6/13 Klinger; 6/15 we have GREEN

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/13 Klinger

Thanks for the reminder, Vicky. I just miss those sporatic blues and greens. (pity party alert)

Commenting on our previous post:
It's funny because before Klinger was dx, I somehow stumbled onto Dr. Lisa's site and we tried making our own raw. We bought one of those hand crank meat grinders, and jelly jars (I don't know what we were thinking on that one) to freeze the food in...we ran around to all of the health food stores looking for supplements. Klinger wouldn't touch the stuff. :lol:
Maybe we'll try it again...I'm also looking into the Rad Cat raw.
 
Re: 6/13 Klinger

Marcy & Klinger said:
Thanks for the reminder, Vicky. I just miss those sporatic blues and greens. (pity party alert)

Commenting on our previous post:
It's funny because before Klinger was dx, I somehow stumbled onto Dr. Lisa's site and we tried making our own raw. We bought one of those hand crank meat grinders, and jelly jars (I don't know what we were thinking on that one) to freeze the food in...we ran around to all of the health food stores looking for supplements. Klinger wouldn't touch the stuff. :lol:
Maybe we'll try it again...I'm also looking into the Rad Cat raw.

Hi Marcy! I remember we talked about the raw food a while back. I am glad you are considering it again. It would be a healthy way for Klinger to gradually replace those fat cells on his body (sorry Klinger!) with lean muscle mass. Since we last talked about this I found a good raw feeding site that offers a lot of alternative ways to feed raw. Not sure if you have seen this (be sure to check out both pages):

http://feline-nutrition.org/nutrition/easy-raw-feeding-for-the-busy-person

Besides losing the weight for general health reasons, it could also help a lot with his insulin resistance.

You might also check out Bennie's story on Dr. Lisa's website where she helped Bennie lose over 10 pounds safely - it took a while but she found the key eventually was the raw diet:

http://www.catinfo.org/?link=felineobesity#Mistake_Made_with_Bennie
 
Re: 6/13 Klinger

Thanks, Pamela. I have seen the website before. Now that I review it again, I think the recipe on the 2nd page is what we made - it also references the jelly jars - which I don't recommend using. DH said he would be for making our own again. :-D I thought I would have to talk him into it.

I don't know if it's the fll_moon , the dose has settled, or DH shooting last night, but we had a very pretty AMPS of 195. I tested twice - 1st time I got 165, then the 195. Going with 195.

Have a great day!!
 
Re: 6/13 Klinger

Yep, full moon right now. It's so funny how they react to that.

One of the women who used to post here used that recipe and froze batches in plastic containers like the Ziploc or Glad ones. I would wonder about freezer burn since those are not air tight. Maybe zipper freezer bags double up? They would be flatish so you could stack them in the freezer.
 
Re: 6/13 Klinger

Our errands took a lot longer than what I thought...
I think we have everything that we need, but of course I forgot ziplocs (Thanks, Shelia)! I bought this little mini muffin tray that I hope to use to parfreeze them in and then move them to the ziplocs.

Anyway, I was hoping to be back in time for a +6, but I'll have to settle for a
+7 78 :mrgreen:

ETA:
+8 69
+9 74
I like the full moon (right now) dancing_cat
 
Re: 6/13 Klinger

Marcy & Klinger said:
Our errands took a lot longer than what I thought...
I think we have everything that we need, but of course I forgot ziplocs (Thanks, Shelia)! I bought this little mini muffin tray that I hope to use to parfreeze them in and then move them to the ziplocs.

Anyway, I was hoping to be back in time for a +6, but I'll have to settle for a
+7 78 :mrgreen:

ETA:
+8 69
+9 74
I like the full moon (right now) dancing_cat

Nice numbers today! I guess the moon thing is individual to the cat just like it is to humans. I don't notice much difference in Tigger's numbers during that phase but I know a lot of people do. It sure looks like something different is going on with Klinger today!

So glad to hear you are going to give the raw food another try!

