6/1, Tux, AMPS 286 working a theory

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie & Tux

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119601
Looking at Tux's numbers, I am thinking he is pretty carb sensitive. With 2% or lower carbs, fed hourly, I can keep him surfing green. Giving him 4% yesterday seemed to have shot his numbers for the evening. So I tested this theory and only fed 2% this morning and his numbers dropped. I know this is not normal protocol to drop dose again, but ECID and Tux might not need 1.75?? When I first got the diagnosis, we immediately switched to low carb (he was already eating canned w/dry as free choice) and started home testing. In 6 weeks, I was able to bring him from 425 (first testing at the vet) to the mid 200's. We started him on insulin because my vet said she had never heard of diabetes being controlled by diet alone. :roll: As you can see from his SS, we started at 2 units and have worked our way down to 1.75 with an increase at one point because it turns out that Nature's Variety makes him spike even though it is listed as low carb...(not sure what's up with that, I just know what the numbers tell me). I'm holding at 1.75 units for now, I'm just curious as to what some of you more experienced folks think.
To me, it looks like I could lower his dose and keep feeding the lower carb (maybe add a tiny bit of 4%) without so much bouncing of numbers.
 
Hi Julie - I have a slightly different take on what happened yesterday. Tux went low, his liver complained and he bounced into the evening, then got rid of his bounce today. Another thing, we try to limit the amount of food/carbs fed after nadir, because that is when the insulin is waning. Think of a car drifting to a stop sign. If you tap on the brakes with those carbs, you'll stop before you want to. You fed him 2% carbs in the first part of his cycle but switched to 4% in the last half yesterday. You might want to try 4% in the first hour or two of the cycle to slow any fast drops, then switch to 2% to keep him surfing like you did and something 2% or less, ideally zero carbs, after nadir. A lot of people here feed no food after +6.

Good plan to hold the 1.75U dose. I don't see anything that say's it's too much insulin. Did you see Libby's post on bouncing today?

Regarding the Nature's Variety, people have found that some foods or proteins spike their kitties BG's even if they are listed as low carb. One of those ECID things. :roll:
 
Not only did Tux dip into lower numbers than his liver is used to during yesterday's AM cycle, he also dropped almost 100 points again yesterday morning in those first 2 hours....between those two things, I'm not surprised he bounced on you again.

He was possibly starting to clear it this morning, but again, dropped 187 points in 3 hours, which looks like has him bouncing back up again.

I think I'd still try feeding him a higher carb food at Pre-shot (and maybe even mini meals of higher carb at PS,+1 and +2) and see if you can slow down those drops some, and then lighten up on the carbs later on in the cycle.

It's worth a try to see if you can smooth out some of those big, quick drops
 
if your goal is to have him go OTJ, you want to get him to long stretches of time with his numbers between 50-120. that's when the pancreas is able to heal. in my experience, when people reduce before the cat has earned it, either by dipping under 50 or by staying under 120 for a week on the same dose, it ends up being a set-back. Then it can end up taking a while to get the momentum going again. it just seems like most need one of those 2 methods in order to hold the reduction and stay in good numbers.

Tux is making progress - the past 3 days he's bounced overnight and gone right back into greens the next day. that's awesome.

the protocol is tried and proven - i'd just try to stay the course with it.

Some cats are more bouncy on zero or really low carb foods and they actually smooth out with slightly more carbs. Not high carbs, but some. Most people here feed in the 4-6% range, i think. It's a smart idea to keep track of what you're feeding and look for patterns like you are doing to figure out exactly what Tux does with his carbs. Good plan.
 
Thank you all! This is why I posted it here so I could get a different more experienced perspective! I personally enjoy research so it's nice to be able to bounce ideas off of folks.
Because his AMPS were in the 200's, I went ahead with the normal 2% feeding at a reduced amount and then fed again at the +1 and +2. I have plenty of food now of different percentages (0, 2, 4, 5, & 8) of Ziwi Peak, Weruva Cats in the Kitchen, and Wellness Grain Free and Wellness Core. Tomorrow I'll try feeding the 4% at AMPS and go lower from based on his numbers and then not feed after the +6.

Thanks for all the advice and support! Hope the new week is great for you all :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top