6/13 Hershey's PMPS(357) +7(76) +9(76) +10(91)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/13 Hershey's PMPS(357) +7(76) +8(57) +9(76)

Okay you two, time for me to feed my boys breakfast and take a beauty nap....
Libby - I don't want your shooting schedule to be messed up in a couple of hours, but I hope Doug gets to see a green before then!
Jill, thanks for staying up and for the education, as always!
I'll catch up later...
Carl
 
Re: 6/13 Hershey's PMPS(357) +7(76) +8(57) +9(76)

WOW!!
Welcome to LEv Hershey!
Guess he is loving the Lev!
Hopefully this will keep up for Hershey, and I hope you all are able to get a little sleep!
 
Goodnight, Carl, and thanks for checking on us!

Thanks for the official welcome, Denise :-D I do hope this is an indication of greener or at least bluer days to come!

+10 (91)

I'm thinking that's a rise, which means a 2-hour nap until shot time??
 
libby, leave some food out for hershey and grab whatever sleep you can.
you had a baptism by fire tonight and handled it like a pro!

post for help if you need it about 15 minutes before amps time. i'm sure there will be people around to help. if you don't get an immediate response here, cross-post in the lantus TR forum. put "help" in the subject line. someone's almost always around to help...
 
THANKS a bunch, Jill!!! Hope you get some well-deserved sleep!!

Almost hate to go to sleep knowing he won't be green when I retest, but can't prevent it, even if I stay up with him. Be back in just under 2 hours...zzzzzzzzzzzzz
 
Are you awake yet? :mrgreen:

Jill was just reliving old times, I think. She stayed up with THIS Libby often back in the day.

I was thinking your amps is due soon so I wanted to see if you need help shooting. As long as he is still on the rise then you should be fine, but if he is not then please post. I'm going to jump in the shower then check back. Nice night last night!
 
Great job last night! It looks like Hershey's numbers are on the rise this morning. I'd think about getting a +2 so you have a sense of where the numbers may be heading.
 
Re: 6/13 Hershey's PMPS(357) +7(76) +9(76) +10(91) +12(224)

Ok, Doug is finally chiming in; +12 224 and those greens were nice to see. I have since went ahead with the same .5 @ 8:00am. Libby is taking another 30 minutes of beatuy rest and is quite excited to be going to the vet and try to "educate" in what we are doing :-D Looking at this cycle and based on the ya'lls conversations and what I have read, I think we will stay with this dose for another couple of cycles and see how things go. I guess with being on the Prozinc for such a time, I fully expected to see one of those crazy high numbers :o But of course, Hershey is Hershey and we are sitting her in the yellows. Thanks so much for being here with Libby, she was much more worried than I was with the switch :?
 
Hi Libby, Doug, Jessica, Hershey & Oreo...

WOW! What a night!!!

Sorry I wasn't able to join the party. Still having computer problems - couldn't get a strong enough signal, although I think the problem is this temporary laptop... mine has been "shipped off" for 2 weeks to see if they can figure out why it's crashed so much. So when I leave work, I'm "off the grid" - at least for now!

Hershey had some GREAT numbers! And Libby, as always, handled it like the pro she is at maneuvering the greens! (Wow! Those are PRETTY!!! :mrgreen: )Only time I've seen greens like that was when Hershey came to my house!!! :lol: It's interesting to see what a drop he got from this first dose! WOW - hoping that Lev will continue to give him such amazing numbers!

Thanks to all who stayed up and kept her company - it's truly a godsend to have the assistance!

Hoping for another good cycle!
 
I'm not sure if anyone has sent along this journal article. If Libby is going to "educate" your vet, this article may help since it's from one of the leading veterinary journals and provides the details of the TR protocol and how it was developed and tested.
 

Attachments

Hello Hershey!

Looks like we missed the start-up party last night. Glad to see Hershey did really well on Lev for his first cycle, despite all the high jinx that they got into overnight.

The greens are absolutely LOVELY and no high bounce as of yet!

We do need a slogan... "Come to the lev-side, sugar kitties welcome!" or something like that :lol: .
 
