6/14 TASHIE +11 PMPS=407+2=319

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMPS = 99 HELP!!!!

Just did her AMPS and it is 99. What to do? I overslept and didn't get an early test. NEED ADVICE - thanks!
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMPS = 99 HELP!!!!

I can't give dosing/shooting advice, but do you have time to stall without feeding and test again in 15 - 20 min? That way you can see if Tashie is going up or down. Will you be home to monitor today, or do you have to leave?

You always have the option to shoot a lower dose, and leave out extra food, or more HC food. Or you can skip. There is a sticky about what to do with low preshots, I'll get the link and post it for you.

ETA: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMPS = 99 HELP!!!!

Hi Bernadette,

Per our conversation, stall (don't feed) and test at PM+12.5, DO NOT SHOOT. Then add that number to your subject line. You can take down the 911. Looking at her SS, she probably stayed low during the night... :-D
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMPS = 99 HELP!!!!

Okay, took off the "911" ......will test again in 6 minutes and post. I will NOT feed until instructed. I will stay with her until I feel comfortable about where she is going. Oh! Tash! You little princess - she likes to create drama on the message board - think she likes all the attention! Mummy doesn't!
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMPS = 99 HELP!!!!

You did the right thing by asking for help. What number are you comfortable shooting at???
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMPS = 99 HELP!!!!

And BTW, once you post her next BG, remove "Help" and replace it with "dosing advice ?" Then click on the ? icon :-D
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMPS=99+.5+119

just did a +.5 and she came up to 119. I am really not comfortable shooting less than maybe 175 or so? Never had this issue!
 
Re: DOSING ADVICE 6/14 TASHIE AMPS=99+.5+119

Stall some more....don't feed....don't shoot-->>>test again in 30 minutes :-D We need her up to a number you feel comfortable shooting, which you've posted is 175. I've sent a PM to Advisors, and I'm sure someone will be here soon.
 
Re: DOSING ADVICE 6/14 TASHIE AMPS=99+.5+119

Thanks Kat! You are such a pal! Wanna come for ~O) ~O) ~O)
 
Re: DOSING ADVICE 6/14 TASHIE AMPS=99+.5+119

Anything you want! Or, tea if you prefer! I am going to wait 45 minutes this time to give her a chance to come up a bit more - is that okay?
 
Re: DOSING ADVICE 6/14 TASHIE AMPS=99+.5+119

Just took a look at Tashie's SS; you had shot a 109 on 5/26, then she had great numbers. She MAY do this again, but that was when you had limited data...but being she's a Queen and a cat is a cat is a cat, she can go either way.

I'm sure you have your hypo kit stocked? Just in case..
 
Re: DOSING ADVICE 6/14 TASHIE AMPS=99+.5+119

So glad I "caught" you snooping the condo! Phew!
 
Re: DOSING ADVICE 6/14 TASHIE AMPS=99+.5+119

Do have "Hypo" kit on a silver tray all rady to go. Stocked with both MC HC and Karo - HATE to go there! .......Oh, and a glove in case she gets horris with me :evil:
 
Re: DOSING ADVICE 6/14 TASHIE AMPS=99+.5+119

BorisV said:
Anything you want! Or, tea if you prefer! I am going to wait 45 minutes this time to give her a chance to come up a bit more - is that okay?
I hate to be fussy, but do you have any Santa Domingo? It is better if you test again in 30 minutes (would be one hour late) than 45 because she may be up to a higher number (that you're comfortable shooting). Waiting 45 minutes makes her one hour, 15 minutes late. If you wait to shoot until then--after your 45 minute test--this means your next shot is also going to be later (8:30 instead of 7:15 p.m.) and it is best to get the insulin in her as soon as you can...but still...don't feed and don't shoot..
 
Re: DOSING ADVICE 6/14 TASHIE AMPS=99+.5+119

When I find a comfortable number do I still shoot the sk.5U or go to .25U?
 
Re: DOSING ADVICE 6/14 TASHIE AMPS=99+.5+119

"AMPS" would actually be "AMBG" since you didn't shoot yet...

Oh, geez--on the dosing amount--I don't know; someone will be on soon....wanna borrow my patience pants???
 
