5/31/10 Nay... PMPS 90... +1=99

Status
Not open for further replies.

Traveling Cats

Member Since 2010
Happy Memorial Day everyone!

Despite the token dose last night Nay started the morning continuing the trend of blue AM's. We're on the move today. Currently in Salt Lake City Utah and heading down south to visit Zion National Park!

Condo clicky
 
Re: 5/31/10 Nay... Help me shoot low!... PMPS 90

We just got a 90 on the PMPS.... I am ready to shoot low... what do I do?
 
Re: 5/31/10 Nay... Help me shoot low!... PMPS 90

hang on, looking at your SS.

You're home tonight to monitor? And do you have high carb wet food on hand, in case we need it later? Has Nay eaten dinner yet?
 
Re: 5/31/10 Nay... Help me shoot low!... PMPS 90

I put out 3/4 can of FF at 6:30 for a snack (after we stopped moving). He has eaten most of that. I saw him eating around 8. We have high carb dry food available (Purina One Indoor Advantage which has 20 or 30% carbs when I checked. He also has Temptations treats. For wet MC I have Friskies which is 7-8% carbs.

We will be home to monitor. We did not make it to Zion area yet, we' re staying in an interstate rest stop tonight. There are NO VETS or cities nearby for miles.
 
Re: 5/31/10 Nay... Help me shoot low!... PMPS 90

how long ago was 8:00? (sorry, I'm out East and I don't know what time zone you're in, it's 11:00 here). Do you have karo syrup? You can mix that into low carb wet to make high carb wet if needed. I'm not saying it's needed, just making sure you're properly stocked up. Dry food usually takes too long to hit the system, and hangs out for way too long and can affect the next cycle.

How about testing again 1/2 hour after the last test and seeing which way he is going? Normally shooting 90 is no problem, but since you haven't shot full dose in this range before you don't have the data yet. That's ok, we can get the data tonight to help with next time, but we have to be safe about it.
 
Re: 5/31/10 Nay... Help me shoot low!... PMPS 90

We have Karo in case its needed. Sorry, what I meant was that he was eating about half an hour before his usual shot time. At 0.5 post PMPS we just got a BG of 100. I have not given his injection yet.
 
Re: 5/31/10 Nay... Help me shoot low!... PMPS 90

ok. He's not dropping anymore (wanted to be sure of that). He ate about 1/2 hour before the 90, so there could be some food spike in these readings.

The food change is making it hard to keep up with Nay's dose changes. That's a good problem to have, but it's still a little challenging.

The aggressive approach would be to keep the 1 unit dose and test tonight to see if Nay earns a dose reduction (by going below 50). The less aggressive approach would be to go ahead and reduce to 0.75u. Either way, you would need to get a test at +1 and +2, and see from there what else is needed. If at any time the number goes lower than you want, you can feed medium carb food or high carb (LC or MC mixed with Karo) to bump the number right up. Either dose has plusses and minuses - 1 unit might be too much and you have to steer the cycle with food. 0.75 might not be enough and you risk losing Nay's momentum. What do you think?
 
Re: 5/31/10 Nay... Help me shoot low!... PMPS 90

I just realized I was being a little toopid... he only had OLD food out so I put out a freshie. He started gobbling that right away. So we went ahead and shot the 1.00 and will monitor closely. Nay will never refuse to eat so if we give him "special" food he'll want to try it. Do Temptations take a long time to kick in?
BTW - thanks for your advice! Its great that you give options of "aggressive" and "less aggressive".. we usually tend to be the less aggressive types but he was getting higher numbers this afternoon with the 1.00 so we decided we don't want reduce right yet.
 
Re: 5/31/10 Nay... Help me shoot low!... PMPS 90

good shooting! So we'll see you at +1.

Temptations can work in a pinch. The reason we like to use high carb wet food here are 1) most cats think they're getting a major treat, so you can always depend on them to eat it, and 2) if you feed 2 tsp of gravy, most cats will get a 10-15 point bump in 15-20 minutes (some more, some less, but that's average). That's just enough to bring them up into a more comfortable range, but not so much as to skew the next cycle. Most of us have a few cans of Fancy Feast or Friskies varieties with gravy on hand.
 
Re: 5/31/10 Nay... Help me shoot low!... PMPS 90

Any dry food or treat takes a while to bump up numbers and to clear out. This is why we use wet. On your next stop, can you get several cans of HC? Fancy Feast flavors that have gravy (above 15% carb) are typically what we use. The gravy is where the carbs are and you can feed just that so Nay doesn't fill up if you have to steer numbers. It's important to have HC on hand. In a pinch, you can add Karo (or honey, maple syrup) to food to make HC.

Also, you don't want to feed within 2 hours of shot time. Otherwise, your pre-shot number may reflect a food spike.
 
don't forget to post a reply to your thread, even when you update the subject line. Just updating the subject line doesn't bump the post to the top (I was watching for your update and missed it).

Since the +1 is about the same as PMPS, I would go ahead and feed a couple tsp of low carb food to encourage surfing. Then test in an hour. I'm going to bed, but remember that YOU are in control of the cycle. If you get numbers lower than you like, feed the medium carb food and you can mix in some Karo if you need to, then test 30 minutes after that and repeat if you need to. We call that lather, rinse, repeat. :smile: Keep that up until you get 2 rising numbers in a row and get close to nadir.
 
+2 is 94. We're going surfing tonight. I'm going to take a nap and test again later. Won't be getting up to post updates in the middle of the night unless there is a problem.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top