? 5/4 George AMPS 189 Libre and dosing Question -

borg the gorb

Member Since 2026
George 5/3/26 AMPS 246 - +1 148 +2 158 +6 95 +7 100 +9 106 +11 135 - PMPS 161

The libre is reading 250 but his handheld is consistently reading 189 (I tested twice with it, and it read 189 the first time and 192 the second time)

Im a little confused as to why the libre is recording such high and low numbers. It read 46 last night so I had to turn off the phone due to it blaring the blasted alarm constantly despite his handheld reading 98

As for dosing, he read 189/192 this morning in his AMPS, I should hold off on increasing his dose, right @Marje and Gracie ?
 

Attachments

  • 20260503_210033.jpg
    20260503_210033.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 8
George 5/3/26 AMPS 246 - +1 148 +2 158 +6 95 +7 100 +9 106 +11 135 - PMPS 161

The libre is reading 250 but his handheld is consistently reading 189 (I tested twice with it, and it read 189 the first time and 192 the second time)

Im a little confused as to why the libre is recording such high and low numbers. It read 46 last night so I had to turn off the phone due to it blaring the blasted alarm constantly despite his handheld reading 98

As for dosing, he read 189/192 this morning in his AMPS, I should hold off on increasing his dose, right @Marje and Gracie ?
Hi Zach, can you fill in data for the overnight cycle on the Libre from last night? You can go back with the Libre and see the numbers overnight.
It’s not unusual for the Libre to be 50 or even 100 points different at the low end or the high end.
Numbers seem to be somewhat closer in the middle range.
I know you have seen numbers pretty close between your Libre and your handheld meter especially at the low end so you kind of want to trust that a bit since you have test tested with an ear poke and your numbers have been pretty close.

He’s probably bouncing when he hits lower numbers so that’s not unusual.

Yes, the Libre will blast that loud alarm when he goes low on the Libre.
What I do is turn the volume down on my phone and Ivy’s phone as well.
Overnight, especially, I wrap both phones in a thick towel to keep the volume down, but I still want to know if Ivy is hitting low numbers and I would still be woken up if needed but, it would be not so screeching loud.
You could try something like that.
I also bought some soundproofing foam on Amazon and made a little box (I used a plastic clamshell pencil box from the Dollar Store) to keep Ivy’s phone in so I didn’t scare her with the alarms and it really mutes the alarm sound so she’s not scared of the device.
I hope this helps 😻

I would wait to hear from Marje about dosing. I know she’s not up yet and her time zone but will be up shortly I’m sure.
 
Hi Zach, can you fill in data for the overnight cycle on the Libre from last night? You can go back with the Libre and see the numbers overnight.
It’s not unusual for the Libre to be 50 or even 100 points different at the low end or the high end.
Numbers seem to be somewhat closer in the middle range.
I know you have seen numbers pretty close between your Libre and your handheld meter especially at the low end so you kind of want to trust that a bit since you have test tested with an ear poke and your numbers have been pretty close.

He’s probably bouncing when he hits lower numbers so that’s not unusual.

Yes, the Libre will blast that loud alarm when he goes low on the Libre.
What I do is turn the volume down on my phone and Ivy’s phone as well.
Overnight, especially, I wrap both phones in a thick towel to keep the volume down, but I still want to know if Ivy is hitting low numbers and I would still be woken up if needed but, it would be not so screeching loud.
You could try something like that.
I also bought some soundproofing foam on Amazon and made a little box (I used a plastic clamshell pencil box from the Dollar Store) to keep Ivy’s phone in so I didn’t scare her with the alarms and it really mutes the alarm sound so she’s not scared of the device.
I hope this helps 😻

I would wait to hear from Marje about dosing. I know she’s not up yet and her time zone but will be up shortly I’m sure.
1000014722.jpg

This is what its showing me right now, I hope this is helpful! I do have physical therapy now so ill handheld test him again when I get home
 
George 5/3/26 AMPS 246 - +1 148 +2 158 +6 95 +7 100 +9 106 +11 135 - PMPS 161

The libre is reading 250 but his handheld is consistently reading 189 (I tested twice with it, and it read 189 the first time and 192 the second time)

Im a little confused as to why the libre is recording such high and low numbers. It read 46 last night so I had to turn off the phone due to it blaring the blasted alarm constantly despite his handheld reading 98

As for dosing, he read 189/192 this morning in his AMPS, I should hold off on increasing his dose, right @Marje and Gracie ?
When the Libre was 46, the handheld was 98….do I have that correct? Did you get any lower numbers than that on either especially the handheld?

