5/5 Jack 109bg/0.3ketones @AMPS-back to 7.5units

Jack & Mopem'sMom

Member Since 2020
Dealing with Jack is like playing with a yo-yo. I always hated yo-yo's as a kid, I could never do any tricks and was lucky to get the stupid thing to go up and down a few times. I never understood the attraction in that toy. I find this to be a perfect metaphor for Jack lately...up and down, up and down, the tricks don't work, so we go up and down......:arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh: We're going between 7.5 and 8 units the past 2 days, and from 105-339 over the course of 12 hours. The diet struggle is the same; I'm really hoping to find time to get to the pet store between work meetings and get some freeze dried treats for the top of his pate. Maybe that will be the winning trick. I still need to look into the levemir insulin, but I'm hesitant to switch in the middle of all the craziness going on with my mom. I live in fear of having to run to NY at a moment's notice, and I am completely unsuccessful in finding anyone who is willing to do more than the most basic of things for Jack, so part of me wants to err on the side of caution and stick with the 'known' even if he is higher than he should be. I don't know. I'm completely out of steam, out of ideas, and just plain exhausted from my life. Apologies for the complaints, I'm just not dealing well.

Last thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-3-jack-261-amps-increased-to-8u.277149/#post-3068819
 
Hi Christine, I'm sorry you have a lot to deal with, between Jack and your Mom. I could imagine how stressed out you are. I can sort of relate even though Tyler's in remission. My dad is in a nursing home with Alzheimer's for 2 years already. Up until about a month and a half ago he knew who me, my sister, my daughter and my brother was. Now he has no clue. It's makes me sick to my stomach.
We all take turns going up to visit with him. I usually stay about 3 hours
My daughter who is 37 has been sick for 19 years , you probably never heard of it, it's called Complex Regional Pain Syndrome. In pain 24/7 No cure and not many things to try and we've tried them all.
There is something called the McGill pain scale and it's the highest ranking pain on the scale.She can't leave the house other than doctor visits.
So between my dad and my daughter I do get stressed out a lot
Then I'll get so angry that this happened to my daughter and my dad
I can understand why you want to wait to give Levimer a shot until everything calms down . You don't need to apologize at all, vent away.
Life can really syck sometimes I get it.
Hang in there ok, you are doing the best you can .:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Just in case you want to know what Complex Regional Pain Syndrome is you can read this
https://princessinthetower.org/complex-regional-pan-syndrome-crpsrsd/
The worst part is she also has it in her ears, jaw, face and head
So she can't be around any noise, that's why she can't go out, how the hell can you escape any noise. It's a messed up disease to have
Talk to you soon and keep your chin up! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
You have a lot going on. :bighug::bighug::bighug: I totally get your reluctance to switch to Lev at this point. I felt practically like a newbie for the first month after the switch, as I tried to figure out Neko and Lev, and she started to figure out how to work it too. I'm kind of on stand by for my mother too, and she lives on an island. No sudden changes for me either.

Take care of you. :bighug:
 
Hi Christine, I'm sorry you have a lot to deal with, between Jack and your Mom. I could imagine how stressed out you are. I can sort of relate even though Tyler's in remission. My dad is in a nursing home with Alzheimer's for 2 years already. Up until about a month and a half ago he knew who me, my sister, my daughter and my brother was. Now he has no clue. It's makes me sick to my stomach.
We all take turns going up to visit with him. I usually stay about 3 hours
My daughter who is 37 has been sick for 19 years , you probably never heard of it, it's called Complex Regional Pain Syndrome. In pain 24/7 No cure and not many things to try and we've tried them all.
There is something called the McGill pain scale and it's the highest ranking pain on the scale.She can't leave the house other than doctor visits.
So between my dad and my daughter I do get stressed out a lot
Then I'll get so angry that this happened to my daughter and my dad
I can understand why you want to wait to give Levimer a shot until everything calms down . You don't need to apologize at all, vent away.
Life can really syck sometimes I get it.
Hang in there ok, you are doing the best you can .:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Just in case you want to know what Complex Regional Pain Syndrome is you can read this
https://princessinthetower.org/complex-regional-pan-syndrome-crpsrsd/
The worst part is she also has it in her ears, jaw, face and head
So she can't be around any noise, that's why she can't go out, how the hell can you escape any noise. It's a messed up disease to have
Talk to you soon and keep your chin up! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Ugh, I'm so sorry to hear all you are dealing with, the Alzheimer's is tough enough, but the Complex Pain Syndrome, that sounds just awful from what I read on the link you posted. I'm so sorry. Sending you and your family love and hugs, and will be keeping you all in my prayers. Thank you for sharing- it put my own life in perspective.
 
You have a lot going on. :bighug::bighug::bighug: I totally get your reluctance to switch to Lev at this point. I felt practically like a newbie for the first month after the switch, as I tried to figure out Neko and Lev, and she started to figure out how to work it too. I'm kind of on stand by for my mother too, and she lives on an island. No sudden changes for me either.

Take care of you. :bighug:
Oh no, an island. That's too much! Stay safe and well, you and mom!
 
Ugh, I'm so sorry to hear all you are dealing with, the Alzheimer's is tough enough, but the Complex Pain Syndrome, that sounds just awful from what I read on the link you posted. I'm so sorry. Sending you and your family love and hugs, and will be keeping you all in my prayers. Thank you for sharing- it put my own life in perspective.
I can't hank you enough
for reading about it :bighug: there really isn't much awareness about CRPS ( short for the name of it )
There is about approximately 189,000 people that have it
I guess that's not enough to bring awareness to it
Give that scooch a big kiss for me
Hope you have a good day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top