5/9 Latte AMPS-480, PMPS~162 Dosing question

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Very Active Member
Oh these BG's make me nervous as we approach our last day on the a/b for her UTI!

PMPS-235
+2- 301
+4- 474
+6.75-534
AMPS- 480
yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=13989

Latte looks especially pretty today for no special reason. I probably got more sleep than her, as she seemed to spend the night walking around meowing, and sitting at her water bowl - drinking. She looked guilty when the alarm went off and quickly fled to her spot under the piano. :roll:

She is walking around REALLY good today. I see an occassional blip in her step, and still some meows when she uses the LB. She is taking to the one by my bed quite well. I may have to put one just like it in the hallway (her other favorite spot). Its just the lid to a tuperware storage container! :lol: Had to come up with something on the fly the other day. Glad Ive spent so much money on LB's in the past, when a 2 dollar bin is perfectly acceptable.

Ive noticed over time her tail does not go straight up like it used to. After I was told a few months ago about this condition she has, I read that dogs having this problem cant lift their tails (no mention of cats). The last few days I have seen its been lower and lower. She can barely raise it. It still wags, tho...that little white tip.

I was really glad to feel comfortable going to sleep for 4hrs last night, knowing that she could take care of her basic needs (LB, food,water). She did not eat great last night, nor this a.m. Hopefully if her numbers come down she will feel more like it. She is most interested in water this a.m. Im going to reduce the bupe from every 8hrs to every 10-12 starting today. Same dose. We will see how she does. Its making her a little wierded out between zombie and restless.

I did catch her trying to bat around the catnip pillow Amy got her the other day. It woke me up. :mrgreen:

Holding my breath and look forward to connecting with her regular vet tomorrow.

Sleep, sleep,sleep...a shower...and laundry are in store for us today.
 
Re: 5/9 Latte AMPS-480

I am so glad to hear that she is walking around and sitting and everything :mrgreen: What a relief!
I noticed that Ginger my civvie walks with her tail up most of the time, and J.D. walks with his down most of the time. But, I have seen him raise it on a rare occasion.
Hoping for continued improvement for Latte. And I hope you have a very nice Mother's Day. You're such a good mom to Latte.
 
Re: 5/9 Latte AMPS-480

What a great report this morning! You made my day! So happy that you got some rest Carolyn...and Latte is sounding very good! So happy that she is doing better! :YMHUG: Happy Mother's Day to the BEST Mama Bean!!
(Latte was all upset that she didn't have time to get you anything for Mothers Day and she asked Shadow if he could help her in ordering a bouquet for you as a surprise. That's what she was whispering on the phone about.... :lol: She told him exactly what she wanted and he did the leg work for her....so here it is Carolyn...cause you are the BEST Mama and Latte loves you so very very much! :YMHUG:

XX-4387_176x220.jpg


Dear Mama:
I am sorry I cause you so much worry....you are the BEST Mama in the whole world!
I love you so much! You are my bestest friend in the whole wide world! You always help
me all the time and you always do so much for me. I love my bed and all that you do to
help me be comfortable....your love makes me feel so warm and happy!
from your little girl
Latte
xxxxxxxxxx
ps: can I go to Scrabble's party now?
 
Re: 5/9 Latte AMPS-480

I'm SO happy she continues to improve, Carolyn! Latte the wonder kitty! I'm sending vines that she tolerates the bupe dose reduction and continues to feel well.
 
Re: 5/9 Latte AMPS-480

Hi Carolyn, The bgs may be higher than you'd like, but I'd say that almost everything else sounds so much better. We hope that you will have a fine day, some good sleep time, and that Latte will continue to improve. Do send her to Scrabble's party tonight. Stu will make a special dish just for her.
Hugs from us to you and Latte,

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 5/9 Latte AMPS-480

Latte is one of the most resilient cats I've seen. She loves you very much! I hope the two of you have a wonderful Mom's Day together.
 
Re: 5/9 Latte AMPS-480

Well that's a fabulous report to wake up to on Mother's Day! Checked in last night before bed to see how she'd done walking after sleeping for so long yesterday....glad to hear YOU were sleeping!

Yep....it's official. She no longer huffs & puffs at me, so henceforth she shall be affectionately called the Princess Warrior! I think it's hysterical that she felt guilty for getting caught walking around and zipped under the piano when you woke! :lol: little smarty-pants! I warned you after seeing such improvement on Friday that by the end of the weekend she'd just be so spolied, she'll never let you take apart her new "pad" under the piano! Expect her to be hosting parties this week while you're out...

You've been amazing, Carolyn! The plan was to give her everything she needed within reach so that she could rest and heal. You hand feeding her and holding her water cup up for her every couple of hours, hours spent next to her....I have no doubt that the depth of your love and devotion has made all the difference in the world. The 2 of you together are unstoppable team, and a testament to love. cat_pet_icon

Happy Mother's Day, Carolyn!
 
Re: 5/9 Latte AMPS-480

What a great Mom's Day report! Glad to hear she's getting around so much better. One thing at a time, little Latte... You'll get there!
 
Re: 5/9 Latte AMPS-480

I am so happy to hear that Latte is walking and sitting and obviously feeling much better. What a nice present for you for Mother's Day. I hope she continues to improve and eats a little better today. Blackie will look for Latte at Scrabbles party today. Maybe the two oldsters can have a slow dance.
 
Re: 5/9 Latte AMPS-480

AH, other than the amps - it was a great report to read. I am glad you are seeing improvement in Latte. I didn't get around to posting the other day - but in some ways Latte's recent condition reminded me of Tuscany's balance problem she had in February. She was wobbling, would fall over etc. Still holds her head a bit cocked and some mornings seems to be just a tad weaker (though I think maybe the adequan has helped). The neurologist seemed to think that Tuscany's problem was more vestibular in nature. I hope the Latte continues to improve!
 
