55 BG last night; 385 AMPS this morning

He is doing really well, but I would monitor really closely and reduce back to 3.25 units. If he drops below 50 again, I would give a drop of syrup/karo with his food and test in 20 minutes and then 30 minutes after that, etc. You did do a great job today!
 
Also, would you say that you shot a skinny 3.5 this morning? If so, could you put 3.5s in the cell for this morning’s units?

I thought I had put 3.5s. Thanks for catching that.
That 43, then 45 really caught me off guard, but we did start the day in the green.
Overall, I think he’s doing pretty well. I’ve been happy with his PMPS in the blues and greens over the last week.
I’ll start the 3.25 in the morning since we’ve already shot tonight. I had a feeling we were getting close to a reduction after those 50s all night long.
Thanks, as always, for your help. It’s just so good knowing I’m not doing this alone. :bighug:
 
Well hopefully he will be fine tonight since he had gone up into yellow at PMPS. I’m excited to see how he will do on the reduced dose.

Well, Beau has completed 4 cycles on the reduced dose of 3.25. He seems to be creeping up and had an AMPS of 273 this morning. Nadir still green, at least during the daytime cycles. Should I continue the reduced dose?
 
Last edited:
He has had a lot of green nadirs on this dose except, oddly, at night, but that seems to be his pattern. You need to hold this dose two more cycles at least and see how he does.
 
We would like to see nadirs between 50-120. He has mostly had that. Do you think you can hold this dose for 6 cycles? I would like so see if he really is creeping up. I am hoping it will be more evident one way or the other.
 
We would like to see nadirs between 50-120. He has mostly had that. Do you think you can hold this dose for 6 cycles? I would like so see if he really is creeping up. I am hoping it will be more evident one way or the other.

Maybe he isn’t really creeping up. I was honestly surprised he held green for so long today. It will be interesting to see where he tests before his PMPS in about 30 minutes. I’ll hold through tomorrow and see what happens. It would be nice if he could stay at this dose.
 
Maybe he isn’t really creeping up. I was honestly surprised he held green for so long today. It will be interesting to see where he tests before his PMPS in about 30 minutes. I’ll hold through tomorrow and see what happens. It would be nice if he could stay at this dose.
Today was a good cycle, yes! You are doing great!
 
Looks like the new dose has resulted in good cycles … until the 332 at +3 this morning. We’re not too happy about that. Maybe it’s just a quick bounce?
 
Last edited:
Looks like the new dose has resulted in good cycles … until the 332 at +3 this morning. We’re not too happy about that. Maybe it’s just a quick bounce?
I’m happy to see all that nice green and lower blues on his spreadsheet. I do hope today’s cycle will soon get better and the pink will soon be gone and he will be back to green again.
 
I’m happy to see all that nice green and lower blues on his spreadsheet. I do hope today’s cycle will soon get better and the pink will soon be gone and he will be back to green again.

Me, too. Even though he can be a bit bouncy, they seem to clear fairly quickly. He’s been doing so well with this reduction. :cool::D
 
Well, that was a sucky cycle!! Of course, I even second guessed myself about giving him his insulin. But I’m 100% sure I did. I’d much rather worry about low numbers than high ones. Beau definitely wasn’t himself all day. I hope we get back to normal soon.
 
We just can’t seem to avoid the bounces the last few days!! I’m assuming that’s what is happening, anyway. It’s so frustrating because Beau was doing so well.
 
Keep a close eye on him tonight. He may have a long string of greens. But he started at quite a low number. But it may be like last night’s cycle.

He is still doing well. I see a lot of green in between the yellows. :D
 
He’s just had some really weird ups and downs at odd times. But you’re right, there are lots of greens. I’m definitely going to keep a close eye on him tonight. When he hit that 50 last night I was prepared for him to drop further, but he didn’t. That PMPS of 70 was after stalling for 25 minutes after he was at 69.
 
Last edited:
He’s just had some really weird ups and downs at odd times. But you’re right, there are lots of greens. I’m definitely going to keep a close eye on him tonight. When he hit that 50 last night I was prepared for him to drop further, but he didn’t. That PMPS of 70 was after stalling for 25 minutes after he was at 69.
I’m seeing a majority of beautiful green! I’m happy! You are doing such a great job!
 
I’m seeing a majority of beautiful green! I’m happy! You are doing such a great job!
Thank you. You’re right! There is a lot of green. So I guess I shouldn’t get so stressed and worried when he has those odd cycles. And I feel like we may be heading for another reduction soon. :D
 
470!!! AMPS!! I am a little freaked out! I’m worried about him being so high.

