5/7 Sara AMPS~88

Status
Not open for further replies.

jan and Hep and sara (GA)

Member Since 2009
Morning LL,

Instead of WCR, I have to say WOW! She got amazing #'s last night on her 3 month old insulin. [Double digits] I wonder if she may be doing some of this on her own. Should I stick with this dose when I give the new insulin? I am going to be away tomorrow from +4-+8. So I may hold off and open new pen at the pm shot instead.
Off to excersice and than tbp.

Have a great day.

jan and sara

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=13701
weds thread
 
Re: 5/7 Sara AMPS~88 question on new insulin dose?

no dosing advice, just wanted to say what great numbers, especially on insulin 3 months old!!
 
Re: 5/7 Sara AMPS~88 question on new insulin dose?

Wish there was a way to know if that 3 month old insulin has any punch at all, but we can't check it. IF it has pooped out, she is doing this on her own. I hope an experienced Bean will be along to weigh in on this....beautiful AMPS this morning!!
 
Re: 5/7 Sara AMPS~88 question on new insulin dose?

I like the idea of holding off until you are around.
It isn't like you need to worry about her numbers.
I mean, there is a chance the insulin is dead and she went you know where.
Will be fun to see what happens when you open a new pen.
 
Re: 5/7 Sara AMPS~88 question on new insulin dose?

I'm new here but just looked and what a beautiful spreadsheet!
 
Re: 5/7 Sara AMPS~88 question on new insulin dose?

When I read your question, my response was the same as D's. I always feel better opening a new pen when I'm going to be around to keep an eye on things.
 
Re: 5/7 Sara AMPS~88 question on new insulin dose?

before opening a new pen, is there any chance of doing an otj trial and see if her #s stay the same? then you would know if she was doing it on her own. just a thought...
 
Re: 5/7 Sara AMPS~88 question on new insulin dose?

Dawn and Mateo Wiggles & Toby said:
before opening a new pen, is there any chance of doing an otj trial and see if her #s stay the same? then you would know if she was doing it on her own. just a thought...
That sounds like a VERY good idea! When Ragnar dropped to 45 in April 09, he was really and truly going OTJ, and didn't need insulin again until this week. His BG was in the 70s (no insulin) for months until I stopped checking, and only resumed checking when he started drinking even more than usual. (Caught it in time - 200+; made appointment for next day; up to 500 but then he was going back on insulin. We didn't waste any time.)

Anyway, with numbers that low, an OTJ trial sounds like a great idea, especially when the insulin is old and might not be doing much...

Blessings!

Shirley and Mr. Darling
 
Re: 5/7 Sara AMPS~88 question on new insulin dose?

Dawn and Mateo Wiggles & Toby said:
before opening a new pen, is there any chance of doing an otj trial and see if her #s stay the same? then you would know if she was doing it on her own. just a thought...
at this point, an otj trial is not recommended. instead, weaning kitties down to a drop of insulin is the preferred method. we want to make sure sara's beta cells have recovered enough to handle things on their own. *most* kitties do not go into remission (and stay in remission) with fast reductions. we want to be especially careful with sara because she is not a newly diagnosed kitty. she has returned from the falls... and we'd like to get her back there! :-D
good luck with the new pen, jan! sara is doing so well! fwiw, i agree with the others about starting it when you'll be around to monitor...
 
I also agree with the others who said to wait to open the new pen when you are around to monitor. Nice day for Sara!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top