Re: 5/9 Latte AMPS-480, +2-417, +4-247, +6-198

Good Grief! I TOTALLY slept through her drop!!!! ohmygod_smile Had I just done a +3, I could have intervened! Even if she is not going 'too low', those drops are just dbl whammies. :YMSIGH:

Funny thing...I think she was trying to tell me and I couldnt get my eyes open...until she decided to poop in the litter box by my head! :twisted:, and then got on the bed to walk all over me. Best alarm ever, eh? I found her small cup of kibble under the piano completely tipped over and lots eaten...kibble gone from her other bowl...more wet gone...water....And I slept through it all in just 1.5hrs!

She is now peacefully stoned under the piano. I feel bad giving the bupe when I know its going to make her go from feeling 'good' to feeling 'gooooooooooood' (if ya know what I mean! ;-) ). I guess at least it slows her down and forces her to rest,which she needs.

Please watch out for her at Scrabbles party and make sure she is not doing any dancing. Maybe she could be the door greeter (I know thats often Putty's job, tho) or niptini server? !:lol:
 
Re: 5/9 Latte AMPS-480, +2-417, +4-247, +6-198

Carolyn,

This is such great news. I'll continue to be thinking of you guys and look forward to your updates.

Jason
 
Re: 5/9 Latte AMPS-480, +2-417, +4-247, +6-198

Happy Mother's Day Carolyn
Your devotion to Latte is truly inspiring to see how much love does heal.
I loved the video of her playing with that toy. Just like a little kitten.

Max will take very good care of her at Scrabble's party so no worries there.
He is her official pillow plumper and every wish of hers is his command.
 
Re: 5/9 Latte AMPS-480, PMPS~162

Well, what do ya know?!?! Look at those PMPS! Cant remember the last time I had a ps like that. Was actually a little nervous shooting. Then I remembered her motto of late....what goes down must go up! So of course I shot the full dose.

AMPS-480
+2- 417
+4-247 (ouch!)
+5-216
+6-198
+7-200
+8-239
+11-182
PMPS-162

What a great day for her. She got up every hour or so to show me how well she was walking. I noticed an occassional limp, but otherwise all looks good! Caught her playing with the catnip toy Amy got her - twice. She took a short stroll to the back porch for a few nips of her grass. And, spent a good deal of her time out in the hallway napping.'

I told her how proud all her friends here in LL will be about her day and numbers (even if she couldnt stay in them). She puffed herself up all nice and perked her ears. :mrgreen: I think she really wanted to be let out to the party! Her bupe is pretty much wearing off, so she is ready to go! Again, please make sure she does NOT dance tonight, no matter how much she may want to show off her working legs. Thank you!
 
Re: 5/9 Latte AMPS-480, PMPS~162

We Are Very Proud of you, Latte. :-D Now, you be a good girl tonight and don't wear yourself out.
I am so glad she's feeling better, Carolyn. Keep on keeping on, both of you :-D
 
Re: 5/9 Latte AMPS-480, PMPS~162

Im wondering how MORE insulin is going to help her.
Wont it bring her lower and bounce even harder? (if that is even possible)

Something needs to change. This isnt working. Vet thinks she is getting too much causing these bounces. I think its 'possible', but I sure am not catching anything too low. Her lows (mid 100's) are perfect for us. I dont need her to be set up to go much lower. But these high bounces are truley a hazzard.

Can anyone explain?
Do we just wait it out until she stops bouncing?

Maybe dont look at my questions geared specifically toward Latte, rather any cat that is reaching a BG that is desireable on their dose, but bouncing to the moon regularly. What do other people do?
 
Gosh Carolyn it's so hard to say with Latte. It could be the atibiotics that has caused these high numbers lately. It could be everything else that she has been through (the pain when she could not walk). Have you changed her pred to the AM cycle yet or is she still getting it in the evening?
 
Happy Mother's Day, Carolyn! And how happy it is!! It sounds like Latte is is really doing well today. Such a good condo to read today! I am very very happy!!

BTW, Spot said that he would keep his eye on Latte at the party tonight and make sure that she sits nicely and doesn't get up to do any dancing. He does want to know if "chair dancing" is ok..you know, that dance you do in the chair. He won't let her play leap cat either. He decided to bring a nice board game so that all the older kitties can play...I think he's bringing....Scrabble!!!
 
Maybe dont look at my questions geared specifically toward Latte, rather any cat that is reaching a BG that is desireable on their dose, but bouncing to the moon regularly. What do other people do?

Blackie doesn't bounce to the moon, just close to it. He would even give a half way to the moon bounce on 100's, so I understand your frustration. In our case we are just waiting it out each time. And lately his bounces aren't as high. My vet also said that we were giving too much insulin and that's why the bounces. I told him what the Tilly Protocol said, and he didn't agree with it. But I'm still following the protocol and I've only lowered the dose when it says to.

We all know every cat is different (ecid), so I don't know if this helps.
 
Hi Carolyn and Latte just wanted to stop by and say I am so happy to hear Latte is doing so much better! She has been a great hostess here greeting all the kitties at the door. Scrabble has been dancing up a storm!!!!
 
I'd be reticent to decrease insulin if there's an infection. What I wonder is whether Latte wasn't feeling well -- the infection, spinal problem -- and the stress is what drove up her numbers. But I'm just guessing.

Maybe you could PM Jill or Jojo with your question.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top