This after two good cycles!! I just don’t understand why. If it’s a bounce, it’s a pretty damn big one.
 
Wow. That is higher than normal. Usually he just goes pink. Just try to be patient. Let’s see what happens. I’m confident he will come down. Any chance that he got into forbidden food?
 
Wow. That is higher than normal. Usually he just goes pink. Just try to be patient. Let’s see what happens. I’m confident he will come down. Any chance that he got into forbidden food?

It really shocked me. I checked him twice just to be sure.

I am absolutely sure he didn’t get into any forbidden food this time.

I will try to be patient. I know it’s better high than low. But it must be hard on his little body to make a jump like that after being in such good numbers. :(

I need to leave for a Vet appt in about an hour. I’ll test him at his usual +3, but not again until around +6, so I’ll most likely miss nadir.
 
Beau has taken us on quite a roller coaster ride the last few days. And today, from a 430 AMPS to a PMPS of 58. I’ve shot a lot of greens now, but this is the lowest, so I did a skinny dose. I’ll be watching him very closely tonight. Could be a long one.
 
So how did the cycle go last night? I see the greens, but are you having to feed him to keep him up or just giving LC snacks or what? Is he just surfing in green easily, on his own?
 
So how did the cycle go last night? I see the greens, but are you having to feed him to keep him up or just giving LC snacks or what? Is he just surfing in green easily, on his own?
I gave him his usual small late LC dinner at +4. There was no food after that.
We have an AMPS of 174 this morning, which is nice to see.
Question: whenever he tests in the low 50s, like 53 and 52, I start to worry a little and feed him a LC snack or small meal, depending on where he is in the cycle. Or should I wait to see if he will surf the greens on his own? I always doubt myself a little, thinking that I should wait and see if he drops below 50, earning a reduction. By feeding those low numbers, am I falsely thinking he’s at a good dose?
 
I’ve read several times on the main FB page that sometimes high numbers can mean the dose is too high, rather than too low. How do you tell the difference?
 
I gave him his usual small late LC dinner at +4. There was no food after that.
We have an AMPS of 174 this morning, which is nice to see.
Question: whenever he tests in the low 50s, like 53 and 52, I start to worry a little and feed him a LC snack or small meal, depending on where he is in the cycle. Or should I wait to see if he will surf the greens on his own? I always doubt myself a little, thinking that I should wait and see if he drops below 50, earning a reduction. By feeding those low numbers, am I falsely thinking he’s at a good dose?
If you are only feeding him low carb, then I am not worried about it. That’s why I asked. I wanted to make sure that these great strings of green that he is having are being managed only with his regular LC food. I feel good about this dose right now. You are not having to “prop up” his numbers with higher carbs, so I don’t believe that he needs a reduction.
 
If you are only feeding him low carb, then I am not worried about it. That’s why I asked. I wanted to make sure that these great strings of green that he is having are being managed only with his regular LC food. I feel good about this dose right now. You are not having to “prop up” his numbers with higher carbs, so I don’t believe that he needs a reduction.
Thank you! It is always his usual LC. That’s what I needed to hear. :D
Now to see what today brings.
 
I’ve read several times on the main FB page that sometimes high numbers can mean the dose is too high, rather than too low. How do you tell the difference?
You do enough testing for us to see how his cycles run. If a cat is overdosed, you will see by the data that he will go into low numbers during one of his cycles— he won’t stay high all the time but will drop too low at some point. An overdosed cat won’t just stay high and flat all the time.

Naturally we do see some high numbers for various reasons, including: (1) bouncing from any number that is lower than the cat is used to, (2) bouncing from BG dropping too rapidly (which can usually be managed with strategic feeding,) (3) insulin wearing off and next shot not having kicked in yet (not an issue with the depot insulins) or (4) cat being fed at the wrong time (after nadir) or being fed too many carbs.
 
You do enough testing for us to see how his cycles run. If a cat is overdosed, you will see by the data that he will go into low numbers during one of his cycles— he won’t stay high all the time but will drop too low at some point. An overdosed cat won’t just stay high and flat all the time.

Naturally we do see some high numbers for various reasons, including: (1) bouncing from any number that is lower than the cat is used to, (2) bouncing from BG dropping too rapidly (which can usually be managed with strategic feeding,) (3) insulin wearing off and next shot not having kicked in yet (not an issue with the depot insulins) or (4) cat being fed at the wrong time (after nadir) or being fed too many carbs.
Thank you. That all makes sense, of course. Just trying to find the logic in those crazy high numbers besides bouncing. But I know it’s his body trying to keep him healthy. They just seem to be happening more on this dose. But his nights are pretty consistently green and blue these days, which is nice to see.
 
