6/1 doodles pmps 374 +2 275

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/1 doodles amps 98 +1 78 +2 36 +2.25 51 +2.5 75 +3 65

k...just got back I'm good to go on the baby food. No, I haven't added any more karo or kibbles, it was just at the +2 36.
the baby food I got was chik/gravy, ham/gravy and chik/broth....hope that works when I need it.

I will check her BG at +4.

heidi and doodles >"<
 
Re: 6/1 doodles amps 98 +1 78 +2 36 +2.25 51 +2.5 75

Awesome just put down some food for her and she is smackin away!!!
Yeah...she's a trooper for sure.

heidi and doodles
 
Re: 6/1 doodles amps 98 +1 78 +2 36 +2.25 51 +2.5 75

When Jez gets low - I have to go to her and hand feed her...she will usually eat then.
She's looking good now...
Debie 7 Jez
 
Re: 6/1 doodles amps 98 +1 78 +2 36 +2.25 51 +2.5 75

Good to know she just ate about 1/2 can of Friskies tuna and egg :razz: she's got to have a full belly now ;-)

I have about 15 mins to her +4 test nailbite_smile hoping she's all good.

heidi and doodles
 
Re: 6/1 doodles amps 98 +1 78 +2 36 +2.25 51 +2.5 75 +3 65 +4 66

Update...+4 66 Not sure if the food has had a chance to kick in...she ate 1/2 a can!!! Hoping her eating will keep up and she will continue to ride the wave!
Now she's cleaning and probably gonna relax from me :roll:
heidi and doodles >"<
 
Re: 6/1 doodles amps 98 +1 78 +2 36 +2.25 51 +2.5 75 +3 65 +4 66

i'm at school (aka, shouldn't be on FDMB) but I wanted to quickly chime in and say that eating right after shot is not necessary on lantus unless your cat has a super late nadir OR super early nadir.

The bonus of using an insulin like lantus or lev, is supposedly the gentle cycle. We can get them to eat if we need to (treats and tuna and parmesan cheese to the rescue), but eating right at shot time is typically not necessary. (just FYI).

does anyone else remember reading this or hearing it from somewhere? is it in the stickies? darn stickies. so chock full of info. i haven't read them in awhile.
 
Re: 6/1 doodles amps 98 +1 78 +2 36 +2.25 51 +2.5 75 +3 65 +4 66

thanks for the tips...I was just a little worried because it had been so long since she had anything to eat, but will remember that next time.

I was going to say, I think her nadir is late +8 just from looking at her ss and all the testing yesterday which is really a good thing I did :smile:
which is why I'm a little nervous for her later BG's.

so glad you all are checking in :-D it's just nice to know you're there...moral support is awesome!

heidi and doodles >"<

oh...she's back to sleeping in her old spots, so it freaks me out when I can't find her ohmygod_smile :-D :-D
 
Re: 6/1 doodles amps 98 +2.5 75 +3 65 +4 66 +5 84

wow, how great is this :-D just took her +5 84 awesome, and that's after a big meal, I just gave her a snack of more tuna and egg and she's munchin away cat_pet_icon
I thought I might give her a break for a couple of +'s since her number is good and she most likely will nadir around +8 I think :?

happy daze :shock:

heidi and doodles >"<

I'm on ebay bidding on strips!!! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 6/1 doodles amps 98 +2 36 +2.5 75 +3 65 +4 66 +5 84

congrats heidi....your first tidal wave and you did great! don't be surprised or dissapointed if you get a bounce, i do believe doodles is well on her way. glad she's eatting...all is well in the world again :lol:
 
Re: 6/1 doodles amps 98 +2 36 +2.5 75 +3 65 +4 66 +5 84

ok...wasn't excpecting that number goodness...could this be the bounce from the kibbles this am? I mean yeah she still in the blue whoo hoo.

I just woke up in a panic thinking I slept through her +8 :lol: :lol: oooo another nap would be great :-D heck a few more hours and its night time :shock:

will post later

heidi and doodles >"<
 
Re: 6/1 doodles amps 98 +3 65 +4 66 +5 84 +8 189

Now that you're no longer in panic mode and I'm home and have the time to chime in...

Please, ditch the kibble. It will not be particularly helpful when you have a low number. It takes too long to kick in and you'll be kicking yourself the next day. The only time that kibble is worth having on hand is if Doodles is having a legit hypoglycemic event. Then, you will be giving lots of HC and the duration of kibble can be helpful. For low numbers, not so much.