If not, I would have increased but it’s ok to let this dose go through today. With where he is, it’s better to increase in the AM especially if you are there. That also lets you get a little more data and see what he does when he clears this baby bounce.

You’re doing great!

Thanks @Staci & Ivy for being there 😘
 
When the Libre was 46, the handheld was 98….do I have that correct? Did you get any lower numbers than that on either especially the handheld?

If not, I would have increased but it’s ok to let this dose go through today. With where he is, it’s better to increase in the AM especially if you are there. That also lets you get a little more data and see what he does when he clears this baby bounce.

You’re doing great!

Thanks @Staci & Ivy for being there 😘
That is correct, that inconsistency confused me very much. Its because the libre measures interstitial fluid between cells compared to blood and can "lag" correct?
 
That is correct, that inconsistency confused me very much. Its because the libre measures interstitial fluid between cells compared to blood and can "lag" correct?
@Staci & Ivy can you answer this question please as you know more about the Libre than I do.

I will say if the Libre is lagging, that would mean he dropped really low before you got the 98 on the handheld and that’s a big jump in conclusion for me to make looking at his trends.
 
@Staci & Ivy can you answer this question please as you know more about the Libre than I do.

I will say if the Libre is lagging, that would mean he dropped really low before you got the 98 on the handheld and that’s a big jump in conclusion for me to make looking at his trends.
Yes I agree.
He was probably lower before you took the reading with you handheld.

Sometimes when they linger in lower numbers the meters align.
Sometimes the meters are off as the cat has already bounced up a bit so the handheld shows a lower number.
It’s not a perfect science but it does give you indications of if they are going too low for their safety.
 
Yes I agree.
He was probably lower before you took the reading with you handheld.

Sometimes when they linger in lower numbers the meters align.
Sometimes the meters are off as the cat has already bounced up a bit so the handheld shows a lower number.
It’s not a perfect science but it does give you indications of if they are going too low for their safety.
I probably was unclear….my bad. I was saying based on the BG he got at +2 on the handheld, the data doesn’t support that he dropped lower between +2 and +3 as the Libre would suggest.
 
I probably was unclear….my bad. I was saying based on the BG he got at +2 on the handheld, the data doesn’t support that he dropped lower between +2 and +3 as the Libre would suggest.
We can’t be completely certain. The only thing that I can surely say is that he was definitely in a lower range during that period of time which is shown on the Libre graph.
What I do know is that when Ivy is low on the Libre, she will be low on a handheld meter as well. (For her it could be 100-150s on a handheld).
The numbers may not line up, but I can verify that she is certainly in a “lower range”.

My only concern with George is that when Zach has tested him in that lower range, sometimes he has found a pretty close range between the 2 meters.

When he did test that Libre 46 and got a 98 on a handheld that is similar to things I have seen. When he did test that Libre 46 and got a 98 on a handheld, that is similar to things I have seen.
 
We can’t be completely certain. The only thing that I can surely say is that he was definitely in a lower range during that period of time which is shown on the Libre graph.
What I do know is that when Ivy is low on the Libre, she will be low on a handheld meter as well. (For her it could be 100-150s on a handheld).
The numbers may not line up, but I can verify that she is certainly in a “lower range”.

My only concern with George is that when Zach has tested him in that lower range, sometimes he has found a pretty close range between the 2 meters.