When I get a shipment from Feline's Pride (they come in 2.5 pound containers), I let it thaw slightly then scoop 3 oz into those little 4oz Glad containers.

http://www.amazon.com/GladWare-Roun...ount/dp/B000EGBLBM/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

I think it was Phoebe that said she used the ziploc baggies for just the reason Sheila said - easy to stack in the freezer. Only thing is you can't reuse the baggies like the Glad containers.

Please keep us posted on the raw food making and Klinger's reaction to it. :)
 
Re: 6/13 Klinger; 6/15 we have GREEN PMPS 88!

Thanks for the link, Pamela.

PMPS 88! I'm inclined to shoot, but maybe that's not the right thing to do...anyone on?
 
Re: 6/13 Klinger; 6/15 we have GREEN PMPS 88!

Marcy & Klinger said:
Thanks for the link, Pamela.

PMPS 88! I'm inclined to shoot, but maybe that's not the right thing to do...anyone on?

Oh Marcy, if it were Tigger (who like Klinger is on a higher dose than most here) I would reduce the dose and that usually works out well for us with no repercussions (but we don't usually have double digits at shot time either), but you know what people say, shoot low to stay low.

You have shot double digits before so it is up to you. But if you have to give him MC food or HC food to keep him from going too low then I don't understand the logic behind it. Some cats will just surf though while others will bounce and the next day you are dealing with the bounce from shooting the low number as well as a reaction from the MC/HC food. On the other hand, maybe you will end up with a high number because you reduced the dose.

You could always stall and see where he is at in another 30 minutes and if still low wait another 30 mins and see where you are at then. If there is a significant rise then you are probably safe. I know you know what you are doing though! Keep us posted.
 
Thanks for responding, Pamela. I ended up shooting a slightly reduced dose...probably 1.85. Hopefully he won't go low, but will keep him on a steady surf. I'm home, I have plenty of test strips, med and hi carb food on hand, and the support of all of you wonderful people. :-D

The other thing that we changed last night was the location of the shot. We are now trying the arm pit area. Maybe it's working a little too well. :o
 
Marcy & Klinger said:
Thanks for responding, Pamela. I ended up shooting a slightly reduced dose...probably 1.85. Hopefully he won't go low, but will keep him on a steady surf. I'm home, I have plenty of test strips, med and hi carb food on hand, and the support of all of you wonderful people. :-D

The other thing that we changed last night was the location of the shot. We are now trying the arm pit area. Maybe it's working a little too well. :o

The armpit! Wow, I haven't heard of that one before! That is amazing he will let you do that. What size needle are you using?

ETA put that in your SS. ;)
 
We use the 5/16th relion syringes. He doesn't feel it at all actually...well, I'll say this, when I shoot on the flank he meows like he's annoyed. When I shoot in the arm pit, he's quiet like he's still waiting for me to shoot. Another board member told me about it. It's also listed on one of the links in the PZI sticky. Kind of a general diagram of where to shoot insulin (not specific to pzi).
So, it's were all that extra skin is - I hear it's easier to do a fur shot, so you have to be careful. I don't have that problem with Klinger right now...his extra skin isn't that thin. :roll:
 
Marcy & Klinger said:
We use the 5/16th relion syringes. He doesn't feel it at all actually...well, I'll say this, when I shoot on the flank he meows like he's annoyed. When I shoot in the arm pit, he's quiet like he's still waiting for me to shoot. Another board member told me about it. It's also listed on one of the links in the PZI sticky. Kind of a general diagram of where to shoot insulin (not specific to pzi).
So, it's were all that extra skin is - I hear it's easier to do a fur shot, so you have to be careful. I don't have that problem with Klinger right now...his extra skin isn't that thin. :roll:

Are you talking about this diagram? If so, it doesn't say anything about the armpit. This is the only one I have ever seen. Maybe I am not looking at the right one:

http://www.bd.com/us/diabetes/page.aspx?cat=7001&id=7374

Nice +1. :)
 
Yes, that's it. Thanks for posting it. So, it would technically be the "side of chest" on the diagram, but it looks like just outside of the arm pit to me. It may look different on a sleeker kitty.
 