Please pick up HC wet food.
Fancy Feast grilled are in the 18% carb range; marinated are in the 15% range. The gravy in the FF acts quickly to bump up BG and is out of the system quickly. Gravy will be your friend. This is the primary tool we use to steer low numbers. In a pinch, you can add Karo to LC food but having HC wet on hand makes life much simpler.

I haven't a clue about baby food varieties with gravy. We don't have carb counts on the stuff.

Cyn noted that you don't need to feed as quickly with Lantus or Lev as with shorter acting insulin. The onset of Lantus is typically around +2. This will generally give you a longer window for your cat to get some food on board. However, ECID and every cycle can be different.
 
Re: 6/1 doodles amps 98 +3 65 +4 66 +5 84 +8 189

dido what Sienne said!

Gravy and test strips are your best friends!
I usually mark my cans with a sharpie pen so I don't use them accidentally.
 
Re: 6/1 doodles amps 98 +3 65 +4 66 +5 84 +8 189

ok...did get out and got some baby food...didn't need to try that yet phew...but will pick up the gravy. I know she love's that!

Just did a +10 she's at 264...could this be the kibble bounce and kickin my self in the ass next day thing?

thanks for chiming in :-D

heidi and doodles >"<

she's been eating pretty good every two hours...oh...BIG QUESTION ~ do I use the same dose? she is due for a shot in +2?
 
Re: 6/1 doodles amps 98 +4 66 +5 84 +8 189 +10 264 DOSE ADVISE?

i know that you earn a dose decrease when you hit 50 bg so i would think you are going to decrease, wait for those that know this stuff but i think it's down slowly by .25. could be wrong.
as far as your +10, it's both heidi. it's a bounce you would see when doodle's goes to low and liver likely jumps in for protection. and it's the kibble. but that was not a big mistake. you used what you had and it was IMHO the right thing to do at that time.
of course between a drop of karo and 15 kibbles we would expect to see a 300 pmps.
she'll settle down tho' in a day or two.
 
Re: 6/1 doodles amps 98 +4 66 +5 84 +8 189 +10 264 DOSE ADVISE?

wow, this condo was quite a read today. :mrgreen: Nice shooting this morning and good job handling the curve. Others have already gone over the food thing with you. Tomorrow please go out and buy some high carb wet food. You'll find cycles like this one sooooo much easier to manage, plus everyone else will find it easier to help you.

For tonight, Doodles has earned a dose reduction! Congratulations. New dose is 1 unit. If the bounce is really high, some people like to give the old dose one more time to help shoot the bounce down quicker, then reduce in the morning. That part is up to you.
 
Re: 6/1 doodles amps 98 +4 66 +5 84 +8 189 +10 264 DOSE ADVISE?

i'd say do the 1u just so you can get some much needed sleep tonight without worry
 
Re: 6/1 doodles pmps 374

ok...we went for the lower dose...will watch her like a hawk @-) :shock:

she had a great dinner... cat_pet_icon

I'm trying to feed her and give myself a two hr window to check her BG...I had not done that before :sad: or at least consistent, it seems she was constantly eating. Now that I know I can shoot
without really having to have fed her first is great :smile:

I just now shot then fed and she's doing great. Should have seen daddy bean's eyes when he picked up strips for me :o :lol: I just thought what he didn't know :lol:
Will get a +2 on her...

thanks for all the support, help, and advise...please note THE WET FOOD IS HANDLED :-D :lol: :-D I am good to go...
I'm thinking it will be another long night for mama bean ohmygod_smile

heidi and doodles
 
Re: 6/1 doodles pmps 374

Heidi I think you can stop now....I mean if it were me, I'd feel safe now. You need to take care of YOU and get a good nights sleep and leave poor doodles ears alone (or what's left of them LOL)
Really, have a glass of wine, talk to DH, congragulate yourself on a job well done and let it go for the night..... ;-)
btw, really proud of you!
 
Re: 6/1 doodles pmps 374

Thanks :-D,

I know I just don't want to miss anything like a 36 :shock: I thought I would do just a couple more, just did a +2 275. So she's coming down :-D

She's such the trooper and everyone has been so awesome...let's see how see will do...except I do have bean things to do tomorrow :-| , but Craig will be home to watch and feed
for me.

heidi and doodles >"<
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top