5/30 Shadow AMPS=404,+8=142, PMPS=193

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Very Active Member
PMPS=260
+4=284
=8=333
AMPS=404 ~1.50u Lev (start 6th cycle)
Yestrerday's Condo

Looks like the old Shadow is back. He is not hanging onto this reduced dose very well....it's a low Red, but a Red just the same. :sad: Will probably go back up to the 1.75u tonight if today is more of the same....foolish woman for getting all hopeful and happy with his recent performance. :oops: Hope there are no typos in this post...apologies once again...

Hope everyone has a wonderful Sunday...the last one in May...
 
Re: 5/30 Shadow AMPS=404

Mornin Pat,
Thanks for your comment on my condo. I think Shadow is playing games with you, He will come around and get those numbers down again, as you are such a good bean. what kind of mischief are the two of them getting into today?
 
Re: 5/30 Shadow AMPS=404

I think Shadow and Mannie are surfin' on the same surfboard.... oh boy, and yes - not foolish, just optimistic, as is/was I. Do i ever hate these high numbers - Mannie's at a 384 - but hey - another day today, and off we go. I hope Shadow clears this well, and quickly.

Happy Sunday to everyone there!
 
Re: 5/30 Shadow AMPS=404

Sometimes, I think our guys just decide that after a few good days, their pancreas needs a break before gathering up speed again. Or at least that's what I keep telling myself.
 
Re: 5/30 Shadow AMPS=404

Stu is in the same boat (but Shadow wins the high AMPS this morning). We'll probably go back up again to 1.5 tonight. I think that 2 dose decreases in 2 days were 2 much. Do you think so 2???
The full moon did everyone in!!! Maybe it was the flowers?
Anyway, here's hoping for a good day today. We'll compare numbers later. My sister is visiting us until Tuesday morning, so I won't have too much time to post. Stu will see Shad-0 and Raja at Buzz's party tonight. Maybe they'll all bring their numbers down.

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 5/30 Shadow AMPS=404

oh my shadow ... you don't want to be all the way up there on a holiday weekend do you?? Come on back down ...
 
Re: 5/30 Shadow AMPS=404

OK Shadow, time to stop fooling around & get working there Mr P!!
ECID, so you cant compare him to her--So maybe he is slower to respond right now, he'll snap out of it!
Although Moonie hasnt had many pinks or reds, she did the first year--Then, it changed--Just like this will :YMSIGH: :YMSIGH:
Dont be discouraged dear Pat, keep your eye on the prize=healthy happy boy!! OK?
We luv ya!! HUGS~! ;-) ;-)
 
Re: 5/30 Shadow AMPS=404, +4=282

Been a little out of it emotionally this morning....I just reviewed my first post in the Lantus forum back on Oct. 12th and reread the warm welcome from everyone. The good tips form Jill and Libby...well, been thinking about so much this morning. http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/r ... sg-1872993

I am particularly thankful to CD & Big Mac for all that they have done for us....

I had a good talk with Shadow boy...used the hibiclens on him and some aloe from my yard on his awful sores. He has been scratching a lot and keeps opening them up. The aloe soothes them it seems. Yesterday I put some of the salve that I had from the vet but I think he ate it all off...has cortisone in it too. :sad: (didn't help with his numbers for sure) I have put a bandage around his neck...he got his bottom teeth caught in it and there was a tense moment or two getting them freed up. Now it is properly secured. Maybe I will get an E-collar at Petsmart today for him.

He was so very good while I was doing all of the above. I told him that he is the sweetest kitty in the whole world. I started thinking back to when he was so sick with FD symptoms and had lost so much weight. He was starving....all the time....I was such an ignorant bean...his fur was sparse, dull, dandruff everywhere and he was not taking care of himself. Raja wouldn't go near him. How far we have come since those desperate days. His fur now is shiny and luxurious....he has gained weight and except for the sores on his neck, he is beautiful! And he is not fussing with the bandage at all!

We have come so far in these days....I have this forum to thank for all I have learned and for all the food health they are both experiencing now....feeling so melancholy myself. I am thankful that I have the tools to help him....I cannot give up or give in to beating up on myself for the years I lived in total ignorance. So, I am pulling myself up by my bootstraps which is very hard to do...but your kind words of encouragement have helped me....

Took a test and feel much better now...
+4=282
He is trying, isn't he? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/30 Shadow AMPS=404, +4=282

Raja was +4=82 and weighed in at 12.5lbs....she has lost .5lbs during this month

Shadow weighed in at 11.5lbs...gained .5lbs

I think Raja has slimmed down because of the new food....the Evo 95% seems to be agreeing with her. I do mix it with Wellness sometimes. While she needed to loose weight, Shadow didn't and he actually gained .5lbs!! It's doing the best for both of them! How is that possible? :roll:
 
Re: 5/30 Shadow AMPS=404, +4=282

Pat, I'm sorry you're feeling down. You are the best bean and you are doing everything you can. I'm sorry about Shadow's skin problems (we're going through something similar with a drooler). I hope he's better soon. Don't worry about that amps, it was probably a bounce that is already clearing. I hope you have a good Sunday.
 
