I don’t know. Do you think I should? Maybe I’ve been waiting too long to increase in the past.Are you thinking increase?
Well, tonight will be five cycles since he was in green. You can what he does tonight and decide if you want to wait a full six cycles before increasing.
It sounds like a good plan to me. How is Beau doing?That sounds like a plan. If he’s still in blue tonight and isn’t low at AMPS, I’ll increase to 3.5U.
It sounds like a good plan to me. How is Beau doing?
That’s good. He’s more comfortable in the lower numbers. I hope you are well, too.He’s been doing pretty well. He looked like he felt a little punky yesterday while he was in the yellows. But after last night and now today, he is perkier again. I can really see the difference in him when he’s in the blue.
You do an amazing job of keeping track of him! I’m all right. Just really busy with kitten rescue and family stuff too. Have a good night!Yes, it’s always good to see him feeling more like himself. I’m doing OK, too. Still not always sleeping because I want to test and see where he is at 2 or 3 in the morning, which is usually when his nadir is. But I’m retired, so I can take an early morning nap after everyone in the house is fed and Beau has his shot.
I hope you are also doing well.

I see he’s back down to 91. That must’ve been some high carb food that made him go up like that?
But I see that today you have again had a wonderful stretch of greens!
It really is great to hear that he's feeling better in these lower, healthier numbers. Since you are following MPM, it's okay for him to be in these mid-greens. You don't want him to drop below 50 on your ReliOn pet meter, but I totally understand your nervousness.Yes! With the exception of a couple of minor bounces, Beau had been in the greens a lot … 7 of the last 9 cycles. I’ve been keeping a close eye on him. I get a little worried when he hits 60, but so far he hasn’t dropped under 58, which was today. I’ve been feeding him the Savory Centers which seem to keep him lower. The Turkey & Giblets pate seems to raise his BG into blues and higher greens. I really like seeing how good he seems to feel when he is in the greens and lower blues.
I feel like we are making some progress.
It really is great to hear that he's feeling better in these lower, healthier numbers. Since you are following MPM, it's okay for him to be in these mid-greens. You don't want him to drop below 50 on your ReliOn pet meter, but I totally understand your nervousness.
Yesterday, I think he just had a little bit of a bounce (which started in the previous night's cycle with the pink) but it didn't last long and her trended downward all day and finally got to green. I know you were concerned about those higher numbers, but they didn't last long. His nadirs have almost all been in the desired target range for following MPM dosing protocol, so I'm really happy with this 3.5 unit dose for him right now. Keep up the good work; you never know when Beau may decide he wants to earn a reduction in dose![]()

Greens are addicting! With MPM, we would like to see nadirs of between 50 and 100. Obviously, that's not always going to happen, but hopefully we will see it quite often. Beau has been cooperating nicely latelyI thought it was a bit of a bounce, but was happy it didn’t last long. Those darn pinks! And even high yellows now annoy me. We’re getting spoiled.
Speaking of a desired range for MPM, I know we want them to hold greens, but what would that range be? Up to 120? I’m using the ReliOn human meter.
I know a reduction won’t come until he is below 50, correct? And that’s hypo!![]()
Greens are addicting! With MPM, we would like to see nadirs of between 50 and 100. Obviously, that's not always going to happen, but hopefully we will see it quite often. Beau has been cooperating nicely lately50 isn't really a hypo number. Non-diabetic cats are frequently at (or below) 50, however, 50 definitely is your "take action" number because of the addition of insulin exerting a possible downward effect on blood glucose, we don't want to allow Beau to go below 50. A non-diabetic cat wouldn't have that going on, right? So if Beau does hit 50, we want to first give a low carb snack and then retest in 20 minutes to see if he's surfing in green and to make sure he hasn't dropped any lower. If he has then you give high carb food and/or karo syrup (depending on the number and the situation and the cat's response to carbs) and retest in 20 minutes to make sure the BG has come up. After that, you know the drill I'm sure, for how to handle low numbers. But I just wanted to point out that you don't need to be frightened if you do see a 50, but you do need to be vigilant and do some extra food intervention and testing at that point. If this should happen, we would need to adjust his dose. Hopefully, this will not happen (at least for a while) because he is doing great on this dose. Perhaps in the future, as his pancreas hopefully heals, he will earn reductions and will get to a lower dose of insulin and still will be seeing those great "healing green" numbers. I hope this makes sense. If not, just ask more questions. I've got to run out of the house right now, but can check back in on your sweetie later.