Marcy & Klinger said:
Yes, that's it. Thanks for posting it. So, it would technically be the "side of chest" on the diagram, but it looks like just outside of the arm pit to me. It may look different on a sleeker kitty.

Okay, I get it now. LOL I was picturing you lifting up Klinger's arm and shooting 'in' his armpit!

Absorption is a big part of giving shots and I have often heard people saying they get much better reaction from the areas on that diagram other than the scruff. The scruff would have more muscle so I think a 1/2" needle works better here as long as you don't go 'through' the tent. I have never had that problem with Tigger (who will only tolerate the scruff) and we use 1/2" needles. I get a pretty big 'chunk' of skin when I tent him. Bill shoots lower in the tent when he shoots him and oftentimes gets a better reaction from the shot.

People often use the shorter needles to shoot in the flank or side of the belly or the chest like you are doing. So where were you shooting before?
 
We were shooting on the flank towards his hips. We would rotate sides and different spots along that line.
When we started last year, we shot in the scruff, but he developed a little lump there.
I've tried to talk DH into shooting both AM and PM because Klinger gets better numbers in the PM (that's when DH shoots), but he doesn't want to wake up that early. :smile: I can't blame him.

Maybe this new location will work for both of us.
 
That is interesting about the different locations. I have not tried anything other than a wide area around the scruff. I think the reason why the scruff absorbs more slowly/less well is that there is little room under the skin before you are at muscle or ligaments (depending on how close to the spine you are), while the other areas are shooting into "empty" space.

Marcy was the lump you discovered from lev or PZI? I keep feeling Jeddie's back on the right side and it sometimes seems like a mound - so a larger area than a lump and not that high. It's hard ot tell if it is a lump.mound or not. Anyway, I vary the shots on that side and shoot lower, but he feels those more.

Wow, Klinger is dropping tonight!
 
Hope Klinger is still doing well and not dropping for you. We want surfing numbers!

As for lumps at injection sites. Gandalf has what feels like an abscessed area on his right side where I do probably 75% of his injections. Our acu vet thought it may be just scar tissue, but said to avoid it. She tried to aspirate fluid from it and could not, which is what lead her to conclude it's scar tissue. I don't know if this is unique to Lev or unique to him. It does not bother him and does not feel hot or painful for him.

hey that BD site for Feline diabetes is pretty good! Low carb diet - yea!! But they still mention Vetsulin insulin and although they mention Lantus they do not mention Levemir for cats. I think I will email them soon and see if they can update their site.
 
Well, I just got done making Dr. Lisa's recipe for raw chicken food. That took some time....and I still have to clean up. Anyone want to volunteer for kitchen duty? please...

I measured out 2 oz of chicken ff and 3/4oz of the raw chicken...Klinger's eating it right now...shhh don't tell him. I'm going to do a gradual change to raw this time.

I kept a little bit out for tonight (in the fridge) and the rest is in the freezer.

If he likes this, I'm definitely going to invest in an electric grinder. The hand grinder worked, but it was way too messy and awkward.

As for his numbers, he's bouncing or the skinny 2u's wasn't enough this morning.
AMPS 156
+1 297
+4 372
Hope everyone's having a great day!
 
Looks like a bounce. Too soon to tell if the dose change is evening things out. He hasn't seen greens for a while and may have dropped lower than 70 last night.

Did you grind bones with that hand grinder? I wouldn't even attempt that without an electric grinder.
 
I measured out 2 oz of chicken ff and 3/4oz of the raw chicken...Klinger's eating it right now...shhh don't tell him. I'm going to do a gradual change to raw this time.

Good for Klinger - he knows in his heart that he is a carnivore! That is how I had to do it with Tigger too in the beginning, then eventually just the raw food. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top