6/12/22 -Kaz - Vacation Schedule

Status
Not open for further replies.

Claire and Kaz

Member Since 2022
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Suzanne & Darcy
@tiffmaxee

Just as an FYI there may be a problem with the meals left over night.
The +3 meal he is used to getting as I am still awake and then I usually test again around 11pm which is +5 then leave food in timer for +6 which again he is used to. I don't feed him at +9 and once he's eaten the +6 he comes in and sleeps with me. He likes the A/C which will be kept on while I am away plus I then sleep with a noise machine.
So last night I was really tired so I went to bed around 10.30pm. Now I put into the timer the +6 and the +9.
I happened to wake up at 12.30am and saw Kaz passed out next to me so I got up and checked to see if he had eaten he had not. Called him and he ate it immediately.
Now I woke up at 5am this morning which is 30-45 minutes before the next test and then meal. I heard him coming out of the MeowSpace so went to look he had just eaten the +9. He did still eat his breakfast but it worries me that if he doesn't eat the +9 and maybe +6 until much later than usual as he sleeps heavily at night is she going to have a problem getting him to eat.
I have told her that she should not be giving insulin if he's not eating prior to the shots????

It's one thing if the Libre button is working and she's getting a reading but if there is no reading there is going to be an issue.
 
No the round ones are way too big for the MeowSpace.
Hoping that if she only leaves a small/medium spoon food it wont make a difference as the pre meals are full meals.

Not really a lot I can do I have three timers that just and I mean just fit into the space and still allow for Kaz in. Maybe when I am not there and when the noise machine is not going he will hear it.
He's pretty funny when I am working from home he will go sleep in the bedroom with the A/C but when the timer opens he comes like a bat out of hell as he is still worried that Sam is going to get it. He doesn't sleep as heavily during the day though.

Have to see how it goes over the next few days.


Bye the way things went ok with the girl last night. Kaz was a little apprehensive but with me sitting in front of him he did allow her to give him the shot.
He comes when I call him don't think he will for her so she may have to chase him for a couple days till he gets used to her. Next I have to block off all the hiding places where he can get into but where you can't easily get him out.

Going back to bed for an hour or 2 (Saturday and Sunday are the only days I get to catch up on a little sleep).
 
Have not been able to find anything.
Not worried about the day time as Kaz is already used to two meals and the third meal will be small anyway and the lowest carb.

The evening he is already used to two of the meals he gets the first directly from me and the second from the timer. Again the third meal is small and least carbs.
I was concerned about him eating the food at 5am when he gets up and then won't eat an hour later but I think again if its the last lowest carb meal it should be ok.
Poor Kaz is getting so fat he's going to have to go on a diet when I get back.

I also think that he is going to be extremely hungry as the meal times are going to be changing whilst I am gone. He's used to eating between 5.30am and 6am its going to be an hour later so I think he will be looking for food. He's also a pretty smart animal he knows that if the lid is down there is something in there for him.

My work phone is also turned on internationally for the month which means that Boston calls are still local even though I am in the UK. 4am will be feed time 3 which is 9am in the UK so I was going to call for the first three or four days and call into the answering machine which is next to the MeowSpace. I did this when he first started using the box he knows my voice and the word dinner and come. So hopefully by doing this for a few days and he will learn.
 
My work phone is also turned on internationally for the month which means that Boston calls are still local even though I am in the UK. 4am will be feed time 3 which is 9am in the UK so I was going to call for the first three or four days and call into the answering machine which is next to the MeowSpace. I did this when he first started using the box he knows my voice and the word dinner and come. So hopefully by doing this for a few days and he will learn.
That’s a good idea! That should wake him up.
My timed feeder had an option to put a message on it so I recorded myself calling Sheba and saying”dinner” and it played each time it opened. In the end Sheba only had to hear the first click of it turning and she would go racing to it and was often eating by the time my recorded message came on!
 
I'm thinking about you and Kaz, Claire. I'm hoping that everything is coming together for your trip and with Youtang and Laurie.
I think so Kaz is still very unsure. He always comes when I call him but last night he was having none of it. I have to try and seal off all the areas that he can hide in where it's difficult to get him out.
 
I feel like you have prepared so well for this trip that it will be okay. So is 2 units going to be the “vacation dose?”
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Suzanne & Darcy
@tiffmaxee
@Bandit's Mom

Could you please take a look at the following and let me know if I have missed anything.
There will be another document regarding the actual food which is already covering my counter top in set piles in relation to the feeding chart.

