5/4 Skippy AMPS 158

Status
Not open for further replies.

skippy and birten

Active Member
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=13601

Just dropping in from work to post his numbers.

Gabby said yesterday: Skippy is no longer a newly diagnosed diabetic. "Officially," he has to drop below 40 to earn a decrease. So, his numbers tonight do not get him a decrease. However, he did drop lower last night and it looks like you shaved the dose. Does Skippy not typically hold dose reductions well? That would be the only rationale for shaving the dose.

To answer: this time the reduction has been different. He has not been bouncing back to the HC. Not sure why. I am shaving very slowly only because if you review SS back in Feb-March we went quickly from 2.50 down to 1.00 and I do not think it worked.

Let's see what tonight holds. I understand the 40 is the cut off for reduction but had I not given him HC at 45 he would have dropped below 40...so I do not understand the logic here. He was glassy eyed and kinda out of it. Please explain.

As for the subject line- if I am on my blackberry I can not change it as easily as if I am on a computer. Will try to logg on but when it gets tooooooo late at night I stick to the BB- thanks
 
Hi, Skippy & Birten too!! Nice green surf last night & now blues today!! Yay!!
I cannot speak for Sienne, but can answer what I think you might be asking...
Skippy has been Diabetic on Insulin for over a year, so he is not considered a "newly" diagnosed & we shave doses (by drops) for kitties who do not hold their decreases. For example, lets say you have a kitty on 2 units & you decrease him to 1.75 (the .25 as written in protocol) but he shoots back up in BG#s, not "holding" the reduced dose" so then you go back up to 2 units again & you get in a repetitive cycle.. so we may give this kitty just a drop less the next time he is up for dosecrease, so he has a better chance of "holding" the decrease. This kitty needs something between the two doses & not the full decrease. Also, just because kitties do not hold full decreases at one point, does not mean they never will.. a lot of them start sliding down the dosing scale eventually!! Happy Tuesday & Baby hopes to see Skippy tonight at her party!! ;-)
 
Re: 5/4 Skippy PMPS 103

Got home and he did not eat any of the food left out. He did the same yesterday. He had a hardy dinner but was starting with the Finky attitude. He is licking himself and of course is sitting in my spot on th coach. His eyes though look tired from his pancrease working hard these past two days. Hope I will get my zzzz tonight.
 
Re: 5/4 Skippy PMPS 103 +1 103 +2 98 +2.5 82

Looking much better tonight. Does not have the glassy looking eyes and is cuddled up to my side purring!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top