5/31 PHOEBES amps 244 +2.5 214 +4.5 203 +7.5 236 pmps 316 +2 246.

Status
Not open for further replies.
@Sandy and Black Kitty just a couple of questions. I just gave her 22 units this evening. Am I to give her 24 in am or 22 and the R?if I am understanding you correctly don't give new dose of lantus and r? Just kinda confused and scared at the same time. But ready to give her a chance at better numbers.ty
Stay the course with the Lantus dose - stick to 22. You don't want to increase both at the same time and you don't want to give R on a cycle that might see a lot of L action. Good luck with the experiment!
Yes, like Wendy said -stay the course with the Lantus for now.

What you are aiming for is to determine onset, nadir and duration of an R dose that will gently shift BG downward, no more than 100 mg/dl for the cycle.
Keeping variables ( like potential NDW) to a minimum during this time will help you determine what a particular dose of R may or may not do for Phoebes.

Being slow and long acting, L is not an insulin that can be used to shoot down high numbers quickly. R os fast acting, with a duration generally around 4 hours, so for now you will give the R shot along with the L shot at AMPS or PMPS to potentially provide a better BG at the time of L onset. That way the L does not have to work so hard.

Once you determine what a typical R curve may be for Phoebes, you may find tweaking the shot timing is required, depending on when L onset happens. Shooting R at a time during the cycle that would result in R and L nadirs happening simultaneously should be avoided for safety.

So, your first dose will be 0.25u.
You will prepare one syringe for the R and another for the L.
I believe it has already been brought up however it bears repeating - when working with R and L your mind must be fully present in the moment and you must guard against going into 'autopilot' . No multi tasking. Check and cross-check. You don't want "did I shoot 22u R instead of 22uL?" to be even the remotest possibility. Now's a good time to take inventory of your supplies - plenty of strips, plenty of HC , Karo as well as the telephone number and directions to the nearest ER.

There are other uses for R as well. It can be handy for cutting a bounce off at the knees and also for damage control after the inevitable fur shot.

I'll be looking for your 6/1 condo ahead of your AM shot. Please make sure and have your ss updated to the minute.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top