6/1 Max PMPS 135 +4 45 eventually 54 dose help pls

Status
Not open for further replies.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15975


I didn't get responses to yesterday's condo before I left work (time difference), and then didn't have internet at home last night, but we had another drop. And this time it took forever for the HC FF to kick in...usually HC lifts his numbers straight away within half an hour this time it took one and half hours before he was in the 50's. See spreadsheet

I'm too nervous holding the dose if he drops to 40's. I'm not around during the day. This morning I dosed a fat zero (daylight over the zero line). Should i keep the fat zero and see what happens or should I try a skinny 0.25? (Really hard to do these doses when they become so small)? I'm not 100% confortable that he is ready to go OTJ, his preshots are in the 130 range (only sometimes in the 120 range) and I just wish they were a little lower but with a safe nadir....what am I doing wrong??

Helene asked about his food..His feeding arrangements are as follows. I feed before I shoot, then leave for work, and leave out plently food, when I have been home to see how they eat it, it is usually finished two hours before the evening shot, of course since I'm not home I can't totally control this....if it's a flavour they like, it might be finished sooner or a little later but I do always come home to clean bowls. Then in the evening I feed and shoot at about 5:30pm, then I feed again before going to bed at about 10pm, so that there is food overnight, again same applies, 90% of the time I have clean bowls in the morning again depending.
 
Re: 6/2 Max PMPS 135 +4 45 eventually 54 dose help pls

No help with the dosing question but thought I'd give you a bump in hopes that someone can =)
 
Re: 6/2 Max PMPS 135 +4 45 eventually 54 dose help pls

Max definitely earned that reduction - numbers under 50 earn a dose reduction. I think shooting a fat 0 or thereabout is fine. The pre-shot values are often the last to come down. You're not doing anything wrong!

What I would suggest, at least in the PM, is getting a test in no later than +2. I suspect if you are able to catch a drop earlier, it may be easier to bring the numbers up. Are you using 18% carb? Also, please don't neglect getting at least a before bed test every night.
 
Re: 6/2 Max PMPS 135 +4 45 eventually 54 dose help pls

I agree with Sienne that you are not doing anything wrong.
Sometimes people 'pre-load' the food or feed bigger meals and less snacks. I was just asking in case Max would benefit from a mini-meal-type regime. That's all.

Congratulations on the dosecrease!
 
Re: 6/2 Max PMPS 135 +4 45 eventually 54 dose help pls

Thanks for the replies....I will do a +2 PM from now on as well, before bed is usually the +4 or the +5 on some days. Okay so we at a fat zero! I think he secretly likes freaking me out. Let's see where this dose goes.

Also, yes my HC is 18% carb, it's the FF Marinated tuna with gravy, and I think there is one more gravy 18% carb that i can get over here that I have also used before, can't remember the FF flavour name now.

I know he is is feeling a million times better than before, his whole attitute and kitty playfulness is back, he purrs like a streamtrain, and I really noticed yesterday that his coat has improved drastically, so i know it's all working for the better.

Another question, sorry if it sounds a little dumb, but are there seasonal variations to blood glucose readings i.e are numbers on the higher/lower side in summer vs winter. Just thought about it, as we are in the Southern hemisphere and from last night the temps really dropped and we are in full blown winter today. I really battled warming his ears up this morning and all the kitties were trying to edge in on the best heater spots last night.
 
Re: 6/2 Max PMPS 135 +4 45 eventually 54 dose help pls

Congrats on the dosecrease! I don't think that the colder weather skews bg test results, but it might be a factor in keeping the ear warm enough to do the test!! I have a diabetic friend who routinely tests her bg at lunchtime while out on x-country ski trips in very cold weather. She has never mentioned that the numbers might be different in cold weather.
Good luck with your new dose.

Ella
 
Re: 6/2 Max PMPS 135 +4 45 eventually 54 dose help pls

Maybe at PM +2 when you test you can give a little mini meal so you will see him eating it and it will help with any drop that would be starting....so test at +2 as Sienne said.

He is doing so great!!!
With a lot of kitties, the AMPS seem to be the last number to be high, ya know? It would be ideal if you could see to it that there was no food available after like pm+9 or +10 so that the AMPS was not a food influenced number.
If you leave food out when you go to bed, you are not sure exactly when it is eaten....if he is eating at +10 or +11 right before AMPS, the AMPS could be higher from the food.....but in all, his numbers are wonderful! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/2 Max PMPS 135 +4 45 eventually 54 dose help pls

Experimenting with food may be helpful. One thing to try is to leave some food at around +8 or +9. As the pancreas starts working more and more on it's own, it will act to lower BG when you feed. By feeding a snack later in the cycle, you may see a lowering of the PS numbers. It will help if you have an automated feeder.
 
Re: 6/2 Max PMPS 135 +4 45 eventually 54 dose help pls

I'm glad to hear that Max is doing well, and yay for fat 0 dose! :mrgreen: I don't know about the ps numbers being high--I think all the other suggestions about feeding may have covered it. I did, and still, only feed my Max twice a day. My boys are hoovers and usually eat it all within 2 hrs of it being put down, and he did alright with it. Some kitties need more frequent feeding tho, maybe your Max is one of them. But you said he free-feeds well, so maybe it's just a matter of making sure the fuds are taken away 2 hrs before the test. I'm sure you'll get it figure out! :-D
 
Re: 6/2 Max PMPS 135 +4 45 eventually 54 dose help pls

Congrats on the decrease!! :RAHCAT

There could still be another dose decrease or two before a real 0. Look at the the dose pictorial in the "New to Lantus" sticky. There is a link to another guide, but i couldn't get it to work this morning. Syringes vary by brand and even in a box. At this point i started drawing the dose, counting out drops as I squeezed them out of the syringe, just to make sure i was always drawing the same amount. Try it and see how many drops you have left, you may be able to go one more step down. The protocol calls for a dose of 1 drop before OTJ trial. That may or may not be what you are calling "fat zero." Good luck! :thumbup
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top