5/9 Buzz PMPS: 385, +3.5: 353

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah and Buzz

Very Active Member
Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14031

AMPS: 68
+12.25: 64
+12.75: 58
+1.25: 48

Obviously I haven't shot yet, and I am going to check again in 15 minutes (which will be 1.5 hours after regular AMPS). I know I can't shoot until it's a rising #, but what dose do I give? Thank you for any help! :smile:
 
Re: 5/9 Buzz/ Dosing Advice needed, no shot yet

I will be around to test today if needed, and the schedule is okay for now. I can make it up over a period of days if I need to, but it shouldn't be a consideration as far as dosing.
 
Re: 5/9 Buzz/ Dosing Advice needed, no shot yet

Hmmmm....

You've shot in the 60s (a 64 and a 68) before. Would you be comfortable shooting in that range once Buzz comes back up?
 
Re: 5/9 Buzz/ Dosing Advice needed, no shot yet

Yep, definitely! As long as I know she is on the rise, I would even shoot in the 50s (if advised).
 
Re: 5/9 Buzz/ Dosing Advice needed, no shot yet

As for what to shoot, I f you are using the 2x <50 method I don't a recent low on this dose, so I would make it a even .5U until the next time she goes this low. If you want to try the reduction reduce to .25U and and watch her bounce for a day or so. I would stick to the .5U until you have <40 or one more time less than 50 this week. Make sense?
 
Re: 5/9 Buzz/ Dosing Advice needed, no shot yet

Monique, do you think it would be better to go for the reduction to .25 or to just shave the fat off of the 0.50? I'm torn...
 
Re: 5/9 Buzz/ Dosing Advice needed, no shot yet

Monique - Maybe Sarah understands, but I'm not sure I do. You're suggesting that she shoot 0.5u? Not everyone is using the revised Tilly method. (Also, isn't it 3 times below 50? From Tilly: "Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose.")

Sarah: Having an unshootable pre-shot is an automatic reduction. (Congrats!). I think if Buzz continues surfing below 60, one alternative is to give a token dose (e.g., 0.25). I do think you have BOS, so it's up to you. I do think that barring a bounce tonight, 0.5u makes sense given the reduction didn't hold the last time.
 
Re: 5/9 Buzz/ Dosing Advice needed, no shot yet

+14: 51

I don't really care about the delayed shot time or any of that, but Buzz is getting REALLY cranky because of all the pokes and no food. She is obviously surfing but I feel a rise is around the corner so I don't mind shooting 0.5 (maybe a skinny?). It's just so hard to decide; analysis paralysis!!
 
Re: 5/9 Buzz +14: 51/no shot yet

go Buzz!

You're getting great advice. Personally I don't think I would go down to 0.25, Buzz seems to need smaller reductions than that. I would try straight 0.5. She's surfing merrily along and her shed is emptying, so you can shoot whenever you want now.
 
Re: 5/9 Buzz +14: 51/no shot yet

LOL! I would keep the .5U and make a flat (I'm not big on skinny and fat) most people here are reducing by .25U when they have less than 50 just 1 time. Alternatives are to reduce anytime you go below 40, or after 2-3 times below 50. I like the 2 x below 50 (or 1x below 40) as long as the lows occur on days not too far apart (after 5-7 days the clock gets reset). It doesn't matter when you measure the low number (Nadir is Nadir) rather it occurs at +6 or +13 it counts the same as any other.

.5U isn't a big dose and if you are there to feed it then I think it will keep her surfing nicely and hopefully take the momentum out of any possible bounce.
 
Re: 5/9 Buzz +14: 51/no shot yet

Thanks Libby! I think Sarah's BOS are bigger than mine although I would have suggested 0.5 as the regular dose.
 
Re: 5/9 Buzz AMPS: 51 (@ +14.25)

Ok, thank you so much, you guys! :smile:

I shot 0.5u at +14.25 and I will retest in 1.5 hours. I know it's supposed to be +1 but her food spikes seem to last longer than others' so I am going to let her ears rest for an extra half hour. ;-) I am interested to see where this goes. Thanks for all the great advice; I don't know what I'd do without you guys! Now to eat some food myself...
 
Re: 5/9 Buzz AMPS: 51 (@ +14.25)

lots of excitement in this condo today...
I'm thinking Buzz was talking to Blackie yesterday! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/9 Buzz AMPS: 51 (@ +14.25)

Hey Buzz, Now you can get your dinner! You sound like you don't like to have ear pokes every 15 minutes!!( but your mamabean was concerned and she was doing what's best for you). I'll see you later at Scrabble's party. Come prepared to EAT! and DANCE!

