58 BG at +10

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie W

Member Since 2020
Hi. I was testing Pepper's BG and got a 62, retested right away to make sure it was right and got 58. Panicked and went to feed and grabbed MC food and syrup. Retested quick and he was still at 58. I gave a fingertip of syrup and 1/2 can of MC florentine food with a little syrup. 30 minutes later he's at 98. Plan to wait on feeding more syrup and maybe go back to normal food? Will test again in a few minutes. He's currently on 0.5U of ProZinc, SLGS. will be dropping to 0.25 at next dosing. But plan to skip this one. Any additional advice/input would be appreciated!
Julie and Pepper
 
Good call on re-testing, it's always a good idea when they throw a number like this out of the blue. Congrats on the dose reduction!

You're only an hour away from your usual shot time now, correct? Pepper's definitely too low to shoot where he is now (I'm not a Prozinc person either, so I can't say much more than that).
 
Good call on re-testing, it's always a good idea when they throw a number like this out of the blue. Congrats on the dose reduction!

You're only an hour away from your usual shot time now, correct? Pepper's definitely too low to shoot where he is now (I'm not a Prozinc person either, so I can't say much more than that).

Thanks for responding! Sorry, I'm not getting notified of responses for some reason. I am actually off schedule, but the original 62 then 58 were +10 readings. At what would be the AMPS (12hr BG) he is 228. Which I'm guessing he is
A: maybe starting to bounce
B: rising still from the sugar and MC food.
Should be shooting now, but these numbers are not fasting, and with the extra carbs.
 
58 to 228 should be a bounce, I'm thinking. Too much of a leap to be just a food high.
You could get another test in half an hour (w/o feeding) and if he's still rising, it would be safe to shoot.

What do you say @Nan & Amber (GA) ?
 
The food and syrup was at +10? He hasn't eaten after that?
(No more syrup needed)

I am not familiar with Prozinc but let me see if anyone who is, is around
@Deb & Wink
@JanetNJ
@Nan & Amber (GA)
@Panic

Thank you! Sorry for not responding earlier, I am not getting notified of responses today for some reason. Yes, it was after I got those 58 readings. Then I put down his regular classic pate, because my other cat was wanting to eat also.
 
58 to 228 should be a bounce, I'm thinking. Too much of a leap to be just a food high.
You could get another test in half an hour (w/o feeding) and if he's still rising, it would be safe to shoot.

What do you say @Nan & Amber (GA) ?

Ok, was figuring he's bouncing, and definitely going to! Hate to skip dose completely, but I also am going to be gone most of the day, and want him to be safe.
 
Ok, was figuring he's bouncing, and definitely going to! Hate to skip dose completely, but I also am going to be gone most of the day, and want him to be safe.

Oh, definitely skip, then. I was thinking along similar lines to Bhooma, that it might be possible to shoot late to deal with the bounce, but I wouldn't in these circumstances if it were me.
 
No need for syrup... Not unless he's under 50. A little of his regular food is all you need at those numbers. Normal on a human meter is 50-120. You did earn the 0.25 reduction though. :)
 
No need for syrup... Not unless he's under 50. A little of his regular food is all you need at those numbers. Normal on a human meter is 50-120. You did earn the 0.25 reduction though. :)

Ok, thank you! I wondered but panicked a little! Was thinking the 50 and under was ER critical. I just tested again and he's at 333. Went to enter it in the SS, and am locked out again! so frustrating!! Don't have time to try the things suggested in previous posts, will do that later. Hasn't happened since then. Was always going in in airplane mode until today...Thank You again! Will decrease for tonight's dose!
 
Ok, thank you! I wondered but panicked a little! Was thinking the 50 and under was ER critical. I just tested again and he's at 333. Went to enter it in the SS, and am locked out again! so frustrating!! Don't have time to try the things suggested in previous posts, will do that later. Hasn't happened since then. Was always going in in airplane mode until today...Thank You again! Will decrease for tonight's dose!
Over 40-45 just give some food unless showing symptoms like stumbling. Of course of its a few hours until nadir and it's that low then you might go high carb to make sure it doesn't drop further. Under 40 then you wanna hit the syrup.
 
Over 40-45 just give some food unless showing symptoms like stumbling. Of course of its a few hours until nadir and it's that low then you might go high carb to make sure it doesn't drop further. Under 40 then you wanna hit the syrup.

Ok. I thought the nadir was +6-7 hours, but it seems like his is more +10-11. Frequently. I will try not to panic so quick next time, ha! But hopefully there won't be a next time! Thank you for clarifying for me!
 
Ok. I thought the nadir was +6-7 hours, but it seems like his is more +10-11. Frequently. I will try not to panic so quick next time, ha! But hopefully there won't be a next time! Thank you for clarifying for me!
He could have been lower earlier.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top