5/8 Ivy Amps 218, +3.5 57, +6 94, +8 214, +10 386, Pmps 400, +2 360 Libre

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
5/7/24
Amps 218
Good morning,
Late post today. Been up since very early. Changed a libre at 4 am. (skipping on my too much for my liking)

She is having a lower cycle this morning. She is certainly back to work with this dose.

I mentioned late yesterday I got a call from my vets office that Ivy‘s T4 level is 4.0 which is the upper end of Antex “normal “.
Her last T4 was done through Hemopet and was 3.94, so I’m not exactly sure how those two values compare. I’m waiting for all of the labs to come back to discuss everything with my vet. It’s probably gonna be another day or two till the tests are back. They ran a calcium test, which I think takes longer. I have a feeling we’re probably going to need to increase her methimazole dose which sucks because from what I understand the higher the dose the more it can reduce their appetite. But I’ll wait to discuss with the vet.
Hope everyone has a safe day today. :cat:

It looks like I’ll be doing some testing with ear pricks from what I can tell so far. I’m sure she’ll be thrilled with me :nailbiting:
 
Hello Staci! I hope your day goes well, maybe she will let you prick her ears... who knows with those kitties.
Also hope you hear from your vet soon.
 
Hi Staci,
Ivy's really getting on with the program!
Hope she'll stay put and won't stress you too much.
Hope the lab work comes back with good numbers and you can hold the dose.
Wishing you a peaceful rest of the day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
5/7/24
Amps 218
Good morning,
Late post today. Been up since very early. Changed a libre at 4 am. (skipping on my too much for my liking)

She is having a lower cycle this morning. She is certainly back to work with this dose.

I mentioned late yesterday I got a call from my vets office that Ivy‘s T4 level is 4.0 which is the upper end of Antex “normal “.
Her last T4 was done through Hemopet and was 3.94, so I’m not exactly sure how those two values compare. I’m waiting for all of the labs to come back to discuss everything with my vet. It’s probably gonna be another day or two till the tests are back. They ran a calcium test, which I think takes longer. I have a feeling we’re probably going to need to increase her methimazole dose which sucks because from what I understand the higher the dose the more it can reduce their appetite. But I’ll wait to discuss with the vet.
Hope everyone has a safe day today. :cat:

It looks like I’ll be doing some testing with ear pricks from what I can tell so far. I’m sure she’ll be thrilled with me :nailbiting:
Did you change the placement of the sensor? I know you were thinking about trying that.
I’m sorry you had such a busy night. Sending hug and wishes for a very boring day!
 
Hello Staci! I hope your day goes well, maybe she will let you prick her ears... who knows with those kitties.
Also hope you hear from your vet soon.
Hi Cecile, thank you for the sweet wishes. I don’t expect the vet to call yet since all labs aren’t back. But I asked for a copy of labs they do have. (So far nothing. I think until she speaks with me they tend to hold those reports back.)
I would rather have them so I can have my questions prepared ahead of time.
Stay tuned!
Have a good day :bighug:
 
Hi Staci,
Ivy's really getting on with the program!
Hope she'll stay put and won't stress you too much.
Hope the lab work comes back with good numbers and you can hold the dose.
Wishing you a peaceful rest of the day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Kit, I hope so, too. I am quite worried and had hoped for better numbers. Bummer :(
I'm also worried as I am seeing her rapid breathing, which from what I read, can be a heart issue as a result of the hyperthyroid.
One more thing to stress about.

Will discuss with the vet at some point this week. Ugh. My sweet girl....:arghh::arghh:
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Did you change the placement of the sensor? I know you were thinking about trying that.
I’m sorry you had such a busy night. Sending hug and wishes for a very boring day!
Thanks, Deb, I did change the placement a bit. I will let you know if I see any difference. I will try to get a photo of where I put it at some point to show you.
Thanks for brainstorming with me :)
And a boring day to you, too:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Kit, I hope so, too. I am quite worried and had hoped for better numbers. Bummer :(
I'm also worried as I am seeing her rapid breathing, which from what I read, can be a heart issue as a result of the hyperthyroid.
One more thing to stress about.

