5/8/2022 Lucifer- PMPS 82, +2 32, +3 90 Change dosing?

LoufsMama

Member Since 2022
Hey everyone I will post the link below to my other feed from prior. Louf has been in the green most of the day. Ate his can of Weruva this morning and tonight. I just did his +2 and he’s dropped to 32. Gave him a small bit of MC. I’ll test him again in 20-30 minutes. Does this mean I drop him down to the 2.5 units?
 
Yes on the reduction, but we do dose reduction by 0.25u at this level. Might be worth doing a quick recheck in case it was a wonky strip, but if that number is accurate, time for some syrup, MC won't do it, a couple of drops of syrup right now please. 32 is too low on an AT2.
 
I will reduce in the am. Just rubbed karo on his gums and tongue. Not a ton but he got enough. How long should I wait to check again?
 
Okay thank you. This is our first ever drop so I’m so nervous. How should I proceed if it is something that wears off quickly. I don’t want to go to bed and have something happen to him later tonight.
 
You're doing fine, remember testing will help you determine next steps. Let's see the next test, and we'll go from there. This sticky also helps give you some guidelines and helpful to keep it printed out https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/

It's still early in the cycle, so we want to keep monitoring, and offering carbs to make sure he stays safe. I'll stay with you for a couple of hours. How is he doing? Acting ok?
 
Thank you. Yes he is acting his normal self just seems extra hungry. He gobbled down the MC very quickly.
 
You're welcome, I'm happy to help. Maverick often gets hungry too when he's going lower. Might be worth keeping track of what you fed in terms of carbs at +2 there on your SS in the remarks, and also add that you gave some karo. Always helpful when looking back on cycles to see what was working and use that info for the future.
 
Perfect, let's do some regular food, a couple of teaspoons and retest in about 45 minutes. Sometime the early drops like this fizzle out, but that could also be the karo working.
 
Updated now. Yes it scared me too! And I’m so glad for the help you are all wonderful. I will do that.
 
You can give a couple of drops of karo in with a couple of teaspoons of HC food. Sometimes kitties get a little overfull if you feed too much, but if he's interested in eating let him have a couple of bites.
 
I gave him more of the karo and food when I got the 47 testing again shortly for the 20 minutes
 
Lol. He’s laying her purring away. I’m glad he’s not sick or anything though.
 
Glad he's not fussed about it lol. Let's hope he stays up now, the dose is still doing its thing, so perhaps feed some MC even though he's above 68, and see where he's at in 30-45 minutes. We've seen what can happen sometimes with the HC and karo where the numbers bobble up and down as it wears off, so you want a couple of consecutive tests where you're sure he's done dropping and is staying up.
 
Ugh I think I slept a collective two hours last night I just could not get him back up until like 2am. He definitely scared me.
 
And he was happy as can be cuddling and purring so I would’ve never guessed it if I wasn’t testing.
 
Great job staying on top of the rest of the cycle last night. Hoping you can sneak in a cat nap today. For your SS, rather than adding another row, you can just stack the additional tests in the same cell, so for example: +2 = 32, +2.5=90 and similarly when you had additional tests in the +3 time frame. I'm curious where his AMPS will be this morning and don't forget to take the reduction to 2.75u. No bouncing Louf :)
 
@Hendrick Cuddleclaw not sure if you are still on. I tested him just a bit ago and it wouldn’t even read said lo. Gave him karo and it went up to 181. I double checked because they are so different numbers and now he’s 160. Could the karo react very fast? And should I still shoot. I’m delirious from tired and so confused.
 
@Christie & Maverick can you read what I just posted above I’m so confused on what to do next. I don’t know if the LO was a bad strip? And thank you I’m so tired but just glad he’s doing okay.
 
Sometimes when there isn't enough of a blood drop you can get bad readings. Why don't you wait another 20 minutes and see if another test verifies he's safe to shoot.
 
Okay thank you that may have been it. Now I feel like a jerk for giving him karo it’ll probably boost him, but with last night I just thought he was crashing more. I will wait and check as long as he’s above the 68 shoot with a reduced amount.
 
Okay thank you that may have been it. Now I feel like a jerk for giving him karo it’ll probably boost him, but with last night I just thought he was crashing more. I will wait and check as long as he’s above the 68 shoot with a reduced amount.

agreed sounds like a bad test, I don't think the karo would bump it that much so quickly.

congrats on the reducie!! this is a big day!!

I'm glad that although you got scary low numbers, there were never any signs of a hypo.
 
@Christie & Maverick I’m so mad at myself for giving it without rechecking first I freaked out because of how he was crashing last night. So now he’s up to 238. But I did give him the 2.75. So hopefully we can get back on track today.
 
Don't be too hard on yourself, we've all done it, especially when functioning on no sleep! Whenever the test seems out of place, now you know to do a quick retest ;). One thing to mention, although it isn't an issue this morning, is you always want to be careful around preshots not to give high carbs which could artificially inflate the number, and give you a false sense of confidence. Sometimes the cycles get away from you quickly when the HC carbs wear off and the dose kicks in. Again not the case this morning, since 160 would have been safe.
 
Ashley --

Can you make a correction on your spreadsheet. You have two rows labeled "5/8/2022." I got confused initially thinking you hadn't entered any data from yesterday.
 
Ashley --

Can you make a correction on your spreadsheet. You have two rows labeled "5/8/2022." I got confused initially thinking you hadn't entered any data from yesterday.


Hello, yes I’m trying to figure out how to add the +2.5’s and so on. They keep saying error when I try.
 
Take a look at Gabby's SS. I would stack the numbers in a cell. You will need to manually color code if you have additional info in a cell, though.
 
That’s okay! I finally got it lol. I don’t know how to color code them manually though?
 
Back
Top