Re: DOSING ADVICE 6/14 TASHIE AMPS=99+.5+119

BorisV said:
When I find a comfortable number do I still shoot the sk.5U or go to .25U?
Well, I don't think so (and I am not telling you to lower her dose) because according to the Protocol, Boris hasn't had numbers to merit a reduction...
 
Re: DOSING ADVICE 6/14 TASHIE AMBG=99+.5+119

And according to the Protocol: you're only 2 cycles into the new dose and it needs time to settle, HOWEVER, if you get a number 50 or lower, than a reduction is warranted....but you hold the needle
 
Re: DOSING ADVICE 6/14 TASHIE AMBG=99+.5+119

SHE MAY have gone under 50 last night - who knows! It's not easy to "catch this cat"! I need someone to advise me here!
 
Re: DOSING ADVICE 6/14 TASHIE AMBG=99+.5+119

Her number is rising. No food influence. I would give her the skinny 0.5U.

I know Marje had you raise the dose only yesterday. I think if she were here, she would tell you to give the skinny 0.5U and get a +1 and +2.

How do you feel about doing that? You've surfed her enough with food to know how to do that.
 
Re: DOSING ADVICE 6/14 TASHIE AMBG=99+.5+119

And I'd say exactly the same thing as Marje. Shoot your current dose and get early tests.

Also, you'll need to adjust your SS so you have the actual number you shoot in the AMPS box. You can look at Gabby's SS for an example of how to stack numbers.
 
Re: DOSING ADVICE 6/14 TASHIE AMBG=99+.5+119

Haven't updated yet - will do that next. at 8:35 she was EXACTLY 150 so we shot the sk.5U dose. As I am having a nervous breakdown, please walk me through the mornings procedures :oops:
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMBG=99+.5+119/+1.25=150 SHOT sk.5U

Again, shot sk.5U @ 8:35. Fed LC food. Will test +1 and +2 from shot time. If she seems low - feed a little MC food? At +1 or +2 or both?
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMBG=99+.5+119/+1.25=150 SHOT sk.5U

Depends on the number for which food to feed. Remember, you don't need to pull out the MC until the numbers drop low, into the 40's. You pull out the MC food earlier only if it is a fast steep drop.

I expect she is going to bounce up more. That late shot acted like a dose reduction.

LC food first to keep her surfing.

Let's see the +1 first to see which direction to go with the food. OK?

Slow deep breathes, slow deep breathes. You can do this.

ETA: Ok, the SS changes, You need to stack the numbers in the AMPS column. 99 +12.5 119, +13 150
Your new PMPS is 12 hours from the AMPS now.
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMBG=99+.5+119/+1.25=150 SHOT sk.5U

Thanks Deb! I KNEW she would do this today - in fact I PM'd Marje last last night just to CHECK and be prepared - I am getting to know missy's habits - but now that I have said that, she will change them on me! Darn her for changing the shot time! Little beast! I know you can "catch it up" ...... how many minutes to you shave to get back to where you were? For example:

SHOT TIME WAS 7:15
ACTUAL SHOT TODAY WAS 8:35

So, do you shave 5 / 10 / 15 minutes at a time off? Am I making sense in my HYPER state? Don't know WHY I'm hyper as I knew she would do this! Yest the disbelief when I saw that "99" should have been captured on film! Well, maybe not as I wasn't looking too pretty at the time :-D
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMBG=99+.5+119/+1.25=150 SHOT sk.5U

You can move the shot time back down 15 minutes, each cycle. So that puts tonight's shot time at 8:20.

She sure does like to mess up the schedule.

Yeah, you probably don't actually want to post that picture of you in a state of shock at the 99 BG. Expected, but still a shock.

I'll try to pop back over at your +1 which should be about 9:35 am ? You are eastern time zone, same as me if I remember correctly. How many minutes from now?

Can you believe it? One month and you have learned so much here. You passed the lessons in shot giving and testing with flying colors. Now to get you use to shooting those low numbers. You are on your way to passing my crash course, college master's degree level in sugardancing with your kitty. Pass/ fail grading and everyone passes eventually. Especially with Marje's great lessons.
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMBG=99+.5+119/+1.25=150 SHOT sk.5U

I have a neighbor coming to help me at 9:45 and 10:45 EST. Now, you may wonder WHY? Because Tashie is a whippet and it takes two to do a little "capture" - if it's just me she races all over her room and it's a 20 minute game of cat & mouse and by then she is too worked up. The "two man" capture works because Tash knows she can't win and gives in. :cool:

When you say I can back down 15 minutes each cycle = EACH SHOT TIME - MORNING & NIGHT?

