5/30 Roxy AMPS 277 New Member.

Roxy & Deb

Member Since 2021
Hi there
Just introducing myself. Was helped greatly yesterday by Bron through our first day of Glargine. Roxy really not a fan of the testing malarkey but we got there in the end but now she is hiding in the cupboard exhausted after a late night - had to do a late +5 test around midnight. Very reassuring to be around such knowledgeable people. Thanks also to Bhoona, Bandit's mum for creating my signature and setting up the spreadsheet. We haven't decided which dosing approach to take yet, but I am waiting to get the 1/4 unit syringes from the UK, we only got the pen from the pharmacy so just doing the 1 unit doses twice a day I guess for the next 5 days. Advice welcome. Hope I haven't left anything out.
 
Last edited:
She was asleep and didn’t want to disturb her after such a stressful day and night. She just woke up and came up to ask for food, I tested her - not much change at all since this morning so no doubt the drop may have been a few hours ago. Just rewarded her with a snack.
 
You are doing well with the testing now?
Thanks for updating the SS....always helpful to us.
With Lantus, the depot needs to fill. That is why you hold the initial dose for 5 to 7 days. You won’t see the full potential of the dose until then.
 
Right ok. Testing is a bit better. She still struggles and growls a bit - I’m getting some Emla today to see if that makes her more comfortable.
So I’ll just keep on with the test, feed, dose and keep 2 snacks in middle of day if required with main meals at 7am and 7pm? How many tests apart from those 2 do I aim to do?
 
So I tested her a couple hours ago and it’s dinner time in an hour and she’s had a couple of snacks in between - 2nd just 30 mins ago. Is there any point testing again before she eats? It can’t have dropped in between times..?
 
So I tested her a couple hours ago and it’s dinner time in an hour and she’s had a couple of snacks in between - 2nd just 30 mins ago. Is there any point testing again before she eats? It can’t have dropped in between times..?
Yes, always test before every shot is given.
Also maybe I didn’t tell you......don’t feed for the 2 hours preshot, so the preshot BG is not food influenced.
Its a learning curve so don’t worry.
Did you enter the results in the SS?
You are doing a great job with Roxy. She’s a lucky girl:cat:
 
Ah ok
So I have to wait until another hour before testing then feeding? Yes I put last results in the +7 cell
 
Ah ok
So I have to wait until another hour before testing then feeding? Yes I put last results in the +7 cell
No don’t worry tonight because I’m sure she will be high enough. Let me know if she is below about 250, seeing she has eaten.
Just stick to your schedule. If she was a lot lower I would be more concerned.
 
Sorry am confused now - when you said don’t worry I thought you meant don’t bother testing but then you said if she’s under 250.. sorry I’m confused!
 
Sorry am confused now - when you said don’t worry I thought you meant don’t bother testing but then you said if she’s under 250.. sorry I’m confused!
Sorry if I confused you!
I meant don’t worry that you gave the food that I probably forgot to tell you not to give.
I meant to test before the insulin and if it was below 250 to post and tell me.
Sorry for any confusion. Where are you up to?
 
Ok, all looks good. Get a test during the cycle or before you go to bed if you can
Sorry was a zombie yesterday on 3 hours sleep, fell asleep so early and went to bed.? I’m about to get up and TFD. Will try get a reading at +1 this morning before I need to head off to a conference.
 
Back
Top