Oh, believe me, I understand that anxiety. When my cat hit below 68 for the first time I freaked out and gave him a full can of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers cat food, which was the wrong thing to do! But I was told that 68 was my take action number (not on this Board but on a non-affiliated Facebook group) and I took action!Thank you! That all makes perfect sense. I’ll try not to stress too much about hitting 50. I’ve just been so afraid of a hypo situation now that he has had lower numbers so often.
I do love seeing those nadirs in the good range.
Thanks for keeping an eye on us. It is appreciated.
Oh, and I shot at a green last night. It’s the second time, but the numbers were about the same as the first time, so I felt fairly confident. It felt good, but still a little nerve wracking.
Oh, believe me, I understand that anxiety. When my cat hit below 68 for the first time I freaked out and gave him a full can of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers cat food, which was the wrong thing to do! But I was told that 68 was my take action number (not on this Board but on a non-affiliated Facebook group) and I took action!
It sure did stop the drop! And Darcy thought it was just great as he loved that gravy. And you are doing great!Oh wow!! I’ll bet you stopped that drop dead in its tracks! I did something similar the first time I hit numbers under 70 at night. I freaked out, sure my boy was going to hypo! But, that’s how we learn, I guess.
And, now, here I am shooting 3.5u at the very same BG that had me freaked out and in tears.
Thanks! I am doing my best. My Beau Boy is special. He was my constant companion after my husband died. He gave me so much comfort. Now it’s my turn to be there for him. I will do everything in my power to get him regulated and help him get back to being the sweet love he was before the diabetes. I am hopeful when I see the changes in him at those healthy numbers.It sure did stop the drop! And Darcy thought it was just great as he loved that gravy. And you are doing great!
Oh wow. I’m so sorry about your husband passing away. Hugs! That is extra special about Beau being there for you during such an immensely difficult time of your life. I feel so sad for you though. As for Beau, you have already helped him so much. Thank you for sharing that about him and about your husband. Every cat here is so special in so many ways, but we don’t always get to know just how many ways — especially since sometimes it’s hard to put into words just how special our fur babies are to us... and why… and sometimes it’s too painful or personal to share.Thanks! I am doing my best. My Beau Boy is special. He was my constant companion after my husband died. He gave me so much comfort. Now it’s my turn to be there for him. I will do everything in my power to get him regulated and help him get back to being the sweet love he was before the diabetes. I am hopeful when I see the changes in him at those healthy numbers.![]()
I don't see that lime green on his spreadsheet?
Like right away? You got a 46 then/57?I didn’t put the lime green 46 because I immediately tested him again and he was 57. Should I change it?
Yes, immediately. In fact I just checked the memory on the ReliOn and both tests recorded as at 12:25Like right away? You got a 46 then/57?
Okay, so I would just go with the green instead of the lime. You can always put both numbers in the cell and just manually color code it as green.Yes, immediately. In fact I just checked the memory on the ReliOn and both tests recorded as at 12:25
I understand. We do hope it will be a positive. That's why we congratulation people when their cat's earn reductions. In this case though, I think you are doing the right thing in keeping him at this dose for at least a little bit longer. There are benefits to doing it that way -- sometimes later, their bodies are more "ready" to handle a reduction. This is just for people who are able to do the amount of testing that you do, of course.Thank you. With the 90 at +4 I figured he would probably be around 100 at shot time..
I will do as you suggest …. test just before +10, then give him a mid-carb snack to try to bring him up a little higher.
I have been thinking that with all of the recent BG in the 50s that we may be looking at a reduction soon. I’ve been looking at it as a negative rather than a positive, thinking his numbers will start to go up again.
That wasn’t too bad. He got right back down into some low blues. That’s very good. Maybe he didn’t need that +10 snack after all. It’s a lot of trial and error with deciding at what number you want to do it- and what kind of food to give. You don’t want to shorten the duration of the insulin, but you don’t want to have kitty too low at preshot time if you’re trying to hold a dose.
Sorry I didn't reply. I did check in on your spreadsheet, but I was not well over the weekend. I see he had a great cycle after that mini bounce (very quick). I'm wondering what kind of food bump that is (today's cycle). It's really amazing to me that he went from an AMPS of 124 up to 229 in only two hours. And he only eats LC food. Maybe it's just that his insulin hadn't yet kicked in at +2, but he's still higher than AMPS at +4. Great job of testing as always. He definitely is making progress and spending much more time in good numbers, which is good for his health. Keep up the good work!