5/31 Moonie PMPS 99

Connie & Moonie

Member Since 2026
Edited from this am - now I feel like we almost certainly can’t shoot the full dose? Should I try a token shot?


Do I shoot or not? Should I do a reduced dose?

These numbers are new for Moonie who’s so far only been in the high 200-300s for nadirs.

We don’t have a ton of data collected yet as she’s been high and flat so far. However I do have LC and HC and Karo syrup on hand and can be here to test every hour.

Thank you to anyone who could help!
 
Last edited:
I think we’ll retest in 20 mins (at which point I have to make a call) and if it’s flat to stable I will do 2.5u and test every hour.

She’s technically supposed to be on 2.75u but without enough data (or a response here) I’m a little scared to shoot. And 2.25u was definitely insufficient as it never got her below 300
 
I think that’s a good plan. Sorry, I’m driving and can’t write a better response. But if you have the hypo supplies that’s a fine number to shoot. It is nerve wrecking the first few times.
 
She's quite flat which is good! Have you fed her? I'm getting on a flight or I'd stay with you.

Some cats nadir at the end of the cycle when clearing a bounce and then zoom up from there.

If you can monitor, shooooottttttt!

It is indeed scary the first few times, but once you get used to it and you see what lovely cycles you can get, you'll be shooting without blinking :-)
.
 
She's quite flat which is good! Have you fed her? I'm getting on a flight or I'd stay with you.

Some cats nadir at the end of the cycle when clearing a bounce and then zoom up from there.

If you can monitor, shooooottttttt!

It is indeed scary the first few times, but once you get used to it and you see what lovely cycles you can get, you'll be shooting without blinking :-)
.
Thank you so much! You were right. I did 2.5u with usual LC wet food (vs 2.75u), and amps +4 is 198. So her blood glucose went up with food.

Seeing this now I know I could have given her the full dose at 150!
 
Last edited:
Sorry I wasn’t sure if I was allowed to make a new post so commenting again for visibility.

Moonie is now at 99 PMPS (pet meter) and I’m not sure what to shoot…
 
Can you re-test in half an hour?
Yes I plan to thank you! I just wasn’t sure what to do if it stays at this level. It’s weird because she was in 200s at AMPS + 7. She’s been fasting since then so maybe that’s why?
 
Can you re-test in half an hour?
I just retested and she’s at 135. That might just be from the testing half churu?

Edit - I gave her 2.25u (vs her dose at 2.75u) and plan to test at pmps +2.

We are following TR and I know you’re supposed to hold the same dose for 3 days but I’m wondering if we have to reduce to 2.5u tomorrow? Moonie was consistently in the 300s with 2.25u which is why we went up to 2.75u. But we already gave a reduced 2.5u shot this morning and she got to 99-135 pmps. I know dosing isn’t based on preshot but the low numbers are making me a bit unsure.

Thank you in advance!
 
Last edited:
Her dose tomorrow morning is 2.75 units, unless she goes under 50 tonight. But I don't think she will with that bounce starting. Don't worry about the reduced dose tonight, think of it as data gathering. One thing to keep in mind, the depot typically has a heavy influence over the first part of the following cycle. Which is why reducing the dose just a little bit doesn't impact the cycle with the reduce dose much.

So go to sleep, knowing she saw green today! And she will again soon.
 
Her dose tomorrow morning is 2.75 units, unless she goes under 50 tonight. But I don't think she will with that bounce starting. Don't worry about the reduced dose tonight, think of it as data gathering. One thing to keep in mind, the depot typically has a heavy influence over the first part of the following cycle. Which is why reducing the dose just a little bit doesn't impact the cycle with the reduce dose much.

So go to sleep, knowing she saw green today! And she will again soon.
Thank you so much!!

Do you think it would be worth us switching to SLGS while we gather data, since we don’t have a whole lot yet? I just hate the fact that I panicked seeing these new low preshot numbers and made dose changes that may have made the cycle data messier.

But at the same time, I’m willing to work from home and test her every couple hours if it means we could get her regulated. By the time I adopted her, she’d already been poorly regulated and diabetic for almost 1.5 years, and I’m just really eager to get her there.
 
Last edited:
Do you think it would be worth us switching to SLGS while we gather data, since we don’t have a whole lot yet?
No. You do a great job testing enough for TR. When I started here almost no one did SLGS and I think we had more cats going into remission then. Or at least get regulated faster. And we still had a lot of people working full time. Some ideas in here: Is Tight Regulation Possible with a Full Time Job? Yes!

When you see a big jump so early in the cycle, like tonight, or the am cycles of yesterday or the day before, it's mostly likely going to be a slower cycle and you can ease off the testing.

There is a different way you can show on the spreadsheet that you did a delay this morning. Put the 157 in the +11 cell from last night, but write it as 157@+12, then add @154@+12.5. You would then put 152@+13 in amps cell to show what the value was when you shot and that it was an hour late. Then you don't need the explanation in the Remarks column.

That 99 you can enter as 99@+11.5 in the cell, but then you have to manually colour the cell with the paint can tool.
 
And one more note, once you've had your question answered, please remove the "?" icon on the subject line and change the subject text. That way those of us monitoring the board can see that you had your question answered. Thank you.
 
And one more note, once you've had your question answered, please remove the "?" icon on the subject line and change the subject text. That way those of us monitoring the board can see that you had your question answered. Thank you.
Yes thank you! I will do that now.

Thank you so much for taking the time to respond and help. I know all of you have busy lives with obligations and there are a bunch of us newbies here pulling on your time.
 
No. You do a great job testing enough for TR. When I started here almost no one did SLGS and I think we had more cats going into remission then. Or at least get regulated faster. And we still had a lot of people working full time. Some ideas in here: Is Tight Regulation Possible with a Full Time Job? Yes!

When you see a big jump so early in the cycle, like tonight, or the am cycles of yesterday or the day before, it's mostly likely going to be a slower cycle and you can ease off the testing.

There is a different way you can show on the spreadsheet that you did a delay this morning. Put the 157 in the +11 cell from last night, but write it as 157@+12, then add @154@+12.5. You would then put 152@+13 in amps cell to show what the value was when you shot and that it was an hour late. Then you don't need the explanation in the Remarks column.

That 99 you can enter as 99@+11.5 in the cell, but then you have to manually colour the cell with the paint can tool.
I saw other people do that and then couldn’t figure out how to color the cell using the sheets app on my phone… but I’ll make that change at my computer tomorrow. I think it’s a clearer way to do things :)

And thank you! I’ll take today as good data / learning lesson on our TR journey. I don’t know if remission will ever be a realistic goal for us, but I want to get Moonie as close to it as possible.
 
We were all new once and remember how hard it was in the beginning. That's why we stick around. Just paying back the favours for others who did the same for us.

Regulation is the first goal and a good one. Also a prerequisite for that other R word.
 
Back
Top