6/12 Moe: Starting cabergoline 6/13; side effects

Erin and Moe (GA)

Member Since 2019
Hey everyone. After a mix-up at the compounding pharmacy, Moe's cabergoline was delivered just now (2:00 pm). It was supposed to be here yesterday and I had originally planned for his first dose to be this morning, but alas.... It will be tomorrow.

How quickly does caber start working (assuming it works for Moe)? Can anyone tell me what side effects to look for, and when I might see them? I've seen loss of appetite and diarrhea as issues here on the board. How soon might I see those happening?

Moe's dose is 70 micrograms per day. He's currently getting 8 units of Lantus and bouncing around between the high pinks .and upper half of the greens. Can I expect a hypo incident?

I'm a bit nervous to start this, but anything to help out my sweet boy.
 
Moe got his first dose of caber this morning at 5:45 a.m. First side effect at 10:45 a.m.: diarrhea. Poor baby - he looks so surprised. Starting Proviable tonight with dinner to see if that helps.
 
Good luck with the cabergoline. It is a good option and I hope it is effective on Moe.
Thanks, Jeff. Something is happening ...I skipped his shot this morning (normally 8 units) because his AMPS BG was 96, and his PMPS was 119.
 
I think I’m going to start using cabergoline for my boy so thank you for all this feedback And information. I worry too about side effects.

Do you have any info on dosing for cabergoline ?

I hope the very best for Moe!!
 
I think I’m going to start using cabergoline for my boy so thank you for all this feedback And information. I worry too about side effects.

Do you have any info on dosing for cabergoline ?

I hope the very best for Moe!!
I *think* dosing is 10 micrograms per kilo. Moe weighs about 15.5 lbs, so about 7.0 kilos. His pills are 70 micrograms, made by a compounding pharmacy. Others have had the cabergoline compounded into a flavored liquid but pills are easier for Moe.
 
Back
Top