Gees, tell me I have not been the BIGGEST drama ever on this board! please! I hate even posting - I think there are people lurking the condo just to see "whats next" :lol: :lol: :lol:

Thanks for all of your support - if this EVER calms down, I hope to be able to help others - the beginning is a intense place to be! Off to brush my ~O) teeth and get ready for the next "episode"
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMBG=99+.5+119/+1.25=150 SHOT sk.5U

I'm watching what's next.... :lol:


And there have been a few more dramatic condos.... ;-)

php6SZt3P
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMBG=99+.5+119/+1.25=150 SHOT sk.5U

Maybe I should put her on Facebook like GRUMPY CAT! ......and we can make a movie - "Tashie the Drama Queen" Oh, we would have to share the billing with Miss Gracie too as they seem to be two peas in a pod! Girls!
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMBG=99+.5+119/+1.25=150 SHOT sk.5U

Gees, tell me I have not been the BIGGEST drama ever on this board! please! I hate even posting - I think there are people lurking the condo just to see "whats next" :lol: :lol: :lol:
Kat and Gobbles in early days. She'll tell you that. Sam and Ruben the cat who have gone OTJ and don't post much anymore. I'm sure there are others that come to mind as being at least as entertaining as Tashie.

Bern, we all worry so much about our cats. It's not people like you that worry me. It's the ones we give a bit of information to and then they stop posting. ohmygod_smile I spend most of my time over in Feline Health, trying to help out new members. It's a delicate balancing act to give them enough information, moral support and care and concern without coming off as a know it all and trying not to do any 'vet bashing' which I hate and at the same time not overwhelming them.

I'd rather have someone like you, any day. Though I have to tell you, at the beginning I thought you were one of the people that would not stick with us. So glad you did. Mainly, people read your condo's because, even with all the drama, you are so upbeat and funny and reading the daily Tashie adventures makes us smile! We so need those smiles sometimes.

Gotta go get my morning tea. Be back for +1 in a minute.
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMBG=99+.5+119/+1.25=150 SHOT sk.5U+1.25=196

Deb: I'll reply to your post in a few - for now at +1.25 she is 196. Fed a little more with fresh poached chicken & broth on LC food. I will do a +2. Then what? Phew!
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMBG=99+.5+119/+1.25=150 SHOT sk.5U+1.25=196

She's on the department store elevator, headed up to the evening gown section. Wants to look good for any photo shoots. ;-)

The +1 was more for your comfort level than anything else. Tash had a nice rise going and I wasn't expecting anything different at the +1. Expect a further bounce at the +2.

Maybe she'll let you go BTB this morning. That is, if the adrenaline from this morning wears off and you can rest. :o
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMBG=99+.5+119/+1.25=150 SHOT sk.5U+1.25=196

Okay. I took some breaths, brushed my teeth so I can ~O) them up again .... Is she at Sak's or Bergdorf's?

Is this all happening because she has been receiving more CONSISTENT doses that are more in her weight line - meaning, she had all those 1U doses and then the vet gave her a 1U when that was NOT what I had her on ...... now that she has been at either .5u or .25U is that making her get more used to the insulin and not making her as dramatic? I have noticed how much better she seems on the smaller doses and yesterday she was AMAZING!

Yes, you are right in your earlier post - I did almost ditch you guys - it was a huge decision. Do I listen to vet or do I listen to "crazy cat people" - that is not ME talking - it's the world that does not understand our love and compassion for our furry friends. It was when I took Tash for the testing at the vet when the vet gave her the 1U and Tash would not eat for them that Wendy (Wendy & Tiggy) said the word "Duh" ....... that just kicked me! The "duh" made so much sense. And, here is ANOTHER "duh" .....my vet told me on Monday to up the dose to .5U and stop playing around with .25U doses. She said dose her at that and DO NOT TEST FOR A WEEK and then bring Tash back down to see her .......... well, DUH! How will ONE test at who knows what time be beneficial to her dosing? So, if Tash was at a +2 at testing time PLUS had some vet stress she could be higher (JUST THEN) and the vet would tell me to increase to 1U - not KNOWING what happened this morning because I wouldn't have that data.