Doug again(left Libby at home to get much needed sleep), just back from the vet. Even after our conversation, which was unusually nice, she still "could not get her head around" the fact that we manage Hershey on such low doses. Anyway, she kept a copy of our conversion chart and told me to keep doing what we were doing if it was regulating him. Checked at +2 from AMPS and he is at 318? Is that normal for it to continue to rise a little after the shot? He also ate like he had not eaten all night(ha! we know that was not the case :lol: ). Maybe food spike? Just keeping our wonderful supporters updated.
 
More like rebound from that extended low.

While he probably needed the .5u htis morning to deal with the rebound, this whole thing is what I expected on .5u and why I suggested .25u. It just easier to work up to a best dose than down to it.

Beau hit the 90s (from 300s) on his first .5u of lev. By the 3rd shot, at .5u, he was in the 30s at +4 (off mid 100s). I then spent 6 weeks bouncing between .4u and .5u (with a lot of people telling me to raise above .5u) before I figured out they were both too much and lowered him to .3u. His numbers improved right away and from there he was off insulin in a month.

Which reminds me, Libby said she thought Hersey's window of opportunity had closed because of reducing PZ too soon (in your first thread). If she means to go OTJ, that is not necessarily true. Beau was on vetsulin 2-1/2 years and lev 3 months and has been OTJ now for over 2-1/2 years. It can happen.
 
Yes, very nice job. :smile: It looks like the bounce has started, which is to be expected. It will clear out on its own. It could also be just that the Lev has not started working yet. Many of us notice a late onset with Levemir, sometimes not until +4 or so. I’m glad you held the dose.

Many people who switch from PZI or Prozinc have a hard time adjusting to the “dose by nadir” thing. It has been a long, long time since my switch, and I remember struggling with that idea. Lucy actually adjusted to the new insulin much more easily than I did. ;-) I will start by saying that I did not use Prozinc, I used the old PZI and I know they are different. With PZI, you get used to the idea that shooting the same dose will give you approximately the same amount of drop (I’m talking in very general terms, if only it was really that easy!). Shoot 1u at 200 and it takes you to 100, then if you shoot the same 1u at 100 you’re in trouble… That is why sliding scales can be used successfully with PZI in some cases. In fact, when I joined FDMB, a lot of the people on the PZI group here were using a modified version of Dr. Hodgkin’s tight regulation protocol. That was before Prozinc came out, and I know protocols have changed quite a bit since then.

With Lantus and Levemir, the thought is more like “if I shoot this dose it will take him to around 60” whether the preshot is 200 or 300 or 70. He won’t hit that 60 in every cycle, most likely, but at some point during a 2-3 day period he probably will if you keep the dose consistent. If he ends up going lower than you want, then you reduce the dose to bring the range up a bit. Of course that is a HUGE generalization and is not always that simple, but it gives a visual of the mind shift that has to occur. With Lucy, I was actually much more comfortable shooting full dose into 100 than I was shooting full dose into pink. It seemed like she plummeted so much from pink that it scared me a little, until I realized that she wasn’t going to keep dropping forever, she was just in a hurry to get back to her favorite green range. The more spreadsheets I study, the more I see that most cats seem to follow that pattern.

And Sheila is right, my Lucy went OTJ after 17 months on insulin (7 months on PZI, 10 months on Lantus). Did it take longer to get her OTJ because it took me so long to get serious and bring her numbers down? Maybe, I'll never know for sure. But we have seen cats go OTJ after 2-3 years. It can happen!

So far, so good!
 
Yikes I missed all the action.

I can attest that Libby is one cool cucumber when it comes to handling low numbers.

Good job everyone.
 
Aw, thanks, guys. Everything I learned about low numbers came from a lot of hand holders in PZI-Land!

Thanks, again, for staying up with me last night Jill! JILL - I saw you had posted on someone's thread at 6:00 this morning after being up with me for hours...You're a better man than I am, Charlie Brown...I was stupid tired and went OUT shortly after my last post.

And, thanks to Carl for checking on us!

Lev people may not realize that the above posts are Doug's FIRST since we joined the forum in Jan. Atta-boy! He posted AND has now started a new thread

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top