Thank you. That all makes sense, of course. Just trying to find the logic in those crazy high numbers besides bouncing. But I know it’s his body trying to keep him healthy. They just seem to be happening more on this dose. But his nights are pretty consistently green and blue these days, which is nice to see.
Many cats do drop into lower numbers at night. It’s a pattern that we see often.
 
He did last night. That’s good. I’m thinking a teaspoon or two of LC at +2 could really help him. His drop last night was quite steep. Hopefully he will weather that okay and not bounce, but regardless that +2 snack is so beneficial. Looking forward to seeing how he does today.
 
He did last night. That’s good. I’m thinking a teaspoon or two of LC at +2 could really help him. His drop last night was quite steep. Hopefully he will weather that okay and not bounce, but regardless that +2 snack is so beneficial. Looking forward to seeing how he does today.

I usually give him a snack at +3 or +4, morning and night, when he asks for it. I’ll start doing it at +2 and see what happens. I don’t test until +3 because I get depressed because it’s typically a higher number since insulin hasn’t kicked in yet. Maybe I should?

I was surprised, not only by the drop, but by that increase at +7. And now this morning he has a pink AMPS again, 362, so we didn’t avoid the bounce. He’s bounced so much more the last week or so.

He had been doing so well. Now I’m feeling very frustrated and a bit depressed.
 
Last edited:
Oh no! I’m sorry. I know that feeling. Today looks like it was just a bouncy cycle from the fast drop last night. It’s going to be okay. And you have already helped him soooo much — to feel better and be happy. Isn’t he doing better now than when he was first diagnosed? You are really making a positive difference.
 
Oh no! I’m sorry. I know that feeling. Today looks like it was just a bouncy cycle from the fast drop last night. It’s going to be okay. And you have already helped him soooo much — to feel better and be happy. Isn’t he doing better now than when he was first diagnosed? You are really making a positive difference.


Beau is absolutely doing so much better than when he was first diagnosed in May. I guess I just get spoiled by all of the greens and blues. And I worry about how bouncing so much might make him feel.

Maybe tonight will be better. I just did his PMPS and it’s dropped a bit to 276. And I’m going to feed him his late dinner earlier at +2, as you suggested to see if that helps the drops.
 
I see he had gone blue at +4 and most likely went green after you went to sleep. That’s is good.

I totally understand how so many people get depressed when checking at +2, unless they have an early diver. But I see a lot of people who miss a steep dive that they could have caught and slowed and prevented a bounce. Anyway, giving a snack at +2 is still a good idea. Some days he may still be high but other days he may be doing a big drop. But even on the days he’s still in maybe yellow, the LC food will not drive his BG up high.
 
I see he had gone blue at +4 and most likely went green after you went to sleep. That’s is good.

I totally understand how so many people get depressed when checking at +2, unless they have an early diver. But I see a lot of people who miss a steep dive that they could have caught and slowed and prevented a bounce. Anyway, giving a snack at +2 is still a good idea. Some days he may still be high but other days he may be doing a big drop. But even on the days he’s still in maybe yellow, the LC food will not drive his BG up high.

Thank you for the encouragement.

I woke up last night and tested him at +6 and he had, indeed, dropped to 79. This morning his AMPS is 140, so it looks like we cleared the bounce.

I did both test and feed him at +2 last night.

Hoping for a good day.
 
Last edited:
After that great cycle yesterday, I see he sort of trended up a bit in his version of a bounce (nothing serious). But I bet he will get right back to work today! :) Your spreadsheet says 3.28 units instead of 3.25, I think (for today and tomorrow a.m. dose.) I just noticed that and had to close one eye and look at the computer screen to make sure I wasn't seeing things! :)
 
Yes, that little uptick was different. But he was back down to a blue 130 AMPS this morning. I was expecting something yellow. We’re at 166 +3 so he should drop to green, hopefully.

My fat fingers sometimes hit the 8 when I’m on my phone! 3.28 would be a tough one to measure! :)
 
Very strange cycle today! Sorry.

I just realized that this thread is really long. Can you start a new one. I usually forget, but we are supposed to keep the thread lengths to a max of 50 posts. Just start a new thread when you next post and copy/past the link for this conversation in the first post of your new thread.
 
Very strange cycle today! Sorry.

I just realized that this thread is really long. Can you start a new one. I usually forget, but we are supposed to keep the thread lengths to a max of 50 posts. Just start a new thread when you next post and copy/past the link for this conversation in the first post of your new thread.

I was wondering about the length just yesterday. How do I copy/paste the link? Just copy/paste the last conversation?
 
Back
Top