Re: 5/30 Shadow AMPS=404, +4=282

Hi Pat, Yes, Shadow is doing much better. Don't despair! It's sometimes a long, long road and you just have to stay with it. Stu's story is even worse: 4+ years of shooting PZI blind. Our kitties feel so much better since they have been on the Tilly protocol and they look so much better. We can only be thankful that we found this wonderful board. I hope you will find something that works on Shadow's sores. Do you think WitchHazel might help? It's very mild, but quite effective on people. Of course, you would have to find out if it is toxic to cats.
Hang in there and have a really nice holiday weekend.

Ella

P.S. crossed with your last post. How does it work for both cats differently?? ECID. It's magic!
 
Re: 5/30 Shadow AMPS=404, +4=282

(((Pat)))) so sorry about the red, but he is coming down now...dont beat yourself up - look how far you've come!
And you got tons of friends to lean on!

Feel better soon - u and Shadow!

take care of yourself k?
 
Re: 5/30 Shadow AMPS=404, +4=282, +7=153

(((Pat)))
I know how discouraging it can get, and it really is hard sometimes to try to pull yourself out of it. You give so much to your two and as you noted, it has paid off so much already. We have to believe that it will continue to pay off, hopefully by going OTJ but if not, in allowing our beloved kitties to live a full, happy life with us for as long as possible. If we don't believe that, there's no way we could keep on doing what we're doing, and especially you, with all your middle of the night checks and crazy green prom dress dancing around the table. :lol:

That's what we're here for, though, so you have somewhere to turn when you're discouraged. We all know how it feels and will try to make you feel better. So vent when you need to and just keep on loving your beautiful babies. I still remember your (our) early days in Health and how cute the kitten pics of Raja and Shadow were. You have come a long way, Pat. Keep up the great work (both the work you do for your kitties and how much you help and motivate others here). :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/30 Shadow AMPS=404,+7=153, +8=142

Thank you all....I am getting all teary again just thinking of all the nice things you all said to me...
sniff...sniff. I hate being Debbie Downer...Wah Wah...
but sometimes it just gets to me....

BUT, my Shadow is doing much better now....and I am happy to report :
+7=153
+8=142
It seems as if he is really trying to get a hold of the runaway Liver.... He looks so cute in his white bandage and hasn't tried to get it off....I am going to get some witch hazel when I go out...thanks Ella.
Thank you all!! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/30 Shadow AMPS=404,+7=153, +8=142

Strap that boy down so he doesn't ricochet later!
Have you tried emu oil on his owies?
 
PMPS=193 ~1.50u Lev (start 7th cycle)

Haven't tried Emu oil but did put on some witch hazel which he seemed to like....hopefully it will dry out the spots and it is also supposed to relieve itching....thank you Ella for the hint. I will look up the emu oil and see about that too...thanks MJ!
Heading out to Buzz's house for the birthday party...they just LOVE parties!! Woo woo!!
 
And will you look at that PMPS! NICE!

and totally understandable on the comment how sometimes it all gets to you. It is the same way here for me. Do I ever understand that sentiment.

Buzz will be so excited that Shadow is coming to her party for Eva. It's her first, and she wants everything to be just perfect. What a life these kitties lead...
 
awww, Pat, some of us just have to go through more ups and downs than others. It's no wonder you're frustrated sometimes, you had one easy kitty and one harder one. You know how cats are, it's their way or the highway so we just do our best to play along.

Hopefully he'll do something off of this PS, but if not I would take the dose back up in the morning.
 
It has been quite a day for you and Shadow. I know how hard it must have been to read those morning numbers on the meter, my heart sank too when I saw them. But now he's made an amazing turnaround to the blues. SO glad to see that.

Thank for the kind words Pat, sniff... sniff... I often wish I had a magic wand so I could REALLY help. I feel like you, Shadow, and Raja are my bonus family. I get sad at the wrong way numbers and celebrate the good ones right along with you. ((((Hugs!)))

Here's hoping tomorrow is bright and shiny in all possible ways.
 
Sorry you feeling down Pat...I think it's full moon residue. Shadow will come round.
I have a fail proof recipe for skin problems, it's equal parts of St. John Wort oil to equal parts Calendula oil mixed in a neutral gel. (about half a teaspoon each in about 2 tablespoons of gel)I just woudn't want them to be able to easily lick it, but I have used it on dogs,cats and horses with really good results.
 
awww, pat... sorry you're feeling a little down. shadow has been rather challenging. gotta love that pmps though! :-D
have you ever tried Halo for Pets Herbal Healing Salve: http://shop.halopets.com/Grooming-Supplies/Herbal-Healing-Salve ?
i've been using it on my kitties when needed for years now. it's safe for pets... won't harm them if they lick it.

from their FAQs

Q: Where can I apply Cloud Nine Herbal Healing Salve?

A: Our Herbal Healing Salve is lick proof and stick proof, so it’s no problem near the mouth or on any part your dog can reach. It’s safe and even when licked would never harm your pet! Your dog won’t be able to lick it off. It will only work into the area better — and likely have even greater results.

Q: My dog likes to lick the Cloud Nine Herbal Healing Salve when I use it on his skin. Is this bad for him?

A: There is nothing in our product line that could hurt a pet. Actually licking the Salve is very soothing and will help it penetrate into the problem areas and make it more effective. Some people have said that their dog liked it so much that they even ate an entire jar when the owner wasn’t looking. Always keep your products in a safe place to avoid any unwanted situations. Accidentally eating even a whole jar could cause a little loose stool, but there shouldn’t be a problem.

store locator: http://www.halopets.com/store-locator.php
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top