Will discuss with the vet at some point this week. Ugh. My sweet girl....:arghh::arghh:
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I am supposed to go out to dinner this evening, close to home, I will feed her some 12.5% for safety. Will be home before +3, and will feed 6% for that snack. At this stage of the day she seems to be losing duration and heading higher. Guess her body had enough in lower numbers this morning:confused:
 
I am supposed to go out to dinner this evening, close to home, I will feed her some 12.5% for safety. Will be home before +3, and will feed 6% for that snack. At this stage of the day she seems to be losing duration and heading higher. Guess her body had enough in lower numbers this morning:confused:
How is her breathing? That worries me a bit.

You had the thyroid labs done somewhere other than HP? I’m not sure how they would compare.
 
How is her breathing? That worries me a bit.

You had the thyroid labs done somewhere other than HP? I’m not sure how they would compare.
Her breathing is fine, not struggling or anything. I just see her doing some rapid breathing when she is lying down. Like her heart rate is at a more rapid pace.
Not all the time. Just been noticing it. She doesn’t appear to be struggling, just watching her sides moving at a more rapid rate.

It’s worrying me too :(

Yes they sent the T4 to Antech with the rest of the panel.
The Vet said I didn’t need all the other thyroid tests at this time.
 
Just sending some good vibes to you and Ivy.

Purrl's got a heart murmur that seems transient. I do notice at times she breathes a bit more quickly with some mouth exhales (with no exertion to invoke it) but it seems to pass in a few minutes and she's no worse for it. We did have the test for heart disease and she didn't require any intervention at this time.

I wonder if your vet would have heard a heart murmur if Ivy's so sedated at the vet? I have no idea how that works (the effects of sedation on the heart) since Purrl doesn't require sedation, and the vet picked it up at our last visit. Also, if it's an occasional thing I would think that makes finding out the cause more difficult. Always something new to be concerned about! :bighug:
 
Just sending some good vibes to you and Ivy.

Purrl's got a heart murmur that seems transient. I do notice at times she breathes a bit more quickly with some mouth exhales (with no exertion to invoke it) but it seems to pass in a few minutes and she's no worse for it. We did have the test for heart disease and she didn't require any intervention at this time.

I wonder if your vet would have heard a heart murmur if Ivy's so sedated at the vet? I have no idea how that works (the effects of sedation on the heart) since Purrl doesn't require sedation, and the vet picked it up at our last visit. Also, if it's an occasional thing I would think that makes finding out the cause more difficult. Always something new to be concerned about! :bighug:
Hmmm. Good questions. The vet didn’t mention anything and she did listen to her heart on Monday. But I didn’t mention the issue since it’s not all the time. I was so focused on all the other issues of the day. :arghh:
Thanks for the information, Janet :bighug::bighug:
 
5/7/24
Amps 218
Good morning,
Late post today. Been up since very early. Changed a libre at 4 am. (skipping on my too much for my liking)

She is having a lower cycle this morning. She is certainly back to work with this dose.

I mentioned late yesterday I got a call from my vets office that Ivy‘s T4 level is 4.0 which is the upper end of Antex “normal “.
Her last T4 was done through Hemopet and was 3.94, so I’m not exactly sure how those two values compare. I’m waiting for all of the labs to come back to discuss everything with my vet. It’s probably gonna be another day or two till the tests are back. They ran a calcium test, which I think takes longer. I have a feeling we’re probably going to need to increase her methimazole dose which sucks because from what I understand the higher the dose the more it can reduce their appetite. But I’ll wait to discuss with the vet.
Hope everyone has a safe day today. :cat:

It looks like I’ll be doing some testing with ear pricks from what I can tell so far. I’m sure she’ll be thrilled with me :nailbiting:

All paws and fingers are crossed her appetite is not affected by a possible increase! I'm sure it is stressful to wait for the results and make decisions. I send you and Ivy a big hug pray that everything turns out well. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
All paws and fingers are crossed her appetite is not affected by a possible increase! I'm sure it is stressful to wait for the results and make decisions. I send you and Ivy a big hug pray that everything turns out well. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you, Heike. Hug received and all prayers are appreciated. Sending the same back to you and Binie :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top