5/30 Jax AMPS 156 mg/dL +2 116 mg/dL +3 64 mg/dL +5 85 mg/dL

Nick&Jax

Member Since 2024
Good morning everyone,

I finally got my signature, spreadsheet and dosing method sorted out. So I was guided to post here with questions!

As you can tell by Jax’s spreadsheet that his numbers have dropped significantly since his PMPS last night at 397 mg/dL. This mornings AMPS was 156 mg/dL. I was hesitant about giving him a dose but I went ahead and shot him with his 2 unit dose. Was I in the wrong for doing that since his numbers dropped that much just over night? I apologize for the newbie questions. I am just so new at this and so overwhelmed I guarantee I will be asking these types of questions. I’m staying home from work today so I can retest him later this morning and make sure they don’t drop down too much from this mornings dose. Poor guy is handling this very well. Just wanting to reach out and make sure I’m doing this correctly.
Thank you!
 
Good morning everyone,

I finally got my signature, spreadsheet and dosing method sorted out. So I was guided to post here with questions!

As you can tell by Jax’s spreadsheet that his numbers have dropped significantly since his PMPS last night at 397 mg/dL. This mornings AMPS was 156 mg/dL. I was hesitant about giving him a dose but I went ahead and shot him with his 2 unit dose. Was I in the wrong for doing that since his numbers dropped that much just over night? I apologize for the newbie questions. I am just so new at this and so overwhelmed I guarantee I will be asking these types of questions. I’m staying home from work today so I can retest him later this morning and make sure they don’t drop down too much from this mornings dose. Poor guy is handling this very well. Just wanting to reach out and make sure I’m doing this correctly.
Thank you!

Tagging some members for you
@Wendy&Neko
@Bandit's Mom
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
HI and Welcome to LLB! Great job and very brave of you shooting a mid blue PS (pre-shot). Since this is the first time shooting this low, can you get a +1 or +2 test?


Yes I will see what I can do. I hope I didn’t make a mistake. Poor guy usually hides after his morning shot. So I will see if I can get him out to test again. In 30 min will be a +2 so I will do my best to make that happen. I’m glad I stayed home today to monitor this.
 
When you add additional tests after the AMPS and PMPS in your title so members can follow along tap on the word Thread Tool up top to the far right, then tap on Edit Title and add your tests ,then tap Save
Nick can you add SLGS to your signature also
@Nick&Jax


Absolutely. I edited my signature. And I will be trying to get a test from him again soon. Hoping to do a +2 and I will add it to the title once I get that done.
 
Just updated spreadsheet as well as the title including the +2 test. Which came out to 116 mg/dL.
Please give him a snack and can you test him at +3?

Btw, if he is on Purina DM dry food, could you please add "dry" to your signature after "Purina DM". I have to warn you that you will probably be told several times that it is high carb!

I hope I am doing it correctly. Also, I chose the SLGS method. I feel that would work best for us both. I know it states to start him off at 1 unit. But since his numbers were in the 700s when he was diagnosed on the 3rd and the vet had me on 2 units for those two weeks that I don’t have the glucose meter. I figured I would start at 2 units.
Is this Jax's third 3rd week on Lantus? He was started at 2U two weeks ago? If yes, could you please add those dates and the units he got and any test data you have (at the vet or at home) to the spreadsheet? Right now it looks like this is his 2nd day on Lantus. Thanks :)
 
Please give him a snack and can you test him at +3?

Btw, if he is on Purina DM dry food, could you please add "dry" to your signature after "Purina DM". I have to warn you that you will probably be told several times that it is high carb!


Is this Jax's third 3rd week on Lantus? He was started at 2U two weeks ago? If yes, could you please add those dates and the units he got and any test data you have (at the vet or at home) to the spreadsheet? Right now it looks like this is his 2nd day on Lantus. Thanks :)


Apologies for not having both of those updated correctly. I added the rollercoaster of information on the spreadsheet. The vet wanted to only check his glucose levels once a week. And I didn’t know better to home test. His diagnoses on the 3rd was over 700 mg/dL. And the only other test I had was on the 21st from the vet. That’s when they told me to go to 3 units for another week. As you can tell it was a very stressful week and I wasn’t able to give him his doses when I was supposed to. Still struggling but it’s getting better. As you can see towards the end of that week is when I made the decision to do my own research and found this group. And now home testing. I wish I had more info on those two weeks. But I didn’t know any better and the vet didn’t tell me to test him often. Hope that helps.
 
Thanks for adding the previous info to the SS! And please don't apologize. We have all been where you are and know how overwhelming a new diabetes diagnosis can be! We are here to help and provide any support you need. :bighug:
 
I just did a +3 test. Came out at 64 mg/dL. And to think I gave him all that insulin the past few weeks without testing. That makes me upset at myself.
I have karo syrup just incase. But I just gave him a quarter cup of the science diet indoor senior kibble food with some dental treats mixed in. He gobbled it down. I’m hoping that helps it from dropping even lower? Slightly worrying like crazy over here..
 
Last edited:
Did he get food after the +2 test?

64 is within the normal range with a human meter, so you needn't worry. Can you get a test at +4?

That drop below 90 has earned him a reduction to 1.75U from tonight.
 
Did he get food after the +2 test?

64 is within the normal range with a human meter, so you needn't worry. Can you get a test at +4?

That drop below 90 has earned him a reduction to 1.75U from tonight.


No He only got treats after the +2 test. And then the quarter cup right now after the +3 test. Yeah I should be able to get the +4 test. Poor guy I feel like I’m butchering his ears.

Okay, I’ll lower the dose for tonight’s shot. I’m just so new to this that I’m going to worry like crazy. But I will try not to. He’s acting normal with purrs and everything.
 
Congrats on the reduction!!!! Were you able to get the +4 test?
It will be most helpful to you and those of us helping you, if you also keep track of what you fed and when. Doing so can help determine your kitty's "carb sensitivity".
 
Congrats on the reduction!!!! Were you able to get the +4 test?
It will be most helpful to you and those of us helping you, if you also keep track of what you fed and when. Doing so can help determine your kitty's "carb sensitivity".


Thank you! I’m still so new to everything including the home testing I hope I know how to adjust accordingly. I am going to read through the multiple packets I printed off of this site.
I wasn’t able to get a +4 test but I did do a +5 test and it was 85 mg/dL. I’m so glad it didn’t continue to drop from the 65 mg/dL. I was quite worried.
 
You can give him a little low carb snack, if you have something around other than the kibble.


I’ve been limited at the house while waiting for an order from chewy. I have some freeze dried treats coming that should be here today. Definitely looking forward to that.
 
Welcome and Wishing you and Jax lots of good luck. It’s good you are posting and asking lots of questions. You will find lots of great support and information here.
Wishing you and Jax a safe night ahead :cat:
 
Back
Top