission not just regulation?
rhiannon and shadow said:
It's not been easy to dis the vet. I really like her but I have printed out info and tried to "educate" her (yeah, me!) and she kinda blows it off. She doesn't seem to believe in bounces and depot etc. So, going forward I will TELL her this is what it is in a nice way and if she gets pissy I guess I do vet shopping. The hard thing is that I know she THINKS she is doing the best for Tash but she isn't willing to READ what I give her - even the protocol from VETERINARY universities - like the one in Australia. But, she didn't even KNOW that you could dose less than 1U with Lantus! I remember what she first said "START LOW< GO SLOW" ...... DUH!
It's a really Great feeling when you get your cat otj and the vet sees it.....
They have to pause and realize that you got much better advice elsewhere....
So when Tashie goes OTJ, maybe your vet will realize there are alternatives to what she is telling her clients and may change. You always have the option to keep your vet for other stuff and deal with the diabetes on your own. Remember, vets are generalists and need to know about so many different diseases and conditions with all sorts of animals. It's tough to keep current. I'd rather see some education going on between our members and their vets. It's a great way to get more vets up to date on the newest information.
Wink is a foster kitty. I was trying to educate and fighting against the advice of 3 vets and the shelter staff to do what I thought was best for him. And darn it, I got him OTJ so quit *****ing at me that what I'm doing is wrong.