Thanks sorry its a bit long but want to cover everything.

upload_2022-6-13_16-38-48.png

upload_2022-6-13_16-39-10.png


upload_2022-6-13_16-39-34.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-6-13_16-37-31.png
    upload_2022-6-13_16-37-31.png
    201.9 KB · Views: 156
  • upload_2022-6-13_16-38-48.png
    upload_2022-6-13_16-38-48.png
    26.9 KB · Views: 332
  • upload_2022-6-13_16-39-10.png
    upload_2022-6-13_16-39-10.png
    35.8 KB · Views: 323
  • upload_2022-6-13_16-39-34.png
    upload_2022-6-13_16-39-34.png
    41.2 KB · Views: 326
Hi Claire,
You are very well organised. Thank you for testing daily for ketones …..very helpful.
Just a few comments on what you have written.
  • A tablespoon of honey is a lot…might make him sick. I would start off with a small teaspoon, and see if that is enough. More can always be added. If he is still unresponsive tell her to keep rubbing honey onto the gums until either help arrives or he is taken to the vet. Don’t stop giving treatment until a vet takes over.
  • If he is unresponsive, or his a BG is very low, she would need to stay with him until his BGs rise enough to be safe and make sure he is eating….and maybe she should ring Laurie if this happens so that she can come around and take over if the girl has to leave.
  • If his preshots are under 150, the dose will need to be reduced.
  • The bounce (short answer) is actually due to the cat dumping glycogen and stored glucose into his system “to save himself” but I guess you don’t need to tell her that.
  • I think you need to add somewhere that if he is looking lethargic, not eating, vomiting she needs to let Laurie know as this could mean he has ketones or the start of DKA again and probably needs to see a vet. . Do you have a plan for her to take him to the vet if he gets sick?
See what the others say. They might have more thoughts
 
1. Up there where it says do not give insulin wait until the evening shot... should it say... wait until the next shot (could be this happens in the evening.
2. In that first section on if Kaz is below 50... should you say when to re-scan the Libre. You say feed higher than 15% but don't say when to re-scan the Libre to check for response to the HC food.
 
Exactly what Bron was saying is what I am trying to say. She should know how frequently to re-scan the Libre if he's really low and how long to wait to check again after he get food and how long to stay with him, etc... in other words, she needs to know how to handle a hypo. Separate document for her?
 
Hi Claire,
You are very well organised. Thank you for testing daily for ketones …..very helpful.
Just a few comments on what you have written.
  • A tablespoon of honey is a lot…might make him sick. I would start off with a small teaspoon, and see if that is enough. More can always be added. If he is still unresponsive tell her to keep rubbing honey onto the gums until either help arrives or he is taken to the vet. Don’t stop giving treatment until a vet takes over.
  • If he is unresponsive, or his a BG is very low, she would need to stay with him until his BGs rise enough to be safe and make sure he is eating….and maybe she should ring Laurie if this happens so that she can come around and take over if the girl has to leave.
  • If his preshots are under 150, the dose will need to be reduced.
  • The bounce (short answer) is actually due to the cat dumping glycogen and stored glucose into his system “to save himself” but I guess you don’t need to tell her that.
  • I think you need to add somewhere that if he is looking lethargic, not eating, vomiting she needs to let Laurie know as this could mean he has ketones or the start of DKA again and probably needs to see a vet. . Do you have a plan for her to take him to the vet if he gets sick?
See what the others say. They might have more thoughts
She does not have a car so I would be relying on Laurie here.
Kaz is actually unwell tonight. He threw up everywhere and now doesn't really want to eat.
Pretty sure its a combination of a fur ball and the girl feeding her way too many treats as I saw them in the sick.
I wanted Kaz to get used to her so I had her stay in the house while I went to the basement. When I got back she said she got him to stay by feeding him treats.

Not sure how much more he will eat tonight. Waiting another 15 minutes then plan on testing his Ketones if there is enough blood otherwise an hour from now I'll try again.
Thanks for the critique I will update based on your comments.
 
1. Up there where it says do not give insulin wait until the evening shot... should it say... wait until the next shot (could be this happens in the evening.
2. In that first section on if Kaz is below 50... should you say when to re-scan the Libre. You say feed higher than 15% but don't say when to re-scan the Libre to check for response to the HC food.
Thanks will update
 
Exactly what Bron was saying is what I am trying to say. She should know how frequently to re-scan the Libre if he's really low and how long to wait to check again after he get food and how long to stay with him, etc... in other words, she needs to know how to handle a hypo. Separate document for her?

