Jack & Mopem'sMom
Member Since 2020
Dealing with Jack is like playing with a yo-yo. I always hated yo-yo's as a kid, I could never do any tricks and was lucky to get the stupid thing to go up and down a few times. I never understood the attraction in that toy. I find this to be a perfect metaphor for Jack lately...up and down, up and down, the tricks don't work, so we go up and down......


We're going between 7.5 and 8 units the past 2 days, and from 105-339 over the course of 12 hours. The diet struggle is the same; I'm really hoping to find time to get to the pet store between work meetings and get some freeze dried treats for the top of his pate. Maybe that will be the winning trick. I still need to look into the levemir insulin, but I'm hesitant to switch in the middle of all the craziness going on with my mom. I live in fear of having to run to NY at a moment's notice, and I am completely unsuccessful in finding anyone who is willing to do more than the most basic of things for Jack, so part of me wants to err on the side of caution and stick with the 'known' even if he is higher than he should be. I don't know. I'm completely out of steam, out of ideas, and just plain exhausted from my life. Apologies for the complaints, I'm just not dealing well.
Last thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-3-jack-261-amps-increased-to-8u.277149/#post-3068819



We're going between 7.5 and 8 units the past 2 days, and from 105-339 over the course of 12 hours. The diet struggle is the same; I'm really hoping to find time to get to the pet store between work meetings and get some freeze dried treats for the top of his pate. Maybe that will be the winning trick. I still need to look into the levemir insulin, but I'm hesitant to switch in the middle of all the craziness going on with my mom. I live in fear of having to run to NY at a moment's notice, and I am completely unsuccessful in finding anyone who is willing to do more than the most basic of things for Jack, so part of me wants to err on the side of caution and stick with the 'known' even if he is higher than he should be. I don't know. I'm completely out of steam, out of ideas, and just plain exhausted from my life. Apologies for the complaints, I'm just not dealing well.Last thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-3-jack-261-amps-increased-to-8u.277149/#post-3068819