It's not been easy to dis the vet. I really like her but I have printed out info and tried to "educate" her (yeah, me!) and she kinda blows it off. She doesn't seem to believe in bounces and depot etc. So, going forward I will TELL her this is what it is in a nice way and if she gets pissy I guess I do vet shopping. The hard thing is that I know she THINKS she is doing the best for Tash but she isn't willing to READ what I give her - even the protocol from VETERINARY universities - like the one in Australia. But, she didn't even KNOW that you could dose less than 1U with Lantus! I remember what she first said "START LOW< GO SLOW" ...... DUH!

Another test in 25! Stay tuned!
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMBG=99+.5+119/+1.25=150 SHOT sk.5U+1.25=196

It's not been easy to dis the vet. I really like her but I have printed out info and tried to "educate" her (yeah, me!) and she kinda blows it off. She doesn't seem to believe in bounces and depot etc. So, going forward I will TELL her this is what it is in a nice way and if she gets pissy I guess I do vet shopping. The hard thing is that I know she THINKS she is doing the best for Tash but she isn't willing to READ what I give her - even the protocol from VETERINARY universities - like the one in Australia. But, she didn't even KNOW that you could dose less than 1U with Lantus! I remember what she first said "START LOW< GO SLOW" ...... DUH!


It's a really Great feeling when you get your cat otj and the vet sees it.....

They have to pause and realize that you got much better advice elsewhere....
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMBG=99+.5+119/+1.25=150 SHOT sk.5U+1.25=196

This is my hope - and then MAYBE she can help others using this method? The trouble is, I know a lot of people would not be willing to do this - it's a shame really.
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMBG=99+.5+119/+1.25=150 SHOT sk.5U+1.25=196

Is this all happening because she has been receiving more CONSISTENT doses that are more in her weight line - meaning, she had all those 1U doses and then the vet gave her a 1U when that was NOT what I had her on ...... now that she has been at either .5u or .25U is that making her get more used to the insulin and not making her as dramatic? I have noticed how much better she seems on the smaller doses and yesterday she was AMAZING!
It's a combination of factors. The consistency of the dosing. Being patient and holding a dose for a minimum of 6 cycles. Getting those tests to know what her numbers are. Basing changes on the nadir. Doing small increment dose changes in 0.25 units. Learning how she reacts to food, LC, MC, HC. It's all helped to give her pancreas time to heal. Stop the bouncing and the drama and you're halfway there I think.

People that home test are in the minority. Most people are happy to leave the decisions in their vets hands. We here on FDMB and the other diabetes cat forums certainly know the value of home testing. But it's a big hurdle to overcome. Even now, Tashie is two person job for the testing process. Such a little spitfire she is!

We have 4 basic premises 1. low carb canned food, wet if possible for so many reasons. 2. long lasting feline appropriate insulin like Lantus Levimr, Pzi, Prozinc 3. appropriate low starting dose of that insulin 4. home testing. These are the 4 legs upon which all our advice is based. If one component is missing, it makes it hard to get the cat regulated and into possible remission.

I had a new member on Health the other day. Her vet told her "I've been using Humulin for 20 years. It's always worked for my clients". Yes, but have you kept up with any of the new research in the last 10 years was my thought. And do you know that the new goal is remission not just regulation?

rhiannon and shadow said:
It's not been easy to dis the vet. I really like her but I have printed out info and tried to "educate" her (yeah, me!) and she kinda blows it off. She doesn't seem to believe in bounces and depot etc. So, going forward I will TELL her this is what it is in a nice way and if she gets pissy I guess I do vet shopping. The hard thing is that I know she THINKS she is doing the best for Tash but she isn't willing to READ what I give her - even the protocol from VETERINARY universities - like the one in Australia. But, she didn't even KNOW that you could dose less than 1U with Lantus! I remember what she first said "START LOW< GO SLOW" ...... DUH!

It's a really Great feeling when you get your cat otj and the vet sees it.....