If there is a problem she id going to have to text Laurie. I'm gradually finding more out about her and for the summer she is a teaching assistant at BU and has to be there by a certain time each day so don't think she could be too late getting to work but I am sure Laurie will come over.
 
I would print out the how to handle a hypo instructions for her.
I did but most of those say about testing staying long period time and she will never do this. Need to hope Laurie can come over.
Praying I keep the insulin low enough and carbs high enough that this does not happen.

I did show it to her though and I will leave it with the food. Laurie will read it think she may but not sure she could handle it. This is a young girl that has no experience with diabetic cats. I know how long it took me to get to where I am and I am not that far down the road.
This is not an easy thing to deal with its pretty damn hard and life changing.
 
Very organized. I would change do not give insulin if under 50 until the next shot as it could be low at pmps as well as amps. Am I making sense?

I assumed that she would realize that at the next shot if the BG was not back up that she could not shoot but I will explain it.

I printed this out and sent it home with her and told her to come back with questions on Wednesday (not coming tomorrow)

Alright need to go and see if Kaz will let me test him.
 
So I have incorporated all the suggestions above but I do think she's going to get pretty freaked out over the below 50 section and the unresponsive cat. (rescanned that section below. You tell me if someone asked you to look after their cat and you had NO experience with diabetes would this not scare you a bit?)

I have had a conversation with her. I told her that she needed to know the worst case scenario.

I showed her Kaz's chart and explained the three times where Kaz had gone into the lime green.
In all three cases I did rub honey on his gums however I can tell you if I had not known that his BG was that low I would never have known as he was acting normally even playing with his brother on one occasion. All three cases he ate the food I gave him without a problem

So I have told her I think she understands just don't want to completely freak her out.

Also for the 100-150 is cutting to 1 unit enough or should it be 0.5 units???? Never really know what the rule is here. I freak out and go too low but now I'm thinking 1 may be too high.

upload_2022-6-13_21-49-1.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-6-13_21-49-1.png
    upload_2022-6-13_21-49-1.png
    290 KB · Views: 330
I would give Laurie the name, address, and phone number of the ER you would want her to take Kaz to in an emergency as well as a signed document authorizing treatment. You might also discuss a plan with Laurie for paying the ER. Many clinics will take a credit card over the phone, so it might be as simple as “call me and I’ll give them my cc info,” although a backup plan never hurts.
 
I would give Laurie the name, address, and phone number of the ER you would want her to take Kaz to in an emergency as well as a signed document authorizing treatment. You might also discuss a plan with Laurie for paying the ER. Many clinics will take a credit card over the phone, so it might be as simple as “call me and I’ll give them my cc info,” although a backup plan never hurts.
Thanks JL
I’ve known Laurie for nearly 13 years she already has full authority on both my cats. She can take any measure necessary with one exception she can not have either of my cats put to sleep without my consent. My vet already has her name on file so that is covered.
Laurie would cover the cost till I got back but if it ever was too much she knows she can call me and get my credit card info.
Thanks for bringing this up as it is a very important thing to have in place.
 
I thought it said if his pre-shots are between 100-150 to cut the insulin dose in half? Am I understanding this correctly, @Claire and Kaz ?
I was thinking moving forward if the preshot was under 150 the dose should be reduced so that the preshots were not that low. I didn’t mean the preshot that was currently happening.
Maybe I didn’t make myself clear.
 
I’m wondering if Claire should add if the BG is between 100-150 give 1 unit and leave 15% carb food in the +3 snack.
because the first half of that cycle will be influenced by the previous cycles depot.
I'm happy to do this. I want to keep the numbers up while I'm away. Not looking for remission over the next three weeks simply safety and to me that means high BG numbers.
 
Claire I think it would be a good idea if you started a conversation with @tiffmaxee, @Suzanne & Darcy, @Bandit's Mom, and @Bron and Sheba (GA) and anyone else you want to put in, so that if you needed us quickly while you are away, you can post on the PM as that will go through to our emails and we will get it quicker than a tag if we are not online. . Then we will know to look online. We can’t give you dosing advice on the PM but if you just say ‘please look at my thread’, we will know to go online. Between the four of us, that should cover the 24 hour period. You can also tag others on the thread if you want to.
Hopefully none of this will be needed…and I’m sure it won’t ….but better to have a plan in place.
 
