5/7: Lando AMPS 79, PMPS 85 :)

TankNRK

Member Since 2022
Previous Post:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-5-lando-amps-102.277206/#post-3069186

Everything's great in LandoLand!
I missed posting yesterday cause I've been a little sick. I missed Bhooma suggesting we should try a reduction on Lando since he's been within normal range for so long even on his reduction, so we may be doing that tonight.
I finally cracked the Lando code on snacks so I don't have to stay up so late past my bedtime as well! To keep him from dropping into the 50s every night I have to feed him every hour until his +6 :facepalm: and every +1.5hrs until +6 for the mornings, just to play it safe since I'm at work. He doesn't drop as hard, fast, and low in his morning cycles so it's a little easier! Lando always likes to drop really low and fast at night :rolleyes:
 
I must have missed that about TR when reading through the guides!
Lando's doing great, I'm so proud!

Can someone explain to me why that also qualifies at a dose reduction? I understand why hitting below 50 is, as the insulin is too high, but I'd think that if they're spending time within normal range that means they're getting the right amount. I would have thought on my own that we have the perfect dose!
 
It's a matter of gradually weaning down the dose. Ideally, you want your cat on the lowest dose possible to maintain normal range numbers. Given how well you manage the curve, there's also no way to know that if you didn't give a bit of food when Lando's numbers are in the 50s whether he would get a dose reduction, lowering the dose with a week in normal numbers is a way to provide a bit of a margin of safety.
 
Back
Top