They have to pause and realize that you got much better advice elsewhere....
So when Tashie goes OTJ, maybe your vet will realize there are alternatives to what she is telling her clients and may change. You always have the option to keep your vet for other stuff and deal with the diabetes on your own. Remember, vets are generalists and need to know about so many different diseases and conditions with all sorts of animals. It's tough to keep current. I'd rather see some education going on between our members and their vets. It's a great way to get more vets up to date on the newest information.

Wink is a foster kitty. I was trying to educate and fighting against the advice of 3 vets and the shelter staff to do what I thought was best for him. And darn it, I got him OTJ so quit *****ing at me that what I'm doing is wrong.
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMBG=99+.5+119/+1.25=150SHOTsk.5U+1.25=196+2

+2 = 126 - she is going down. NEED TO KNOW WHAT IS NEXT AS I HAVE TO LINE UP MY "HELP"
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMBG=99+.5+119/+1.25=150SHOTsk.5U+1.25=196+2

should I give a little MC food? or save that in case I need it later?
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMBG=99+.5+119/+1.25=150SHOTsk.5U+1.25=196+2

Save the MC for later. We want to surf the numbers. Maybe 1t of LC to keep her surfing.

Would you update your subject line to show AMPS so people know you gave a shot.

Also, change the SS. The 99, 119 and 150 all go in the AMPS column, stacked. 196 goes in +1. 126 goes in +2,

ETA: I'd definitely get a +4. Not sure about a +3. Let me go look at the SS.

ETA: I think the +4 for now. And depending on that number, 1t LC to keep her surfing in those pretty greens I expect her to drop to. A test at +6 again.
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMPS=150/+2=126

Deb, I have changed the subject line - have I done it right? Also changed the SS - do you want a COLOR at the AMPS - what color? I am planning a +3 in case she decides to dive. If she has come down more than 30 from 126 I plan on a little MC food to try to slow her down. If she is only like 10-20 less, I will continue with the LC but not too much in case I *need* the MC for later - don't want her to decline food if she is too full. Is that okay?
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMPS=150/+2=126

Subject line looks good.

Your plan sounds good. You know Tashie better than I do so getting that +3 if you think she might dive sounds good.

Color the AMPS blue please. 2 of the 3 numbers were blue. I think I would tend to go with the color of the higher number.
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMPS=150/+2=126

Bern....what a great job you've done this morning! I'm glad you've had help and you are doing super. I had a feeling that Little Miss would play with you today :-D

I can be around if you need help. Deb has done a great job so I don't want to step on toes....she's just usually busy in Health.
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMPS=150/+2=126

Great job with Tashie!!

Should you decide to go vet shopping, there are a few useful questions in my signature link, Vet Interview Topics.

An option with your vet is to discuss with her or write a letter on the possibility of leaving her practice if she is unwilling to get up to date on contemporary feline diabetes by reading the AAHA guidelines and Dr Rand's writings on feline diabetes. Sometimes, money talks. Um ... Only do this if you have lined up an alternate vet; some vets will 'fire' the client if they get too peeved.
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMPS=150/+2=126/+3=91

Just saw the 91. It's not a low number for +3 but I know if she's at 60 in another hour, you will get worried. But 60 is still a great number to be at +4.

Do you have a food that is maybe 8 or 10%? I'd probably try to give her two tsps of that and get a +4.

What do you think? You ok with that knowing she still might be at 60 in an hour?
 
Re: 6/14 TASHIE AMPS=150/+2=126/+3=91

Okay then! =3= 91. Locked her in a room and gave just a TEASPOON of MC with a bit of fresh turkey on top.

Now ..... I know you guys like the DRAMA of my posts - so, opened a NEW bottle of testing strips (where did 50 go in 6 days???) .....have a box of 20 AND a box of 50 in the stash. Opened the 20 pack - so I get this F-3 message ........ all the others have been F-4. Had to stop, read the book and it says the "F's" need to be the same "code" as on the bottle - okay, so the bottle says F-# - so I think we are okay, prick, test - ERROR!

So, just opened the 50 pack, got the usual F-4 and was able to get a reading - like she NEEDED 3 extra pokes today! Really!

I swear! Is there ANYTHING else that could happen to me! So, next test is? .......
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top