Claire I think it would be a good idea if you started a conversation with @tiffmaxee, @Suzanne & Darcy, @Bandit's Mom, and @Bron and Sheba (GA) and anyone else you want to put in, so that if you needed us quickly while you are away, you can post on the PM as that will go through to our emails and we will get it quicker than a tag if we are not online. . Then we will know to look online. We can’t give you dosing advice on the PM but if you just say ‘please look at my thread’, we will know to go online. Between the four of us, that should cover the 24 hour period. You can also tag others on the thread if you want to.
Hopefully none of this will be needed…and I’m sure it won’t ….but better to have a plan in place.

OK I can do that. Thought tagging also sent an immediate email.
Hoping she will join the site too.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-6-13_22-55-52.png
    upload_2022-6-13_22-55-52.png
    8.8 KB · Views: 136
Claire, what time did you say that she will be there to do the shots? 7:30 am and pm? Is that right?
So she actually asked for 6.45am/6.45pm which is only 30 mins different yo now so not huge change for him.

My gut says she will arrive around 6.30am/pm but may not sheet till 7am. I have stressed the importance of staying to the same time each day. She says 6.45 so lets see.
I have asked her to send me the BG reading along with the time so I can record it.
 
How is Kaz today?
Tagging doesn’t send me an email unless you opt in and I get too many tags to do that.
I think it would be a good idea to start a new thread before you go so that you have it up and running for when you are away.
Getting close now to when you go, and so far, things seem to be going to plan. Thanks for testing the ketones each day.
 
How is Kaz today?
Tagging doesn’t send me an email unless you opt in and I get too many tags to do that.
I think it would be a good idea to start a new thread before you go so that you have it up and running for when you are away.
Getting close now to when you go, and so far, things seem to be going to plan. Thanks for testing the ketones each day.
So I know this sounds like a stupid question but the only way I have figured out how to send a private message in the in box is to click on the persons name and say start conversation. It will not allow mt to do the @ and select member. Is there a different way to select additional people?
Guess I can start 5 plus seperate conversations and try cutting all the names into one message.
 
So I know this sounds like a stupid question but the only way I have figured out how to send a private message in the in box is to click on the persons name and say start conversation. It will not allow mt to do the @ and select member. Is there a different way to select additional people?
Guess I can start 5 plus seperate conversations and try cutting all the names into one message.
In the top right, on the menu bar, click on your username, so where it says "Claire and Kaz" on the dark blue menu bar. In the dropdown you should see a link that says "Conversations". Go there and you should see a blue button on that page that says "Start a New Conversation". Click there and you will get a form to start a new conversation and the first box is for "Participants", it says "Separate names with a comma. You may invite up to 10 member(s)." That's where you can add the multiple names.
 
In the top right, on the menu bar, click on your username, so where it says "Claire and Kaz" on the dark blue menu bar. In the dropdown you should see a link that says "Conversations". Go there and you should see a blue button on that page that says "Start a New Conversation". Click there and you will get a form to start a new conversation and the first box is for "Participants", it says "Separate names with a comma. You may invite up to 10 member(s)." That's where you can add the multiple names.
Yes but can't add names I have resorted to opening multiple tabs and cutting and pasting the names over. Takes longer but it works.
 
Have a good trip Claire. We will be here if you need us :bighug:
Thanks

If it rains it pours. Had the button put on yesterday and come late yesterday found out the Angel sent us home with the scanner and plug and NO cable. This was when I originally got the device when he was hospitalized. Never needed to charge the device till yesterday so never knew the cable was missing and its not a normal size cable so now I am scrambling to try and find a cable. I have email into Angel but it was over a month ago that Kaz was hospitalized so they are never going to find it. Guess I have about 8-9 hours to figure this out.
 
Yes but can't add names I have resorted to opening multiple tabs and cutting and pasting the names over. Takes longer but it works.
As far as I could tell, you successfully created the conversation. I received mine. I hope you can work out the cable issue. I thought those things were scanned with a phone with an app on it? I've never used one though so ...
 
I have added the new blood panels to Kaz's SS as a new tab and received the following from the hospital.



Dr Brum wanted me to let you know that Kaz’s results look fine. The glucose (see attached) is 279 which he’s fine with he said.
 
I have added the new blood panels to Kaz's SS as a new tab and received the following from the hospital.



Dr Brum wanted me to let you know that Kaz’s results look fine. The glucose (see attached) is 279 which he’s fine with he said.
Amazing he thinks 279 is good. I'm fine with it to... for while you are away, of course.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top