5/30 George PMPS 109

Hshray

Member Since 2021
Previous post

I can’t believe it’s been so long since I’ve posted! George is being the same old George for the most part, but he’s going in for a dental tomorrow (it’s been a year and a half since his last one). The vet originally told me to fast him after midnight but when I asked about insulin they said I could feed and give him insulin and that they could do a Cerenia IV during anesthesia…is this a common/recommended practice?
 
I have never heard of a cerenia drip either. My vet said no food after midnight and no insulin the morning of the dental. That seems so odd to me as cerenia doesn’t work 100% of the time.
 
Last edited:
Ok, thank you both! I will pull food. Do they usually give cerenia anyway when anesthesia is given or would that not be typical?
 
I never gave cerenia after a dental either. Max got ondansetron and sometimes cerenia if nauseous due to pancreatitis but not routinely for dentals and nothing for nausea was given fur my other cats either. My vet uses gas and it’s not likely to cause nausea. We have a condo on dentals and I dint think it’s mentioned there either.
 
You’ve been missed, glad he’s doing well. Good luck with the dental. Are they a fancy vet, maybe Cerenia drip is a newer protocol?
 
Back
Top