Stu

Hi Sarah, Great job this morning. And you got a dosecrease, too. Nice going.

Ella
 
Re: 5/9 Buzz AMPS: 51 (@ +14.25)

Helene, I was thinking the same thing as I read this series of posts. We shot at +15 on a 46. Sarah, great BOS! Buzz just really wanted to wear green (and not the costume either) to the party today.
 
Re: 5/9 Buzz AMPS: 51 (@ +14.25), +1.5: 56, +2.5: 36

Wow, Ele, talk about BOS!! A 46!! Great job. :-D

I need all of you guys who chimed in threatening an increase yesterday to stop by every few days and do that. ;) Also, keep the costume handy, Ele.

+2.5: 36 (LC snack)
I really didn't expect this at all! I was sure she would have gone higher because of the delayed shot. Hoping for only a small bounce later (or none).
 
Re: 5/9 Buzz AMPS: 51 (@ +14.25), +1.5: 56, +2.5: 36

Sarah,

IMO, 36 @ +2.5 is a call for HC... tis early in the cycle and tis the 30s.... surfing the 50s is a touch better. Can you test in 15 mins to see if food is working on Buzz... thanks!
 
Re: 5/9 Buzz AMPS: 51 (@ +14.25), +1.5: 56, +2.5: 36

Sorry, Helene, didn't see this until just now.

+3.5: 40 (LC snack) Will recheck at +4

The reason I gave LC food is because I have done so before and managed her cycle okay. She tends to be really affected by food, and while I would NEVER withhold a necessary type of food in order to avoid bounce, I am relatively confident that she can be managed with LC while she's in the mid-30s and 40s. I do agree that it calls for more stringent monitoring, so I will do another check in half an hour. :smile:
 
Re: 5/9 Buzz AMPS: 51, +1.5: 56, +2.5: 36, +3.5: 40

Hi, Sarah & Buzz!! Looking Great in here!! I shot Baby @ 50 before & she surfed on LC too, she is carb sensitive! Anyway.. wanted to say great job in this cycle & way to go Buzz!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/9 Buzz AMPS: 51, +1.5: 56, +2.5: 36, +3.5: 40

Well, you know your cat better than anyone else.... a little gravy - not the entire can! - just brings up the numbers a little... out of the 30s and the 40s please... thank you! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/9 Buzz AMPS: 51, +1.5: 56, +2.5: 36, +3.5: 40

Thanks for stopping by, Nicole! :) How is Baby doing today? Did she give you a nice Mother's Day present?

Advice heeded, Helene; if she's still in the 30s or low 40s when I test in 15 minutes, I will give her just a couple of drops of gravy on her LC food. :smile:
 
Re: 5/9 Buzz AMPS: 51, +1.5: 56, +2.5: 36, +3.5: 40, +4: 40

+4: 40 (MC snack) Fed a VERY small amount of gravy with LC food

She is looking good so far!
 
Re: 5/9 Buzz AMPS: 51, +1.5: 56, +2.5: 36, +3.5: 40, +4: 40

I have to agree with Helene. You want Buzz to surf in the greens - just not too low and 40 is pretty low. Remember, you've got some meter variance in there so a 40 could be as low as a 32. Best to have the surf in the 50s or 60s. It is a level that's healing for the pancreas and will, hopefully, not cause a bounce.
 
Re: 5/9 Buzz AMPS: 51, +1.5: 56, +2.5: 36, +3.5: 40, +4: 40

Ok, thanks for the info, Helene and Sienne! I didn't know that about the ideal surfing range (if you want to call it that) so I will definitely try to put that into action. :smile:
 
Re: 5/9 Buzz AMPS: 51, +1.5: 56, +2.5: 36, +3.5: 40, +4: 40

that's a pretty impressive lack of bounce, looks like shooting low paid off. :smile: Yeah, she could be a LITTLE higher, but at least she hasn't taken off for RBC yet.
 
Re: 5/9 Buzz AMPS: 51, +1.5: 56, +2.5: 36, +3.5: 40, +4: 40

Very nice surf today, Sarah & Buzz. You did great today! Buzz is going to be dancing the night away in her beautiful green outfit.
 
Re: 5/9 Buzz AMPS: 51, +1.5: 56, +2.5: 36, +3.5: 40, +4: 40

Hi Sarah! What an interesting day for you and Buzz, congrats on the great numbers! Wanted to let you know Buzz is having a blast at the party! The kitties will be partying all night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top