5/9 Purrdy AMPS 157 +3 193

Status
Not open for further replies.

purrdydolly

Member Since 2014
Last condo 5/3

Increased Purrdy by .5u a few days ago (he's now up to 5.5u) and we haven't seen a green since, he's reverted to all blue Purrdy again and mostly outside the normal range :( On the plus side mum has got over the 5u hump and seems to be happy to accept that it is what it is for now :) Even though going backwards very rarely works I'm considering a reduced dose experiment soon (perhaps at around 6-6.5u), to test a theory that it doesn't matter how much he gets he's only going to absorb x amount - my patience pants are getting pretty holey...

Vyktor is great - apart from his mouth and consequential lack of eating. Ruth found us an excellent link (how does she find them!) to a newly formed stomatitis forum. A product called Plaque Off seems to be helping some kitties so I've started giving him that. It'll be 6-8 weeks before we expect to see any results but the good thing already is that he really likes it and will eat whatever food I sprinkle it on immediately, the bad thing is you give them such a tiny amount that I can't sprinkle it all over all of his food all of the time! All it contains is seaweed and brewers yeast so a much better starting option than an immunosuppressant. Also good news from the compounding pharmacy, they can turn clindamycin into a transdermal gel to be rubbed in the ear so next time he needs ABs for this that will be the way to go. His BG was 95 this week :D

Meggy is pretty angry about my working hours this week. By the time I got home late again last night (so late her run was reduced to 45 mins) she had spat the dummy and trashed the place :rolleyes: she'd even employed her special 'you really made me angry' technique and moved her lb to pee on the floor where the lb should sit :rolleyes::rolleyes: I'll be expecting more of the same next week as the boss is still away. Apart from having to clean up I think it's good that she has a way to express her feelings. She gets all her anger out and then looks very cutely embarrassed when I see what she's done :woot:
 
I hope you see more green from Purrdy soon. How frustrating. How cute Meg looks embarrassed after she trashes the place.
 
Okay, I really need to see some pictures of Meg. Especially when she is looking "cutely embarrassed"! :p:joyful: Who knew rabbits had so much personality??

Purrdy, you need to quit messing with your Mama and your big sister and start working that jus! Dosecrease threats are still out there, so get busy, Mister!

As for Vyktor, I'm so glad you have some options that may help him. Poor baby. Does it say why you should only give that small amount of the new supplement? I wish I could find something like that for Minka.

Sending continued healing vines for Vyktor's mouth and patience vines for you!
 
Good news about Vyktor and his meds/supplements.
Purrdy, your sister is getting antsy. Come back down soon, "or else"!
Too funny about Meg (aside from the fact that you had to clean up the whole area!). I hope your boss doesn't decide to take another week off!

Have a good weekend, Serryn,

Ella & Rusty

Yo Vyktor and Purrdy, I'll be in NYC for a few days and all the kitties are invited to join the fun as we follow our usual pursuits. Hot dogs in Central Park on Sunday. You in?
~ Rusty
 
Don't worry Auntie! I fixes it! Me an' Vyktor has da fud fight wit da tofurkey. Da fud dats bouncin' off da walls be extra tasty. I'd comes to your place for dis, but my mommy make da special tofurkey dat Vyktor lubs, and you not knows how, Vyktor have to comes here. xxxooo
 
Apparently Meg still had some residual anger this morning, or I was taking too long with Purrdy's condo. I went to let her out for her run and she'd moved the tray to pee on the floor again and this time she had no shame :rolleyes: It did delay her run while I cleaned up though so hopefully she's learnt her lesson there!

@Tricia & Cinco i have problems posting pics because I don't know how to use my laptop :oops: I can't even say my 'new' laptop anymore, which would be slightly less embarrassing, since I got it when Purrdy was first diagnosed. I did accidentally click on something that seems to be a help file this morning so I probably need to spend some time there but when you spend all day on a computer at work it's the last thing you want to see at home. The plaque off is very high in iodine (you can't give it to hyperthyroid cats at all) so I think that's why the dose is so small.

NYC again - Whoo hoo, I be in for dem hot dogs. I bring Mikey wif me after da food fights. hopefully no kitties will mistake us for hot dogs in our gravy covered coats!
 
I googled plaqueoff. It looks very interesting. I might ask my vet if it is ok to use with the meds Sheba is on. He might not have heard of it of course. Her teeth are ok but it might be good to keep the mouth area 'clean'.
The reviews were good.
Will be very interested how Vyktor goes with it
 
Last edited:
Purrdy...you're making things difficult, you know. Why not show everyone that you can go green on this dose. And hang out there for a while.

Vyktor's news is encouraging. Everything crossed that the meds/supplements help his mouth issues.

As for Meg. You go girl. In the most literal of terms! What a frustrating yet endearing companion. Oh, and stubborn!

Marilyn and Polly
 
Blue Purrdy- he must be related to Blue Polly! What I would give to have a SS that Blue!! :cool: But I know how this must baffle and frustrate you and Mum, so, paws and fingers crossed for a response from Mr. Mystery Cat!

Glad to hear Vyktor likes the supplement. I had missed the caution on hyperthyroid however, I am so relieved he isn't hyperthyroid. :oops::oops::oops: I am so glad you found that forum useful, it frustrates the H#!!!! out of me that stomatitis isn't better understood or studied!!! I just want Vyktor and others like him to feel better and have options rather than being blasted with cancer drugs. Vines, tons and tons of vines for Vyktor.

Meg- Who knew a rabbit had so many personalities!! Forgive Mamabean Meg, she's doing the work of 2 people this month! :confused:
 
I'm going to look into that PlaqueOff for Trix, too. She really needs a dental but can't have one because of her kidneys. I think she has issues that come in go in her mouth...maybe that will help, although I don't think she has stomatitis - vetty hasn't noticed any sores. I get them myself, and they are brutally painful. It makes me cry to think about kitties getting them. It's great you can get the AB compounded into a transdermal gel. I used a transdermal for my GA HyperT kitty, Mario....it made life SO much easier.

I love Meg stories...she's so spunky!

Work that juice, Purrdy....you can do it!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top