When he did test that Libre 46 and got a 98 on a handheld that is similar to things I have seen. When he did test that Libre 46 and got a 98 on a handheld, that is similar to things I have seen.
Agreed but “lower” is relative. Lower than PMPS? Definitely. Low enough to earn a reduction as the Libre would indicate….not even close.

I know we’ve had discussions about this and my concern with a Libre and a newly diagnosed cat, not a long-term diabetic like Ivy, is it could cause the CG to want to make dosing decisions based on the Libre. If one doesn’t have the data and history you do, a 46 is pretty scary and, as you can see, kept Zach from increasing the dose which I think he needs.

Never simple is it? 😉
 
So the libre is just delayed/exaggerated and I should trust the handheld for that reading?
I would always trust a handheld over a Libre, IMHO. For decades, that is all we had here and hundreds and hundreds of cats have gone into remission (and stayed there) just in this Lantus forum alone using a handheld.

Unfortunately, I don’t have data on how many CGM cats have gone into remission or if they’ve stayed but it would be interesting data.

@Staci & Ivy you’ve seen the OTJ cats closely the last few years. Do you know any data on ones that have gone OTJ using the CGMs?
 
I would always trust a handheld over a Libre, IMHO. For decades, that is all we had here and hundreds and hundreds of cats have gone into remission (and stayed there) just in this Lantus forum alone using a handheld.

Unfortunately, I don’t have data on how many CGM cats have gone into remission or if they’ve stayed but it would be interesting data.

@Staci & Ivy you’ve seen the OTJ cats closely the last few years. Do you know any data on ones that have gone OTJ using the CGMs?
I think Monster was a Libre kitty who is now OTJ.
@Monster's Mom
 
Agreed but “lower” is relative. Lower than PMPS? Definitely. Low enough to earn a reduction as the Libre would indicate….not even close.

I know we’ve had discussions about this and my concern with a Libre and a newly diagnosed cat, not a long-term diabetic like Ivy, is it could cause the CG to want to make dosing decisions based on the Libre. If one doesn’t have the data and history you do, a 46 is pretty scary and, as you can see, kept Zach from increasing the dose which I think he needs.

Never simple is it? 😉
Nope it’s not easy 😻
Always good to be able to poke to check!
 
Thanks @Staci & Ivy for the tag. Monster is still in remission!

I found the Libre helpful as a guide to see how her cycles were trending, but I couldn't rely on it for a correct number. I still tested her at least 4 times a day with the Contour and I relied on that number for dosing. The Libre would always read higher unless she got down into the 60s, then it switched to reading lower.

Ad she got closer to normal levels, the Libre would mess up and error out. I think it works better on kitties with higher BG levels.
 
Thanks @Staci & Ivy for the tag. Monster is still in remission!

I found the Libre helpful as a guide to see how her cycles were trending, but I couldn't rely on it for a correct number. I still tested her at least 4 times a day with the Contour and I relied on that number for dosing. The Libre would always read higher unless she got down into the 60s, then it switched to reading lower.

Ad she got closer to normal levels, the Libre would mess up and error out. I think it works better on kitties with higher BG levels.
Thanks for checking in Regan! I’m so happy to hear Monster is still doing well!
Please give her lots of belly rubs from us 😻🐈‍⬛💓
 
Thanks @Staci & Ivy for the tag. Monster is still in remission!

I found the Libre helpful as a guide to see how her cycles were trending, but I couldn't rely on it for a correct number. I still tested her at least 4 times a day with the Contour and I relied on that number for dosing. The Libre would always read higher unless she got down into the 60s, then it switched to reading lower.

Ad she got closer to normal levels, the Libre would mess up and error out. I think it works better on kitties with higher BG levels.

Thank you, Regan. That’s very helpful. I’m glad all is well with you both.
 
His +2 is 147
Sorry for the delay. It’s our anniversary and we were out for dinner.

Since his +2 is lower, he might drop a little more. If he just dips below 100 like last night and then comes up, I’d increase to 0.5u in the morning provided the AMPS is 150 or above. Right now he looks to me like he could use the increase.

Have a good night.
 
Back
Top