Yes, very nice job. :smile: It looks like the bounce has started, which is to be expected. It will clear out on its own. It could also be just that the Lev has not started working yet. Many of us notice a late onset with Levemir, sometimes not until +4 or so. I’m glad you held the dose.
Many people who switch from PZI or Prozinc have a hard time adjusting to the “dose by nadir” thing. It has been a long, long time since my switch, and I remember struggling with that idea. Lucy actually adjusted to the new insulin much more easily than I did. ;-) I will start by saying that I did not use Prozinc, I used the old PZI and I know they are different. With PZI, you get used to the idea that shooting the same dose will give you approximately the same amount of drop (I’m talking in very general terms, if only it was really that easy!). Shoot 1u at 200 and it takes you to 100, then if you shoot the same 1u at 100 you’re in trouble… That is why sliding scales can be used successfully with PZI in some cases. In fact, when I joined FDMB, a lot of the people on the PZI group here were using a modified version of Dr. Hodgkin’s tight regulation protocol. That was before Prozinc came out, and I know protocols have changed quite a bit since then.
With Lantus and Levemir, the thought is more like “if I shoot this dose it will take him to around 60” whether the preshot is 200 or 300 or 70. He won’t hit that 60 in every cycle, most likely, but at some point during a 2-3 day period he probably will if you keep the dose consistent. If he ends up going lower than you want, then you reduce the dose to bring the range up a bit. Of course that is a HUGE generalization and is not always that simple, but it gives a visual of the mind shift that has to occur. With Lucy, I was actually much more comfortable shooting full dose into 100 than I was shooting full dose into pink. It seemed like she plummeted so much from pink that it scared me a little, until I realized that she wasn’t going to keep dropping forever, she was just in a hurry to get back to her favorite green range. The more spreadsheets I study, the more I see that most cats seem to follow that pattern.
And Sheila is right, my Lucy went OTJ after 17 months on insulin (7 months on PZI, 10 months on Lantus). Did it take longer to get her OTJ because it took me so long to get serious and bring her numbers down? Maybe, I'll never know for sure. But we have seen cats go OTJ after 2-3 years. It can happen!
So far, so good!